We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza in Chianti?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Antico Portale

L'Antico Portale
Via della Bottega 37/A, 52021 Bucine, Italy
+39 055 995 5514
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 restaurants in Bucine
Price range: $34 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Chianti?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 NEW

We visited this restaurant twice in the course of a week. The pizzas are perfect from a wood fired oven. Crisp and thin base, and a huge choice of toppings.
Great fish and other entrees available.
I don't why James D was disappointed. We thought the food was perfect for a family and good value too. The restaurant was full of locals, particularly on a Sunday evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    15
    5
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly restaurant with quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently visited the restaurant on a family holiday to Tuscany. We were staying locally in self catering apartments and stumbled upon L'Antico completely by accident - but what a find. The food was lovely with range of choice of starters, pastas, pizzas, meat, fish and deserts. The wine menu was also great and we were pleased to see the frizzante wine was available in a carafe - it was delicious. The food arrived fairly quickly after ordering and the staff were attentive and very polite. The restaurant had families, couples and groups of friends dining there - all enjoying themselves equally. We ended up having dinner here 3 nights and also getting takeaway pizzas too. We even recommended it to other families staying at our apartments! We'd definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Such a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have been eating here for almost a decade, and it was one of our favourite local places. But recently it changed hands and the results are devastating.

It was always one of the best places to eat pizza in the whole of Tuscany, paper thin crust, fresh ingredients and that wonderful woodburning oven charring around the edges of the crust. No longer; they are thicker, stodgier and more than a little nasty.

It seems like the locals all agree, whereas the place used to be packed almost every night; it is now only a quarter full and even then the service was best described as amateurish. For example it took 10 minutes (in an almost empty restaurant) to get a menu & when we finally wanted to get out of the place, it took almost as long to pay our bill, as none of the staff are allowed to touch cash, only the owner & he was too busy chatting with friends.

Such a shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlady
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tuscan Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We make a beeline for this restaurant every year that we visit Tuscany. Try the bruschetta, parma ham with melon and any of the wood fired pizzas. Last time we tried the steak and it was among the best that we have ever tasted. We have never tried any of the fish dishes though they all looked delicious. We have never tried any of the deserts as we are always full after the primi and pizza or secondi. The restaurant is very good value for money, has efficient service and you will enjoy the tasty food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definately one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Enjoyed a beautiful Florentine steak with my friends for a Sunday lunch. Best I've had so far. The fresh pasta with truffles was excellent as well. Spacious out door terrace for warmer days which is another reason to go back to as well as for a pizza and a beer. Definately recommend this place if you want a good hearty Tuscany meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Antico Portale also viewed

 
Bucine, Province of Arezzo
Bucine, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to L'Antico Portale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Antico Portale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.