We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo La Colombaia

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo La Colombaia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo La Colombaia
Via di Sommiano 1, 50050 Cerreto Guidi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tuscany at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed one week, simply it is our best holiday so far. It is of a perfect size place, not too large to feel isolated and not too small to have privacy if you need it. Views from the place are breathtaking, hosts Daniel and Elena are busy looking after there vineyard but always around to help. They made for guests a tour around their winery, and treated us with pizza party. Perfect relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

These apartments are set in stunning Tuscany backdrop, amist the vineyards and olive groves. The owners are friendly and will do anyting they can to help make your stay as comfortable and memorable. Apartments are basic but have sufficient cooking facilities - there are BBQ's and a pizza oven in the garden. Highly recomend this as a base for relaxing, exploring and enjoying Tuscany at its best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in late May, having got a very good package deal through Thomson, with flights from London, car hire and self catering accommodation for£350 pp. Unfortunately, we didn't have great weather, so we ended up spending more time in the apartment than we would otherwise have done. It was spacious and the place is run by a nice couple, but we had a few niggles about the accommodation. On the plus side, it has a nice pool area and some good places to sit outside looking over the surrounding area, which is pretty. Our apartment was unfortunately quite dark, and it felt really damp and cold in the poor weather. It was only equipped for very basic cooking, with a microwave, toaster and hot plate - an oven would have been nice for pizzas etc. A hair dryer would also have been useful. The only soft seat was on the small 2 seater sofa bed in the living/dining area, and the real bed was very hard and uncomfy, so we didn't find it a very comfortable place to spend time. We also ended up getting loads of mosquito bites every night, which was really annoying. Wifi was supposedly available at a cost, but the signal didn't stretch as far as our apartment, and I saw another guest standing just outside reception with his iPad, which I suspect may have been the only place that there was decent reception. I hate not being able to get onto the Internet and feeling cut off when I'm away, so that was disappointing.

Bear in mind that they take their siestas seriously round there - on the Friday we went out about 1.30pm hoping to get some lunch, and we drove for 2 solid hours (not exaggerating) without finding a single restaurant or even a shop which was open so that we could buy some food. We ended up in the big shopping centre at Empoli in a very bad mood, eating fast food pizza slices in desperation!

All in all, for the price we paid we really couldn't complain, but we didn't have a vey comfortable week there. The best thing about this place is probably the location - it's very handy for day trips to Florence, Lucca, Pisa, Siena, Vinci etc, all of which we did and enjoyed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberammergau, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at La Colombaia for six nights and it was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable and the service was excellent. We went on a tour of the winery hosted by the owner. It was very easy to travel around Tuscany using the central location of La Colombaia. The host and hostess shared their experiences and gave us suggestions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent a truly relaxing week here. Would we go back yes. Would we recommend yes.
Pace of life slows right down. Great trips to amazing sights. Lovely evenings in the garden
with lovely guests and even lovelier home grown wine. The hosts Elena and Daniel just want you to be happy, which we were.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent a week at La Colombaia, felt instantly relaxed on arrival and were made to feel incredibly welcome by the owners. The apartment was extremely comfortable although the cooking facilities could have been better. With so much to see and do in the local area, we had a week full of sightseeing and enjoying the Tuscan countryside. We recommend going to Montecatini Alto - take the funicular railway up to see the tiny, picturesque town at the top. We will be going back to La Colombaia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a stunning place! About an hours drive from Pisa, and about a 20 min walk from the village centre when you arrive there. Lovely clean house with living room/ kitchen, bedroom, bathroom. Beamed ceilings, lovely furnishings. Not posh, but traditional and comfortable. We had a large, outside patio where we ate every night. The only downside to that? The mosquitoes. Nothing stopped us getting bitten to death, but the views were so stunning it was worth it just to sit and gaze across the grounds. Lovely pool area and very quiet. Big car park area outside the gates, and locked gates for security. I felt extremely safe there and would recommend here for a single traveller - but you do need a hire car.
There was some noise from the upstairs house but ear plugs stopped that for me, but not my partner. There is no air con so the bedroom was hot, but there is a big standing fan and the room cooled in the night. There is a big net curtain across the window which would keep the mossies out, but its best kept shut. One other point - our bed was very firm indeed! I'm used to a soft bed so it took me a few nights to get used to it. Once you get shattered from walking and sight seeing, you don't much care!
The wonderful young couple, Elena and Daniel were very kind and friendly and worked hard to be there every day, always on hand to give advice if needed, but not intrusive. They will give you a wine tour of their own wine and its absolutely delicious. The Co-op in the village had all our needs first thing in the morning, but it shut at 1.30 - 4.30 before opening again till 8pm. Catholic church has a service on Sunday at 11am. We were able to help ourselves to anything in the couples vegetable garden which was wonderful - herbs, tomatoes, green beans etc. A bigger supermarket is at Empoli, about 6 miles away. Kitchen fully equipped. TV, sofa bed, etc. The place was cleaned during our stay. The reception has books, magazines, maps and guide books etc. Oh, and most important. There are very strict and proper recycling rules which must be adhered to, and stuff must be put in correct containers around the back. Be warned!
My lasting memories? Looking across the valley of vines to the old church in the distance and hearing the bells play 'Ave Maria' every warm, balmy evening. Enchanting. And well done to this couple for making such a friendly, welcoming home from home. I really did not want to leave the absolute peace and quiet of this haven.

Room Tip: A top floor house will be quieter than the lower floors, but you might not get your own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo La Colombaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Colombaia

Address: Via di Sommiano 1, 50050 Cerreto Guidi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Cerreto Guidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Cerreto Guidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the middle of Tuscany at 2 km from Vinci, 30 minutes from Firenze, Pisa, Lucca and Pistoia and 1 hour from Siena and Arezzo this farm house restructured on 2001 offers the flavour of the old Tuscany country, surrounded by our chianti vineyard, olive grove and wood and the comfort of a new structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Agriturismo La Colombaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Colombaia Hotel Cerreto Guidi
Agriturismo La Colombaia Cerreto Guidi, Tuscany, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo La Colombaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.