We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My compliments to Valentina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Battellieri 26, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Carloforte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My compliments to Valentina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I hade the pleasure to stay in this hotel for a couple of nights. The room was nice and clean, spacious and the balcony offered the best view over the harbor. One of the lady's at The reception called Valentina was particularly helpful with some of the ins and outs of carloforte. Me and my girlfriend hade a great stay here

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    87
    26
    4
    10
See reviews for
21
118
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

This was our third, and certainly not last, trip to Hotel Riviera. The location is perfect for walking to dinner and drinks in Carloforte. The staff is efficient and some are more helpful than others, providing a few needed beach items and the like. Our first room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and we were quickly (though not particularly cheerfully) given a different room. The rooms have tired a little bit since our first visit back in 2008, but it is still a very nice spot with incredible value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Riviera 5 nights. We also saw other nice hotels like Nichotel and Pimpina, nice too, but for us Riviera was best choise. Classic room was big and beautiful, but 1st floor on one of the main side road was not relaxing (night time quiet, plus excellent sound proof). Roof terrace has nice views to have some own snack. Deluxe in front with seaview was superb. Hotel desk gave better price than on Booking. Service was wonderful and friendly, even breakfast at 7 was possible. Recommend it warmly!

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located. Just a short distance to the left once you get off the ferry and visible from the ship. the exterior is an attractive red color with the name prominantly displayed. The lobby is clean with a small coffee/drink bar, tables and chairs, and windows that offer a view of the harbor. Our room was on the third floor. Our first impression was very positive. It appeared freshly painted, clean, fresh, attractive, with a large king sized bed, small sofa that opened out to a single bed (we did not use it), a modernized bath, and a balcony overlooking the harbor and street with two inviting chairs. We took advantage of the balcony on several occasions. On closer look and use, however, we found that the shower enclosure was not watertight causing the water to seep out onto the bathroom floor whenever it was used. Not just a little water either. Enough to soak two towels. When we mentioned this issue at check-out (we only stayed one night) the front desk person said "oh yes we are aware of that." Apparently, it is a common problem that could be easily fixed but instead is being ignored. The only other complaint is that when the party in the room above us scaped their chairs back on the tile floor it could be heard very loudly in our room. And as other reviewers have mentioned, the rooftop terrace is not open out of season. We were told we could take our own drinks up there, but how great would it be to have it open? The hotel was quite full, if the number of people at breakfast was any indication, so it would have been cost effective. The breakfast offered a good array of choices: scrambled eggs and hard boiled, a variety of sliced meats and cheeses, breads, cakes, fresh and canned fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffees and teas, juices, it was quite an assortment. The only downside was that the way the food was spread out on counters in the breakfast area made it difficult to fight the crowd to get to it. Finally, the advertised "free wi-fi" did not work at all in our room and worked spottily in the lobby. Overall, we loved the location and with a little extra attention this hotel could be rated excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony on the front, the higher the better. Some rooms had larger balconies tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We had reservations at a B & B however did not want to stay there. We presented our situation to the hotel Riviera and thank goodness they had a room and with a view overlooking the harbor.
We were up graded to a jr suite which was awesome...Valentina was a delight always smiling and so helpful with our plans for the day. There was Ricardo who is English and very helpful. The hotel is situated right across from the water making very easy access to all restaurant's. Due to it being in Sept we discovered most of the boat trips were no longer running.. however we found one which I must say made this location one of my favorites along the coast.
If you stay here ask for a room facing the water... speak to Valentina or Ricardo as they both are so helpful and make this hotel such a great place to stay. Enjoy..
Thank you Valentina and Ricardo we will not forget you both

Room Tip: ask for room facing the harbor the higher 3rd floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We initially planned to stay here 2 nights on our tour through sardinia, but ended up staying 3, because we loved carloforte and loved the hotel.

We got a great deal on the room and were upgraded to a superior room with balcony and view over the port. Lovely 4 post bed, big and well kitted out bathroom, and beautiful view. Had a nice boutique feel to it.

Service was really high standard. Ricardo was extremely helpful (and brought up in England so helps with the language barrier! A bonus in sardinia where you cannot assume everyone speaks English....). We didn't have any difficult requests, but got the feeling he and most of his staff were ready to go the extra mile. They helped with restaurants, bike hire etc.

We did really love it, but there are a few small things they could do to make it a little bit better: breakfast was ok, but nothing special (but we found this the case every where we stayed in sardinia: amazing lunches and dinners, but average breakfast). There is drinkable water in the bathroom, but a few free bottles of mineral water wouldn't go amiss. Maybe a bar on the roof terrace (it was out of season, so I don't know if they have it in high season) - the roof terrace is an amazing space, but not much going on there.

Overall, this is a great little hotel - and really stood out compared to other highly rated places that we stayed in sardinia. Thanks to the team there!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is located at the dock in Carloforte which means you walk the very short distance from the ferry to hotel. The hotel can arrange transport from the airport and I would recommend looking carefully into this to avoid having to pay unnecessarily. Having stayed at the hotel in both 2011 and 2012 it is better to pay a little more for a larger room with a balcony, though there is a roof terrace if you don't manage to get a balcony. The rooms are comfortable and airy with a great shower, towels etc. Breakfast is great but I think is much better when you can help yourself to coffee as there can be a short wait otherwise. The staff were ok and as I prefer less fuss, it worked well. Locally, the food is fantastic and there is an advantage in many of the menus being in Italian (with no translation) and if you are prepared to take a risk with this the food can be a great surprise. There is a great little bar around the corner serving delicious snacks with drinks. We have rented bicycles and explored the island and the many beaches, bars etc

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Corso Battellieri 26, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Carloforte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carloforte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carloforte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Riviera… Welcome to Carloforte a picturesque town on the unique Isola di San Pietro, “an island within an island”, an oasis of peace and beauty, a natural treasure only 20 minutes away by ferry from the south-west coast of charming Sardinia. Carloforte, with its deep cultural roots, represents an important phase in the history of Sardinia’s colonization. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Escapio so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Carloforte
Hotel Riviera Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.