We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest clean friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Hotel Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale, 23, I 38020 Passo del Tonale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Exeter
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Honest clean friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a basic hotel but the rooms are spotless, the staff friendly, the shower was hot and powerful and the food was plentiful and filling (Just what you need after a day on the slopes). My other half thought that the beds were too hard but they were ok for me.

The only downside to the hotel is that the walls are a little on the thin sie so you can hear people moving about in other rooms. I didn't impact me as after a day skiing, nothing stops me sleeping but it could be annoying for a lighter sleeper.

The food is not gourmet by any means but it is the sort of food that you would expect in a ski resort and we were never left feeling hungry.

The bar area was very quiet but there again the whole resort was very quiet.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the main lifts (real life not holiday brochure!). The hotel has a ski and boot room but I would recommend hiring a locker at the Maestri ski hire shop next to the Heaven Bar at €20 per week for 2 people. The lockers have boot dryers fitted and this saves walking around in ski boots and carrying your skis further than across the road.

Room Tip: Keep away from the stairs as a couple of people complained about people stumbling around to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with the hotels location. Staff were lovely! The new year gala dinner....they had obviously gone to a lot of effort and we were really pleased with it... 8 courses! Rooms were basic but functional, nice warm shower and the rooms were cleaned every morning. Great start to our new year, and a great skiing trip! We had a bottle of wine on our table every night and after a week our bill was only 53 euros. The resort is excellent value for money and we particularly liked the Magic Bar.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We only booked a couple of weeks before we went (with Neilsons) and got an excellent deal. The hotel staff are very friendly. Having previously read reviews about the meals at this hotel we were a little apprehensive, but we were delighted with the quantity and quality of the food.
Some comments said that the buffets didn't get replenished but during our stay this was not the case. Our only comment would be that the chef obviously liked veal as this was an option every night and, unfortunately, there was no fish on the menu during our 7 day stay. There was a salad bar, three choices of starter and three choices of main course so we always found something different every night which was always excellent.

The waitress reeled off a choice of sweets each evening and there was always a new addition so you had a great choice.

The rooms are kept exceptionally clean. The bathroom was a good size and had, obviously been refurbished recently with new shower, floor to ceiling tiling etc. The towels were a little scratchy and could have done with a little conditioner in the wash.

Location of the Hotel is great, with a Spar shop a few doors down and a SKY bar a couple of doors up which shows all the latest football and rugby games on a big screen.

We decided to keep our boots and skis at the Hotel Vittoria Sport to avoid having to carry them to the slopes each day. The charge is 15 euros for the week with a 5 euros deposit which you get back at the end of the holiday.

We would certainly not hesitate in staying at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

We travelled as a group so did not personally choose the Eden. It's OK for a 3 star overall. Evening meal is at 19:30 sharp and if you aren't there then there will be no buffet left 10 minutes later! It doesn't get replenished so a queue forms at around 19:25 to make sure of getting something. Breakfast buffet was also extremely limited.

The stench from the boot room is so strong it permeates through the hotel, when we arrived early in the morning I thought it was cat urine!
Luckily we managed to hire a locker at the ski shop nr The Vittoria.

Also beware of the fact that the hotel does not accept credit OR debit cards to settle your final bill, luckily we had some sterling that we managed to change at the bank!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We got a last minute (2 weeks before) deal with Inghams, and had a brilliant holiday. We had a shaky start at this family-run hotel, with 3 vegetarians in our party, one who was feeling ill after the windy journey, and could not face the idea of omelette for dinner. And doesn't eat fish. But after that hurdle, everything improved. The hotel staff were lovely, especially Mariana, and very attentive to our needs. With a choice of 3 first and second courses, they would swap things around and try to accommodate. The drinks were reasonable - about 10 euros for a bottle of wine, and 2 euros for a litre bottle of water (which they will keep until the following day). And you certainly won't starve. 3 courses plus the salad/vegetable bar, which made an extra first course for us. We often had to decline the dessert.

Breakfast was cereal (cornflakes, choco-something or muesli), cheese, cold meat, fruit-salad and yoghurt, and biscuit/cakes. And orange juice.

The rooms were basic (this is not a 5-star hotel), but adeqate for a ski holiday. There is a small lounge on the first floor with a shower and loo - handy for an extra half-day's skiing at the end of the holiday! The boot room has heaters. (whiffs a bit). Just a short walk to the main lifts, and a few yards from the Spar supermarket.

The skiing might be considered a bit limiting, but once you get used to going to both ends of the resort, again adequate. And virtually no queueing for the lifts (most of which had covers). Two of our party took the oportunity to have a go at snow-boarding for half the holiday - a good place to learn. We would recommend upgrading the lift pass (27 euros) so that you can spend 1 day in Madonna di Campiglio. Skiing there is great. You can only go once, though. To go a second time, it will cost 40 Euros. There is a free ski bus from Passo Tonale at 9.40am to Marilleva 900, the bottom of the lift up to Madonna.(35-40minute journey). Leaves Marilleva 900 at 4pm. A good day!

Room Tip: We had a quad room (a double with bunk-beds) for 3 adults - this gave plenty room, but daughter said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Have just returned from a week in Passo Tonale via Inghams. The flight out was delayed and then we diverted to Venice so arrived at hotel at 5.00am! Despite this we got a very courteous welcome at the hotel and food was left in the room. Our rep, Dani was brilliant even though she got absolutely no sleep at all and was there with our lift passes as promised. The hotel was good with very friendly staff. Our only criticism was that our room was not very warm and the we could not control the radiator which seemed to come on and off at random.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Eden for the new year. The hotel was busy but the standard was very good and always the same. Extremely friendly and alway willing to please. Room were kept clean and tidy. Great value and will return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Via Nazionale, 23, I 38020 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 Rooms, 3 Star hotel in center of Passo Tonale. Family-run hotel, with private bathrooms, buffet breakfasts, and 3-course meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Passo Tonale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.