We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb self catering apartment in a small quiet Italian hilltop village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artimino Apartments

Save Saved
You added Artimino Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artimino Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII, 1, 50040 Artimino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Artimino
Caythorpe, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A superb self catering apartment in a small quiet Italian hilltop village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was superb, thank you wifey for booking these apartments.

The one bedroom apartment is very sizeable and comes with free air-conditioning. Bathroom did not have external window, but had extraction. Apartment was well furnished, with satellite TV, although only CNN and BBC worldwide for English speakers. However let's also mention the cooking facilities as these feature in a number of reviews. Yes it is three gas rings and a sink inside a wooden cupboard - see the picture - but is absolutely fine for the limited cooking you do on holiday. These may sound little niggles, but are not, the beauty is the size of the apartment, it's location and the ability to use the Hotel facilities to which the apartments are attached. Our linen and towels were changed regurlarly and the apartment was well serviced.

You can go up to the hotel to use their facilities. There is a eatery open between 12:30 to 14:30, serves salads for 6 euro, pizzas (frozen, but nice) from 5 Euro. Pasta dishes cost 9 Euro. For a lunch for three with drinks - wine, beer & coke - expect to pay about 40/45 Euro. The pool at the hotel is bigger and has a diving board. Be aware that you do need to time your arrival if you wnat a sunbed. I would suggest arriving between 12:00 - 13:00. After 14:00 you may not find available beds, especially on weekends.

We booked with Thomsoms. Their rep was superb, and assisted us with ideas for visits to Pisa, Florence, Vinci, San Gimignano and Siena - I recommend all of these as places to visit. Note that the best was to get to Florence is on the train from Signa - cost E2.30 each (£2). When in Florence I would suggest you do the open top bus tour - tickets cost E15 each so bit pricey, but you get earphones and get to see all the key sites. You can also get to Fiesole. The ticket is valid for 24 hours, so quite good value. We also stopped an the Piazza Michael Angelo - gives great views of the city.

Now the one downside - CAR HIRE - car was included in the cost, but when we arrived we were presented with keys to a Fiat Panda for three adults and three suitcases. My son sat all the way to the apartments with two suitcases on his knee - SO CHECK WHAT YOU ARE GETTING BEFORE YOU GO!! We did not get any upgrade even though we would have paid some extra. Also when you arrive there is a shuttle bus to the car hire building, but it gets so packed. We arrived and there must have been 100+ customers waiting and the bus only carries about 20 people. The car hire is only a five minute wal in building 5 - just follow the red pavement to the right of where the shuttle bus picks up - you will save time.

Artimino is a small village. It has 4 restaurants - we ate at Bottega Peruzzi just around the corner from the apartments - interesting food. There is also the Cantina del Redi - excellent if a little pricey. There is also the Del Fina - did not visit. The best place is the local taverna - sits on the corner - walk out the apartments, pass Bottega and turn left than right, you will see all the sun shades etc. This place sells meat, cheese and bread and is very popular with the locals - try it. It also is a bar - you go in pick what you wnat to drink pay and consume. There is a young lady there who speaks English to help if you get stuck!

There is an excellent ice cream shop and a leather retailer in the village - say hello to Giovanni in the leather shop.

