We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "family style" / friendly Italian restaurant with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Castello Ristorante & Pizzeria - CLOSED

Al Castello Ristorante & Pizzeria
Via Castello 5, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy
0781 853 325
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Situato nella parte alta del paese, in pieno centro storico, a pochi passi dal Museo Civico ed a ridosso delle antiche Mura di Cinta, la costruzione riporto lo stile tipico della casa carlofortina sobria ed accogliente, con all'interno una confortevole atmosfera famigliare. Dalla sala ristorante lo sguardo scivola lungo i tetti delle vecchie case di paese fino a raggiungere lo splendido porto dell' Isola di San Pietro, dove pescherecci da diporto si confondono tra i mille colori del suo mare.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great "family style" / friendly Italian restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

At the time of writing this restaurant was rated 19 of 32 restaurants in Carloforte. Not that I've been to all 32 establishments, however based on my experience it should be ranked a lot higher.

It is slightly off the beaten track, in that it isn't quite on the main drag, however our hotel strongly recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed. We had a table reserved in the upstairs restaurant area, however since it was a pleasant evening, opted to eat on the terrace.

Service was relaxed (good), and food tasty. Also, compared to other restaurants on the island it represents pretty good value for money. We would definitely return if we had more time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had pizza in here. The pizza was excellent and well priced. The wines were good, but on the expensive side. We were here on a Tuesday night in May and were the only diners. Service was attentive but not overdone. The location is a walk up the hill and interesting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok food, terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

The food at Al Castello is what I would call average. At first glance the menu seems to include the dishes you'd expect to find in Carloforte; tuna, sword fish, shellfish and pizza. Judging by the dishes we were served, and those brought to the other tables, the impression is that the food is a bit uninspired. We had a clam and mussels soup, followed by a catalanian style grilled tuna. Both were all right, and hardly bad in a way that would make me advice against the restaurant. They were not, however, good enough to compensate for the terrible service we got.

We arrived at 20:40 and were seated right away. The restaurant tables were all occupied, so we were accommodated in the pizzeria section. This solution seemed fine. We were quickly brought menus, a bottle of water and a basked of bread. It was then that the waiting began. After 20 minutes, we were able to order our food and ask for a wine menu. Another 20 minutes of hiatus followed, with none of the three waiters looking in our direction. Finally we tired of waiting and went to ask a waiter who was in charge of our table. The waiter pointed to the manager and said he was the one in charge. He apologised and promised to attend our table right away. After another 15 minutes the first dish arrived, and only then were we able to get our wine. We had then been at the restaurant around 55 minutes, most of the time spent making unsuccessful attempts at getting the waiters to notice us. We made a comment on this to the waiter who finally brought us the orders. The waiter seemed embarrassed and proceeded with more attention, despite not being the one responsible for our table. The manager, the one that should have served us, and thus the one responsible for our unacceptable treatment, did not once approach us with any form of apology.

I'm prepared to forgive a little inattentiveness on a busy night in a nice restaurant. However, this level of inattentiveness coupled with arrogance from the manager and unimpressive cooking is simply not acceptable by my standards.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcastellocarloforte, Manager at Al Castello Ristorante & Pizzeria, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your recent review which I have read and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your visit to Al Castello. We always strive to deliver the best in food and in service as we believe that the customer is central to the experience with food and service to match that experience.

Regarding the timing of the arrival of your chosen plates - All of our menu items are cooked fresh to order as we have a variety of seafood dishes on our menu that come fresh from the sea daily. In order to enjoy the best of the dish we advise our guests that some items take longer to prepare that other plates, however this is in no way an excuse to justify a long period of time to wait for food to arrive to your table and in this case we aplogise for the delay.

All of our staff here always do their best to ensure our guests enjoy a pleasant dining experience and leave happy and content. It is with great regret that you spent the early part of your meal trying to get attention from our service personel, I can assure you that this was not intentional and even though we had an exceptionally busy night it is completely unacceptable service.

Our menu strives towards local, traditional & freshly prepared food in house by our culinary team, I am sorry that you felt our dishes were uninspiring but I can assure you that dishes that are prepared in a simple honest manner deserve credit. We believe that those simple things in life are the finest.

In the end I and on behalf of our service personell extend my apolgies again. I do hope if you were to visit Sardinia or Carloforte again that you would allow us the courtsey to deliver what should have been an enjoyable dining experience for you. If you have any other comments or enquiries please donàt hesitate to contact us through our website or by email.

Kind Regards,

Managment Team Al Castello Carloforte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wish we lived closer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed every meal we had at Al Castello. The anti pasti gave us the opportunity fo try dishes that we might not have been brave enough to order. The food was first class - we are so glad that we were half board at the Hotel Riviera or we might have missed out on this little gem of a restaurant. Liam and his team made everyone feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We really missed everyone when we came home!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Castello Ristorante & Pizzeria also viewed

Carloforte, Province of Carbonia-Iglesias
Carloforte, Province of Carbonia-Iglesias
 
Carloforte, Province of Carbonia-Iglesias
Carloforte, Province of Carbonia-Iglesias
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Castello Ristorante & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.