We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday spoilt by hotel!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gardenia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gardenia to your Saves list
Hotel Gardenia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale, 20, 38020 Passo del Tonale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Holiday spoilt by hotel!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 16 - 23 Feb 2013,............ never again.
Passo Tonale is a great resort for skiing, loads of cafes, bars etc , and lots of hotels.

This hotel, well in a nut shell, here goes.

If you stay and are allocated a 1st floor room - 105 upwards, then be aware that you are downstairs - lower ground - with a view of a building site about 20ft from your balcony. Also you are directly underneath the wooden floored restaurant, so be prepared not to get any sleep prior to 10.30pm or after 6.30am due to staff moving furniture around and wearing heels.
We asked to move room due to both of the above and were then blanked by female staff members who had obviously been told to wear soft shoes.

The restaurant is a joke.............. breakfast is 7.30 - 9,30am ....... we got there about 9am most mornings to find most breakfast items gone, nothing is replenished, and the staff did not like having to make more food when i showed them the time on my watch!!!!!
Evening meals are even more of a farce......... 7.30 - 8.30pm........but dont be a minute late cos just like breakfast when its gone ITS GONE!!!!!. People were literally fighting around the salad bar for food, and the quality of the starters and so called main courses, well.......... i really felt for the children as they had to eat what was provided which was the same as that provided for adults and was mainly revolting...eg..... 1st night we chose turkey ( you get the choice of 1 of 3 starters and 1 of 3 main courses) it was 2 slices of quite obviously pressed processed turkey which tasted vile, covered in a sauce to disguise it, and a dollop.........yes you read correct, a dollop of mashed potato and THATS IT.
If you have anything to drink at evening meal it is charged, even bottled water 3 euro's which they dont tell you ...........the Spar shop opposite sells the same bottled water for 29 Cents???? but you can t take your own into the restarent.

There are no facilities in the bedrooms for tea or coffee making....... you have to buy it from the bar !!!!! The only free drink you get is from the machine at breakfast whilst your arguing with staff to make more waffels.

Dont be taken in by the hotel offering spa facilities........... you pay for them, yes even the jaccussi bath!!!!! but the sauna is free so if the children wanna sweat to death go for it.

Jasmine, the bar waitress, is great. She is polite, friendly and helpful and will assist you where she can.

Well thats the short version!!!

Dont listen to what others have written, we made that mistake, and booked to stay based on the " so called " good reviews.

Stay somewhere else.

We complained to the Crystal rep on more than one occasion, its shown as a 3 star plus.......its no where near.

we spent 300 euro,s whilst there, mainly on food and drink to supplement the rubbish that the hotel fed us>

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd floor.......... we moved to room 213 which faced the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabiogardenia, Proprietario at Hotel Gardenia, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest
The first thingh my parents taught me is "never say the word Disgust Sucks Rubber ".....,but in case say i don't like .
Already from this we can understand which kind of educated person you can be ................
In that week we had 80 English people and you are the only one customers who complained .
In our work we meet a lot of nice people ...,but unfortunately sometimes we meet people with a big problems like you ..from 1th day till last .
All that you wrote is pure invention in fact you don't remember not even your number room which lociccaly you changed but even that was not good ..the same for restaurant, food , spa waiters.........
The hotel Gardenia staff especialy the restaurant's waiters thank you for all they prepared for you without paying any extra .
They are persons (not servants ) who work hardly to satisfy the guest .
You bought through Crystal Agenzy a chip last minute where in our contract there are services included and not.
You choose an Hotel with a lot of services included: sauna, turkish -bad , gala' dinner with live music- shuttle bus, animation .................and few to pay : Extra Bar the water in Restaurant (the only thingh you bought ) at the price Euro 2,00 not as you wrote Euro 3,00 .,
Of course in Spar shop you pay 0,29 cents for water but this is an Hotel not a Camping . .... someone provide takes away from the room the bottles you leave ...........
Always ready to impruve our services and do the best to gratify our guest when this is possible .......
Carmen Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    72
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
91
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had a weeks' holiday staying at this hotel with my youngest daughter. The place was brilliant ! Clean throughout,and offering three anti pasta choices, then three main choices with an extensive salad bar,followed by a choice of sweet for each evening meal.
The ski room had great heaters for your boots and the sauna and steam room were great heaters for your tired body after a day on the slopes.
The mini bus was a superb facility for getting to and from the lift areas.
Added to all this were the friendly management and staff who were always on hand when you needed them, but never in your face, well save for the entertainer !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabiogardenia, Proprietario at Hotel Gardenia, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your rewiew !!
We are always glad when our guest go away happy and relaxed .........
Hopening to see you again next years with the NEW OPENING SWIMMING POOL !!!!!!!!!
Carmen Elena Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have just returned from a family skiing holiday, first time to Italy. Found the hotel clean and tidy and staff very helpful, Plenty of hot water but showers only, beds made and cleaned bathroom every day. The cold salad/veg buffet got a bit boring by the end of the week - same stuff every day. Some meals were only luke warm and no childrens menu available even though you choose your meal 24 hours before ! The cafe/mountain restaurants are very good value except the new one on the blue run down to Ponte di Legino. Charges a lot more than the one at top of the long blue run up the mountain (Scorpion Bar)!! This one is very busy at lunch time when the weather is good. There is a little cafe on the corner of the main car park - Bar Cadi (i think) this does brilliant hot dog sandwiches and coffee and great for the loo as well, very clean and tidy. Passo is a great area for beginners and intermediates. Our 6 year old loved it and spent all day skiing the lovely long blues. The run down to Ponte is great and we took the black back down by mistake to get back to the gondola but it was brilliant. Got to do this run if you can, great for days if it is snowing as visibility is a lot better. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room which was fairly quiet but the family next door left their kids alone and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returnded from a weeks skiing and I felt that I needed to share my experience. The hotel was perfect for location, food, staff and everything in general. The staff are very friendly and helpful and Luka the bus driver is very flexible, he will take you to the slopes and anywhere in town if he is free.
The food was excellent and very varied. Each evening there was a choice so even a fussy eater like me found something to eat.
The spa area is being renovated with a pool for next year, but the sauna was fine as it is.
It is generally a good place to stay- value for money for us on this occassion. Would recommend it. Although we didnt use it, there was entertainment each evening and a very bouncy entertainer for the kids.

