We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Pimpina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Pimpina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Pimpina
Via Genova 106/108, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Carloforte
Navan Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights in July. It's a really great find and good value. The hotel is a renovated residence and is decorated in a really eclectic style. Our room was huge and very clean. There was plenty of storage and space with interesting furniture. Rooms seem to be decorated individually. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. Breakfast is served downstairs in the reception area and was very fresh. The hotel itself is located a few minutes walk from the promonade and there is free parking close by. Carloforte is a charming town full of cafes, shops and restaurants. The island itself is not too developed and there are some very peaceful spots and beautiful beaches. The staff at the hotel were quite friendly although we do not speak Italian so our conversation was limited. However we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
78
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I wanted to surprise my wife with a short holiday for her 50th birthday. One of her favourite places is Carloforte on the Island of St Pietro. We had visited the Island on several previous occasions, staying at the Hotel Riviera. I booked the Riviera 3 months before her birthday, and this booking was confirmed. Much to my surprise the hotel phoned me 4 days before departure to tell me they could not accomodate us. The reasons given were not clear, and they were not overly helpful in suggesting alternative accomodation. After some investigation on the internet, I booked the Villa Pimpina in the hope it would prove a reasonable substitute for the Riviera. As it turned out I couldn't have been more delighted with my choice. From the moment we walked into the Hotel we felt at home. It is delightful. Set fairly high up in the old town, it commands beautiful views from its upper rooms. Our room overlooked the town, harbour and surrounding countryside, and faced south. The area is very peaceful both in the day and at night, but is only 6 minutes walk form the harbour. The decor in the hotel is a mixture of traditional and modern with a very artistic touch. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The hotel owner lives on the premises and both he and his wife are very freindly and helpful. Breakfast is included, and although simple, is of a perfectly adequate contenental style with homemade cakes and fruit included. We were very impressed, and hope to return to this hotel in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

It's a nice hotel, 3 stars, located in the centre of Carloforte, Island of San Pietro, Sardinia.
The small town is alive full of small shops and reasturants: Not croweded. Reasonable amount of tourista. The island is quite wilde.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The owner was incredibly helpful, funny and friendly. I'm italian and their english might be a bit limited but they really try their best and make themselves understood. It's an old house, completely refurbished to a very tasteful standard.clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, absolutely great breakfast. English people wanting their heavy and greasy breakfast might be disappointed, but my husband is english and he also enjoyed it, with cakes and biscuits baked by the landlady, fresh fruit and yoghurt. People who complain about the location might want to get real. Carlo is tiny, so everything is walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed only one night whilst on a cycling holiday in Sardinia. The welcome was great, very exuberant! room was bright, spacious and simply but stylishly decorated. The location was very central and the owner was full of recommendations of places to go and restaurants to visit. Although there were only 5 of us staying in the hotel that night, the breakfast selection was good, with lovely fresh bread, pastries and cakes. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Hotell Villa Pimpina is small and the owner is very friendly. He speaks English and helps with any questions regarding Carloforte. The room was clean. The hotel is situated five minutes from the waterfront on a narrow street. It was possible to find parking in the nearby, but it´s impossible to do other than a short stop outside the hotel (you stop the traffic) and lift off your luggange. The street is steep and it could be hard to go with the luggage.
Our room had seaview, but there were a lot of roofs beetween the hotell and the sea (picture). The hotell has a small breakfastroom and offers a simple breakfast that was OK. I would say that the reason to stay at this hotel is the frindly athmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for three nights during a holiday touring southern Sardinia by car and cannot rate it too highly. It only opened this summer and the ten rooms, each different, have all been beautifully decorated and furnished, as have the reception area and hallways. It is located a short walk from the front in Carloforte in one of the town's lovely little old streets.
Prices in September ranged from 80 to 110 euros. We opted for a 90 euro room which was fantastically light and spacious and had an immaculate bathroom.
The hosts Franco and his wife were charming, friendly and helpful and the breakfast was the best we experienced during our two week holiday - a wonderful selection of fruit, yoghurt and delicious pastries. The outside patio and garden area was not ready this year for serving breakfast, but should be by next season.
Carloforte itself was fabulous - full of lovely old houses in little streets and alleyways, and had a lively and friendly atmosphere. Franco directed us to the best beaches on the island which are just a short drive away.
We loved Carloforte and the hotel and would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and friendly hosts
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Pimpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Pimpina

Address: Via Genova 106/108, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Carloforte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Carloforte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Pimpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimpina Hotel Carloforte
Hotel Villa Pimpina Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Pimpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.