This is a fantastic place to visist and I do highly recommend these apartments for a quiet family holiday and as a base to see the fantastic Tuscan sites.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the apartments, try and get rooms 82, 83 or 84 - they have direct access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
28
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincs, England
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Have just got back from a 2 week stay here with my husband and teenage son. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time and thought the location of the apartments was excellent with Pisa, Florence and Siena all being reasonably close. The one bedroom apartment was much bigger than other apartments we have rented in other parts of the Med. The rooms were clean and well equipped and linen and towels were changed on at least 5 occasions during our stay. I read that people had grumbled about the kitchen facilities but Im not sure what the problem is - there is a sink, hob and fridge, and Im not sure about you, but when we are on holiday most of our meals are eaten in restaurants.
We booked with Thomson and found Francesca the rep to be extremely helpful. We told her where we wanted to go and she provided lots of maps and tips such as dont go to Siena on a Friday as its market day. We visited Florence twice (on the train from Signa), Fiesole, Pisa, Vinci, Siena and San Gimignano.
Our apartment backed onto the small pool area and we tended to go there in the morning then drive up to the hotel for lunch and sit by the larger pool there in the afternoon. The hotel and its facilities are within easy walking distance but the weather was so hot we took the car!
We ate at Bottega Peruzzi and Cantina del Redi (see separate reviews) We also took a stroll on our first night and found a garden with lots of tables and chairs - it was not clear whether this was a private garden or a bar but it turned out to be the latter which also provided a selection of cold meats, cheeses and breads.We spent many a happy evening there. We also sampled the delights of the ice cream shop and bought some leather goods from Giovanni's shop.
My only 2 grumbles about the whole holiday are that 1)Artimino was very limited in things to do and see in the evenings, next time we visit we may stay somewhere with a little more going on and 2) the hire car provided although great on a daily basis, was way too small to accommodate 3 adults and 3 large suitcases. We returned to the car rental desk and were told that this sized car is what is allocated to families of 3 or 4. We managed to squeeze our 6foot 2" son into the car along with the cases but if you have 2 children you may have a problem.
Overall a great holiday in a beautiful village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Artimino Apartments G and apart from a bout of illness, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the stunning setting in the hills west of Florence. The views from the village were beautiful and the whole area had a lovely medieval feel to it whilst still offering all mod cons. The apartment itself was a little noisy (number 83) but that did not really detract from our experience. The facilities at the nearby hotel were available to us and we used their free wi-fi everyday! The staff were extremely helpful especially the receptionists at the hotel. We travelled with Thomsons and apart from a long-ish wait for our rental car at Pisa airport, all went well. Francesca the tour rep was a star---really helpful and interested in us having a good time. If you want to rent a car at Pisa airport, one person should go ahead to the rental area which is about 500m away following a clearly labelled red path and take a ticket so that you can be processed quicker. Although the restaurants in Artimino were very good they were quite expensive (average of 70 Euros for 2) and so I recommend you stock-up on basics from the supermarket in Montelupo before you settle in to your apartment. Beware the Italian roads--they are very busy with very low speed limits that are ignored by Italians!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Just home from 2wks in Artimino with my husband & 2yr old daughter. We had a lovely time. The apartment was better than expected, with a great sized bedroom & living room and air conditioning. They were cleaned & linen changed 3 times a week by friendly staff. The pool area was nice although short on beds at times. The village itself only had 3 restaurants all of which didn't open til 7.30 which is a little late for young children. Would benefit from a pizzeria or more casual diner.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The location is idyllic with magnificent views. 200 m high you have a breathtaking view over the valley. One tennis court is completely decayed. There are four restaurants in the neighborhood with the Da Delfina restaurant absolutely outstanding. The apartments are ten minutes walking from the hotel where breakfast is served. The breakfast is disappointing with no eggs, no orange juice, only some toasted bread with marmalade and some yoghurt. The swimming pool is spacious as the garden around it with plenty of chairs. Another flaw is wifi accessibility. Only possible in the lobby and around the swimming pool, so not in the apartments. This is a real problem. If you can live with this, just go there for a week and visit Prato, Pistoia and off course Firenze

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blankenberge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We just got back from Artimino, where we spent a great week with our 2 children. The apartments in Artimino are really what we needed for a great vacation. It was superhot the whole week, but we had a very nice apartment with airco, a small kitchen with a fridge, access to the internet, an extra bedroom for the children with separate beds (as we asked), a terrace with view on the pool and an 'exceptional' view on the Tuscan hills. We had a full breakfast every morning in the garden of the Hotel Paggeria, which lies 300metres away from the apartments. The hotel staff was very friendly, and we had 2 times a change of towels and sheets in the apartment. My son liked the pool very much. You have a good choice of restaurants or pizzeria's around Artimino, most of them you will find in Montelupo Fiorentino, where you also can find a supermarket.
Artimino is very close to Florence, which we visited by train (20minutes). We also visited Pisa & Lucca (in one day), San Gimignano and Siena by car. All very lovely historic towns.
So Artimino apartments with the possibility of a breakfast service is certainly a place to be for families with children,

Room Tip: Ask for an apartement with terrace and view on the hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We arrived after a long drive and flight,told we had to wait for two hours for our room,the bar was not open and we needed a cold drink ,we were told they were serving light lunches so we enquired as to wether the served drinks only the curt reply came back "no",they only seem to be interested in you if you are staying at the hotel and not the appartments surfice to say we never used the hotel.But the appartment was very nice and the maids excellent, the location stunning but you will need a car to do all the usual sights,pisa,sienna and of course the chianti region,there is a shop just outside the old town of artimino that sells chianti artimino for 20 euros for a case excellent value for a very nice wine,we used the railway to travel to florence and i would suggest grabbing one of the bus sightseeing tours to get your bearings and some lovley photos of the city o and don`t buy a gelato (ice cream) in the plazza 8 euros each all in all a excellent holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artimino Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artimino Apartments

Address: Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII, 1, 50040 Artimino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Artimino
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Artimino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artimino Apartments 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Artimino Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artimino Apartments Hotel Artimino
Artimino Apartments Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artimino Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.