We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable, comfortable hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Regina

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Park Hotel Regina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Umberto I, 157, 55022 Bagni Di Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very hospitable, comfortable hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hotel Regina in August 2012 for a sort of family reunion. The staff could not have been more accommodating or welcoming, and seems to do everything including serving drinks outside or in the bar, and managing the free breakfast (which was a great) with a smile. The hotel is well-located in the heart of Tuscany with access to Pisa, Cinque Terre, Genoa and other, smaller attractions. The downside: that August was unusually hot and the hotel has no air conditioning! We were challenged to try to figure out the best way to let air in and keep heat out, and sleeping was difficult. Because we kept the widows open at night, we were subjected to a good bit of outside noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side (back) are more away from the street and quieter. None have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
68
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gozo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were last october in Park Hotel Regina . This time we choose this hotel because of the center place in Bagni di Lucca and also because it has a pool.Last May we were in their ' sister' hotel/ guesthouse Corona . As the hotel only serves breakfast , we went Tback to Corona restaurant for a very nice meal .
Rooms are very basic & very clean.Bathroom is small and could use an update , but it's ok and the heating was working well , what was a big + , as in the evening the temperatures outside went already cold.
Staff is very friendly as in the Corona hotel.
A pitty that the pool was already closed for public...even the day temperatures were between 25* -28*.
A correct price - quality hotel.
We will return to Bagni di Lucca, that 's for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent two nights here in August 2012. Our room was on the street side, opposite a busy-ish bar/restaurant, but we experienced none of the noise problems mentioned by previous reviewers. We were repeatedly offered a room overlooking the swimming pool for an extra 18 euros a night, but that didn't seem good value for money to us. The room itself was clean, fairly spacious, comfortable, and everything worked. The swimming pool and the surrounding area were of a good size, and everything was clean and neat. The hotel was fairly quiet when we were there and there only ever seemed to be two reception/catering staff on duty. However, they were friendly and helpful, and we never had to wait long for anything. This was the cheapest place we stayed on our whole Italian trip, but also one of the best. For a special meal, and not as pricey as you might think, try the Circolo dei Forestieri two doors away.

A couple of words or warning about BdL itself:
1) If you are travelling by train, the station named BdL is actually in the nondescript village of Fornoli 4km down the hill from BdL itself. This is not obvious when you arrive. There are buses to the hotel until around 8pm, but no obvious taxi numbers.
2) BdL is a good base for walking but the free map provided by the hotel and the tourist office is inadequate. We got lost on the way to the actual Bagni on the other side of the hill.

Room Tip: Streetside rooms are considerably cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I honestly thought Bagni Di Lucca was a bustling spa town in the Tuscan hills. When we got there in October it was a sleepy little town but we were made very welcome. The hotel is great value and the staff very attentive, breakfast was very good and we ate both nights in the wee restaurant across the road with the staff very accommodating. It may be too quiet for some but we enjoyed our walks in the area. A big word of warning though - the train station is a long way away and costs 10 euros in a taxi - trains and buses were on strike when were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our trip in Italy took us to a nice place called the Park Hotel Regina, the room for 2 nights cost us a total of $113.00 Wow! After checking the reviews, we were able to get a room poolside. The staff was superb and the room was great roomy enough for the two of us. The pool made a wonderful relaxing place to enjoy before dinner. Breakfast was very filling. We found many hiking trails and enjoyed just walking and observing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

a charming small hotel in the town of Bagni di Lucca. Walking distance to a couple of small restaurants and an ice cream shop. The hotel has a sister hotel with a pool that you can use. However, be aware that it is about a 20 minute walk away as everything I had read previously suggested it was a lot closer. 20 mins isn't a problem for me however, in summer, it is very hot and some people may not manage it. With hindsight, I would definitely hire a car if you are going to be in this area as the train station is not walking distance; trains are infrequent and there are no taxis at the station. The hotel also didn't have any fans or air conditioning and as per previous reviews you can't really have the windows open because of motorbikes and the bell tower. However, more annoying was the yapping dog! Despite some of the negatives, I really did enjoy staying at the hotel as the area is very pretty and rustic.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel, so that you have the sound of the river rather than the bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a delightful four day holiday in this charming small town with its 19 century architecture from a by gone spar culture. It is easy to why poets like Elizabeth And Robert Browning fell in love here. A gently flowing river glides behind the superb swimming pool, while Martins, swifts and swallow put on an aerobatic display accompanied by a chorus of bird song.
It is we'll worth the extra cost in summer to have a quiet room facing the pool and the river, the breakfast on the terrace is a wonderful location, while one of its neighbours is one of the finest, best vale restaurants in the region.
We will be back

Room Tip: Rooms on the park/ pool side are definitely worth the extra cost in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Regina

Also Known As:
Park Hotel Lucca
Park Hotel Regina Province Of Lucca/Bagni Di Lucca, Italy
Address: Viale Umberto I, 157, 55022 Bagni Di Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Bagni Di Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Bagni Di Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Regina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.