We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sporting

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sporting to your Saves list
Hotel Sporting
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Circonvallazione 21, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buckinghamshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the 3rd April 2013 with our 14 yr old son. Reception staff where really nice as we had arrived very early for skiing. We where told that our room was ready and given the key to a very nice family room. we used the spa/wellness centre in the evening I found the pool to be a bit too cold for my liking. The wellness area is for adults only which was a disappointment to our son.. However it was very pleasant. We paid for the swim caps at reception in the wellness centre which where 3 euros. Do bring your own towels. We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was wonderful and really good value. Breakfast was the same. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for good food and a relaxing environment, this is not the hotel for you if you want a lively bar area as I found the hotel very quiet during our stay. (maybe that was just the time of year).

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel over look the mountain behind and are quiet. Rooms to the front are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    113
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
261
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spent three days at the hotel with my mother and my two children. The rooms were comfortable, the pool and wellness centre were beautiful and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. It's great value, the food is good and the drinks are very reasonable. We had a great time. It's at the end of the resort, near a ski lift to a long blue run which you can use to get to the centre of the village. This was two ambitious for us the first day, and we used the ski bus that runs every 25 mins. Its a good resort for beginner and intermediate skiers, with lots of long blue and red runs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Deutschland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Ski-pass, clean + nice + comfy rooms, food, drinks, great people to talk to even in german (well, at least a little ;-))!
Renting a cottage and carrying about food and stuff all on its own would about the same costs or even more with more efforts and stress after being 6-8 hours on the slopes. Being at Passo del Tonale and living in Sporting Hotel was one of my first winter holidays coming “home” from the slopes and rest, sleep, read or just enjoy nature and quietness. Whatever I wanted to do, it was possible – snowshoe hike, snowmobile, freeride, or just relaxing. After resting in a comfy bed and after a good dinner, I had the chance to go out with new friends and had a great time partying. Friends of Francesco made it possible to explore Passo del Tonale in backcountry style - a safe and adventurous tour while enjoying a great freeride in powder. I love Tonale! My only request for next time is to have more options of vegetarian food within the menu, especially pasta dishes. I know Italian love meat, but foreign vegetarian love vegetables 
Anyway, I would recommend spending winter holidays in Sporting Hotel at Passo del Tonale to everyone who wants to do a real sporty or / and relaxing winter holiday!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sportingtonale, Direttore vendite at Hotel Sporting, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Good evening, thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your winter holiday in our hotel. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will come back to visit us again. Next time, we promise, there will be more vegetarian food and more German speaking ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just have spent a week altogether with my wife, two kids as well as my mother. The Sporting was really good choice, talking about friendliness of their staff, all the meals served, position in area, suitability for children, all this comparing to reasonable rates. We could truly enjoy the taste of "italian atmosphere" ther:-) Probably will come back. Family Nedved

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was our 3rd time in Tonale. Stayed in Sporting 2 years ago - found it very friendly, clean and good value for money. Last year tried another hotel (Vittoria) but we didn't care for it too much so this year went back to The Sporting Hotel and The Delpero Family:). As before, we found the family extremely friendly and accommodating.They will go out of their way to help or sort any problems that might come up.
The food was plentiful and very tasty with a great choice of salads. The choice of wines was good as well and if you don't finish your bottle they will save it for you for the following day.
The hotel has private parking, a garage, a swimming pool, small gym, spa & wellness as well as a little seperate pool area for the little ones. The hotel is very child friendly and offers a really nice and relaxing atmosphere.
Ski hire is very close by and you get a 10% discount if you say you are staying at this hotel:)
As for Passo del Tonalle - a beautiful place and we will definately come back again.

Room Tip: There is a range of rooms from basic ones to family suites, south facing ones have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent our New Year holidays in this charming hotel. The staff was super friendly, the cook made amazing food (I specially appreciated the Italian pasta....mmmm) and we really enjoyed to relax at the new and cosy spa after a day skying on the nice slopes. This spa offers a great fitness area, a big pool with whirepool and water beds in the relaxing area, as well as sauna, hammam and massages.
It is a family hotel, run by the parents and their son, they are super friendly and helpful. I understood that the father and son are also taking care of the skying lessons of the tourists' kids.
I recommend this hotel with pleasure and would like to thank them for this beautiful holidays! See you next year;)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We (as a group of two young couples without children) decided to spent holidays and New Years Eve in Italy. Sporting hotel? Oh, what a mistake!
- Overpriced for what they offer!
The price was over 200 eur per standard room/night, including half-board. There was some miscommunication prior the reservation, so they promised us to get better (call it Superior) room in the price of original room. What was our surprise when we realized that this "superior" room is in the "hobit size", with minimum lighting and lack of space to store your ski outfit. Although we had a wonderful view to the slopes (living right in the middle of ski area, on the hill) and the room was tidy and clean, we demanded to ask for a room exchange.
- Staff speaking No english!
The only person speaking any other language (except Italian), is Francesco (managing family member). Assuming that he is a ski instructor - communication with the reception make sense after 4pm for foreigners. Till this time no-one will understand your english, german, spanish...
We`d been informed that it`s impossible to exchange room due to busy holiday season, ok...but...Francesco explained this to us sitting by the dinner, with very arrogant manner. Giving us the feel, we are annoying him all the time!
- Kitchen? Terrible!
Going to Italy we are always looking forward for fantastic food. Disappointment! Although you have a nice variety of food to pick up your dinner for the next day, food looks and tastes cheap. Sometimes they tried to serve you with something else as you had ordered. Simply having a feel you are in a cheap canteen, not in 200e hotel! Fruits as a desert come after guarantee and bit decayed. For a dinner - be sure to come strictly at 7,30pm, otherwise your salad choice get reduced! You`ll never know if they fill it up again... New Years Eve dinner was a horror for us. Lot of different dishes came, looking they were waiting for their time to be served since early lunch time - we even didn`t wanna touch it sometimes. Fish bit dried (definitely not fresh looking), fruits quite brown colored.. We got a feeling chief is a cooking and food styling beginner. If you want to take a break for a coffee in the lobby bar between the dishes, you`ll end up with your dish cold, as no-one takes care if you are sitting by the table or not. They simply serve!
Only one pleasant experience in their restaurant is one super nice waiter speaking english. Always smiling and cheerful. The rest of the crew maybe also due to language handicap and busy schedule, not very nice.
- Well..well..wellness. Take a purse with you!
Nice looking, lot of procedures, but... additional fees. Towel 3e, bathtube 8e + (10e deposit), swimm cap 3e. Still talking about 200e hotel and don`t understand these charges. In the high season, very crowded. Don`t know why they open wellness only for 2,5 hours!

