We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Pian di Fiume

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Pian di Fiume to your Saves list
Agriturismo Pian di Fiume
Loc. Pian di Fiume,20, 55022 Bagni di Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€60 (EUR)
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had the most wonderful days at this rustic place run by extremely nice people. Daniela welcomes you in the warmest way and serves endless amounts of the most tasty homemade italian dishes. Even the breakfast is a treat with freshly baked bread, honney, marmelade, ham,cheeses etc. - everything homemade. Massimo, the owner, has turned this small mideival village into a marvelous place paying deep respect to the original materials and style. The surroundings are breathtaking and perfect for hiking or just relaxing walks on the property. Here you may meet the horses, sheep, goats and other farm animals walking freely around. The rooms are very nice with all necessary utilities. We strongly recommend to visit this one of a kind place next time you plan a trip to Tuscany and are looking for a stress relieving place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We got married up at Pian di Fiume in September 2011, and stayed there for a week. Not only is it a breathtakingly beautiful place to stay and get married but Massimo and Daniella (who run the place) go over and above making your stay the best it can be. The food we ate there was the nicest we had anywhere in Bagni di Lucca. That's not to say Bagni di Lucca doesn't offer great food elsewhere. There's so much to do in the area and Massimo and Daniella are more than happy to give you information or even take you places to explore.
Most of our wedding guests said it was the best wedding they'd ever been to and we have to thank Massimo and Daniella for making it so brilliant.
We can't recommend this place enough, we will definitely be visitng Pian di Fiume again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

if you are looking for a place to stay for your family in tuscany than you can stop looking. this is the one. If you are not afraid to drive up a narrow gravel road to reach MAssimos holiday rustic village than there is no better place in this area. The service is excellent. Daniela is running the business perfectly. The food is tip top. Dont expect too much luxury in the appartments. The wiring/lights is still funny. But hey, its agritourismo, lots of animals around.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We arrived at the beautiful estate on 27-sept and immediately enjoyed several superlative experiences that we have not repeated. First, the meticulous revival of the medieval village, the attention to details such as stone selection, tile and attention to elegant functionality over modernity. Next, weary after traveling several hundred kilometers from the Swiss Alps, Daniela offered my wife and I stone hearth baked bread with olives, cheese and their own red wine. I have yet to consume a meal as rewarding and stress-relieving. What can I say of the surrounding myriad villages, chestnut forested mountains and streams waiting for exploration?

Both Dr. Massimo Betti (proprietor) and Daniella (assistant) speak plenty of English, if you are low on Italian, you will be fine. If you think you are a foosball champ, try an after-dinner match against Daniella! You will enjoy spotlessly kept rooms, great people and culture, marvelously earthy lodging, superlative yet simple (usually local) aliments, fantastic views, go see Pian-di-Fiume and you will never regret!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the world
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We recently stayed at Pian Di Fiume for 10 nights and had a great time. Our apartment was called Ange, it had 2 storeys and a terrace upstairs.

The owner Massimo and his assistant Daniella couldn't have been more helpful, the apartments were delightful but our highlight was learning to make pasta!

The former village is situated on top of a rather steep hill but everbody seemed to manage, the bonus being that once you got to the top the views were fantastic.

The complex has a pool and Massimo owns a couple of km of riverbank, with gravelly beaches. While we were there a BBQ was held on one part of the beach and kids were allowed to float down the river on inflatable tubes, it was entirely safe as the river does not seem to have undercurrents.

Another evening a murder mystery was held which was fantastic fun, even if some of the clues lost something in translation.
The food was cooked by Daniella and her helpers and was delicious every time. But there were so many courses you really didn't have room for everything!

We were also invited to go to a local festival which was a fascinating occasion, so much food and dancing!

We also suggest travelling to Lucca as cycling around the walls is a great thing to do on a day out.