Room Tip: 3rd floor are quiet, avoid areas over the taverna if you go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visited the Hotel Gardenia in February 2012 after looking through Trip Advisor and getting a fantastic deal through Inghams. We really weren't disappointed with the location, atmosphere and friendly nature of the hotel.

The rooms were clean, the spa was clean and welcomed after a long day on the slopes. Although the hotel wasn't the closest for walking to in ski boots the shuttle bus offered by the hotel more than made up for this.

We were really impressed by the friendly nature of the staff and the extra effort they put in to making it a great holiday, for example when my ski-boots had accidentally been taken from the boot room the manangeress of the hotel drove us to the local ski hire shop and arranged for complimentary boot hire for the day.

The ski area is not the liveliest but I would recommend it for couples or families who would like a weeks skiing with varying levels of challenge.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would be recommended as the lower ones are quite close to the stairs which can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in the Gardenia in March 2012. A late booking at a very good price and did not really have any great expectations. The hotel was very comfortable, nice recently refurbished rooms, food was good and the staff were excellent, very friendly, very accomodating - could not do enough for the guests. The mini bus service to the lift was a bonus, We would definately stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to couples, families or groups.
The skiing was better than expected and I would not agree with some reports which indicate that the runs are of a predominantley beginner standard, there are plenty of good reds, Ponte delingo adds variety. One really nice feature was the opportunity to do some night skiing, one of the blue slopes was floodlit and the lift ran between 9.00 to 11.00 - nice and icy at that time !!! The La Baracca bar at the bottom of the main slope hosted excellent apre ski - it was mad every night, happy hour 4.00 to 5.00. Would definately go back to Passo and The Gardenia !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here as a family in Feb 2012 and had a really lovely time. The Rooms have been refurbished to a good standard and are nice and warm which is all we needed for our Ski trip. The bathroom we had didnt have a bath, but a very small shower. The water is always hot although not very powerful.
The staff are all very friendly indeed and nothing is too much trouble. You even get taken in the Hotels own mini bus to and from the slopes every day which is a real bonus. It runs every 5 mins in the morning so you can just get up and go when you are ready. The bus starts again in the afternoon up to 5.00pm so you can have a nice drink at one of the bars before you travel back if you want to.
Passo Tonale is an ideal resort for beginners and intermediates. Nearly all the slopes are south facing and you can easily ski from one slope over to another. There are many areas for beginners to learn as well. There is a lovely 3km long blue run which is lovely to start on frist thing to get you going, and there is one main black run on the other side of the valley. There are also quite a few good red runs as well. Overall we had a lovely time in both the Hotel and skiing in Passo Tonale.
I would just mention as other people have that the food is just OK. You wont starve, but some of the evening meals were a little disappointing and the choice for children was either chicken nuggets or an awful pizza. However some of the sweets were very nice and i would definitely stay here again.
Overall we had a very good time and I would recommend this Hotel as a good 3 star hotel as advertised. They are quite a few places to eat out if you fancy a change on some evenings, and also there are quite a few bars for Apres Ski.
If you are thinking of trying Passo Tonale this Hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: email hotel direct and ask for a room with Balcony and Nice Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia

Address: Via Nazionale, 20, 38020 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Passo Tonale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gardenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.