After assuming all the attitude and their willingness to make our holidays nicer we decided to drop off and leave. Very unpleasant experience that made our holidays stressing enough! Sporting hotel is probably worst choice in the area!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sportingtonale, Direttore vendite at Hotel Sporting, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Good evening, it's the "terrible and unfriendly" Francesco speaking, first let me tell you that we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday in our hotel.
Anyway we like to clarify some things...

1. I think you are the first person (in 10 years of hotel managing) saying that I am rude and unfriendly (anyway is not possible that every single person likes me...);
2. Is not true that nobody else speaks foreign languages because Beatrice speaks German, French and just a little of English and the entertainer (working sometimes in the bar) speaks English;
3. At time of changing room request hotel was completely busy, but I said that day after there were some rooms free, the day after we agreed about seeing these rooms after dinner, I have been waiting two hours for this and finally I decided to call in room... You said you were too tired and we will do it the day after. Finally the following morning we were able to show you other rooms and you decided to remain in the same one. In the afternoon I spoke with M.K. (the guy that did the booking) and he said that room was ok and probably all the complains were due to a long travel and tired people (after this I have thought that everything was fine);
4. About food I don't know what you were expecting but if you read all the other recension it seems that everything was good (except for salad buffet that sometimes was not properly reassorted). In the same week everyone was congratulating about it, anyway everyone has different preferences (if fruits werenot good, just ask the waiter to change them, unfortunately sometimes it can happen);
5. Wellness... It's true, bathrobe and towels are under payment, but everything else is included into price (also natural water at meals is included, if you calculate all water you have drunk and not paid, you could buy a lot of towels and bathrobe...);
6. Please don't lie... Swimming pools schedule is from 10 to 12 and from 15 to 19, it seems to be more than 2,5 hours right?
7. It is nice how you try to treat persons well and sometimes you get only bad experiences... Originally you have booked 7 days, after 3 days (with only 1 day of forewarning) you said you were leaving the following day... Additionally you did not say that it was because of the hotel but because you did not like the ski area... Well, in many other hotels (expecially in highest season) probably you would have paid till the last euro, here you didn't... We said that if we have could sell the rooms nothing more than 4 days stay was due. We have sold your rooms and you have paid only 4 days (not 1€ more)!!!
8. At your leaving you did not say anything about kitchen or wellness complaint.

I end up hoping that is not M.K. to have written this recension because I had a good memory of him and at leaving time he had reassured me that everything was fine... Anyway except from room problem (that apparently was solved) you did not say us ANYTHING else, not allowing us to explain or correct some errors or misunderstandings despite of the very special way we have treating you with payment (is really easy to hide behind a computer).

Have a nice evening :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sporting

Address: via Circonvallazione 21, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sporting 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the slopes of the Presanella Group, directly facing trails and hiking paths and not far from the centre of Tonale, Sporting Hotel is the ideal departure point for those who wish to spend an unforgettable holiday in Trentino. The Delpero family, which has owned the hotel for over thirty years, will welcome you with warmth and kindness. For years, the quality of the services and the expertise of our staff have made our resort one of the best hotels in Val di Sole. An island of wellness in a white sea of winter snows, an oasis where you can regenerate from the heat of summer. Thanks to the recent expansion of the Wellness Area, Sporting Hotel has become an irresistible attraction for those who wish to spend pleasurable moments caring for their body and spirit. "Aqua Montana", Val di Sole's wellness centre, is equipped with the most advanced facilities so you can embark on a journey of relaxation and rejuvenation. There is no match for a spa holiday with us in Val di Sole. Novelty of this season is a brand new play area mini club with surveillance and accompaniment/withdrawal of children to group lessons We are waiting for you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sporting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.