Our only criticism is that you really need a car. We travelled by train and took a taxi to Pian but unless you don't plan to move at all for a week it really is easier to drive. The only access to Bagni is currently via the main road as a landslide has destroyed part of the private road and it is not a particularly safe walk.

Overall i would definitely go back!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Accessibility
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

This is a very lovely, far, far away place in the chestnut forests of the Appenines. It's a 10 minute drive from Bagni di Lucca - a small town. There are other B&B's in the neighborhood. We loved this place and the ancient roman paths that led from it into the hills and towards other tiny hamlets - towns with old churches but no stores. The owner was very gracious, staff was helpful. We were the only ones there in early October, and dinner was not an option. Breakfast was great, our room was lovely, and the pleasure of being alone in this old Italian place was rare and special.

They may have changed their name - to something easier to remember. (maybe 2 words starting with A) Look for a renovated 'hamlet' above Bagni di Lucca that describes kayaking and swimming. The Matildan "Devil's" bridge on the way is lovely to behold.

  • Liked — It's a renovation of an old stone hamlet - isolated, beautiful hillsides
  • Disliked — liked it all, a dinner option would have been nice but we had good food in town
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

This is a great agriturismo (Bed & Breakfast on a working farm). It is different from most I have seen - and it is certainly among the very best you can find anywhere in Italy.

It is a restored old working farm, set half way up the hill above a river, with it is own private bridge. This is in countryside in the area of Lucca, just outside of Bagni di Lucca - a charming old spa place that seems entirely forgotten, but which retained much of its 1800s charm and style.

The property is very large (the entire side of the hill, with a group of buildings offering a variety of accomodations - rooms and self-containt apartment). The owner is an enthusiastic young portsmen, a history buff, and a ublished author, who is happy to share a wealth of information on the local history and architecture. The agriturismo also offers rafting and kayaking down the river (you start at their private beach just at the foot of the hill), guided hikes in the nearby mountains, mushroom
(porcini) picking in the fall, and the hill is covered with the chestnut forest if you just want to go for a leisurely hike in the woods.

They have a small restaurant and breakfasts are much better than usual (excellnet ham, cheese, yogurts, their own baked bread, etc). They also offer dinners (need to pre-book) - and they are definitely worth having. The food is great (but there is no menu - everyone has whatever is "tonight's special"), the prices are gentle. They serve their own wine, meat from their own pigs, bake their own bread - you get the idea.

The place is frequented by the 20-30-40 year old italians, who seem to come there for kayaking-hiking-rafting, but the atmosphere is very cultured and civilized.

The owner and staff speak enough English to make a stay there worry-free. They are very helpful and friendly, and the whole place has a great atmosphere.

The rooms/apartments are freshly reconstructed and very spacious, everything is very new (some light fixtures were not fully installed when we were there, only the lightbulbs worked, but it added somehwat to the rustic charm, rather than took away from it). Everything is spotlessly clean.

A truly wonderful place. We cannot wait to go there again.

You definitely need a car to get there - this is in the countryside near Lucca, hardly accessible without a car. The town of Lucca is about half an hour pleasant drive away (more or less, depending on the time of a day, and you get to see the famous Devil's brigde along the way).

----

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Pian di Fiume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pian di Fiume

Address: Loc. Pian di Fiume,20, 55022 Bagni di Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Bagni di Lucca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bagni di Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country medieval restauranto entirely with the principles of bio-architecture, independent and self-sufficient oil. Private access via a wooden bridge, 700 meters of road through the woods with herds of Cinta Senese pigs, goats, sheep and poultry. Private access to the beaches of the River Lima. The country offers service restaurant with farm produce, bread baked in a wood oven, cuts of Cinta Senese and handmade pasta. In addition the availability of apartments and double rooms with independent entrance and private bathroom. Inside the farmhouse and surrounding sports such as horse trekking, descents rafting, mountain biking, hiking, canyoning, flying parapentio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Pian di Fiume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Pian Di Fiume Province Of Lucca/Bagni Di Lucca, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Pian di Fiume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.