We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach & Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Citta Baja Sardinia, 07020 Baia Sardinia, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great beach & Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice and in good location, 5mins from Baja. The beach is great, and we had an amazing few meals at the beach restaurant with perfect sunset (the waiter Emad was so welcoming and knowledgable!). The hotel restaurant on the other hand was just ok. Nice pool and clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    62
    14
    9
    1
See reviews for
54
108
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in La Rocca 6 nights early July. Hotel is boutique, secluded and private. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble, especially Paolo the shuttle bus driver. The rooms are aconditioned, but can be noisy, as it's the old style on the floor type. Room is large enough with balcony, with small TV. But you don't come to hotel to watch TV. Pool is nice, although most head for their private beach, which is a bit of a walk away on dirt road, better to ask for shuttle transfer. They have a very nice seafood restaurant by the beach, and dinning there at night watching the sunset is perfect, atmosphere and ambience is wonderful. Not included in half board restaurant, (you get 20Euro credit per person if you are on half board).
Breakfast and dinner ( half board) is very nice, no complains.
Also complimentary shuttle to nearest town Baia Sardinia, and there is a local bus to Port Cervo, if you wish.
Highly recommend this hotel, for do nothing, chill out, beach holiday. Beach is very clean, and water very clear.

Room Tip: Ask for room No:114
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I had 12 days at the beginning of July 2013. It is a lovely small hotel, beautifully set out with wonderful gardens and pool. The private beach is fantastic, always plenty of beds and staff are brilliant throughout. However! The room beds are the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and when we mentioned this we were told they were all the same - my husband slept on the small armchair/sofa bed after the first night! You definitely need a car - the courtesy bus is very good (and Paulo the driver is a really charming man) but it only goes as far as Baia and the beach and stops at 8pm - we tried to book a taxi one night to go to Baia (5 minutes away). for a drink and change of scene (after8) and it was €30 each way! So you are isolated without transport. Whilst we loved the hotel and staff we felt much more could be done to make to make things more enjoyable. The beach restaurant is great but very quiet and we felt it would be nice if they offered the opportunity to eat there sometimes at night instead of in the dining room where the food was very good but became a bit boring after the first week. We walked down there one night when it was bright but by the time we walked back and it was dark it was pretty treacherous as there are no pavements or street lights. We were also only one of two coupes there.
I would say go there for few days but unless you have a car more than that is too long.

Room Tip: One on the 2nd floor to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were enchanted with Hotel La Rocca from the moment we arrived. We stayed for 7 nights from 11th July.The architecture of the hotel designed like a Moorish village with an atmospheric setting in the foothills around Baia Sardinia was perfect for the sense of peace and relaxation we were looking for. Our spacious room like most of the rooms had an individual design in a contemporary Italian style and the views to the bay from our balcony where the private beech was located were spectacular. Although the walk to the beech was some 15 minutes and the busy road had to be negotiated it was well worth it. The swimming was superb as was the beach bar and as an alternative there was the pool back at the hotel with its stunning back drop of rock features. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Silvia was perfect for the bar always welcoming you with a sense of fun and nothing was too much trouble. The reception staff were professional and helpful at all times. If we had any criticism it was that the outside seating area of restaurant in the evening was very limited and to get a table there proved elusive.

Room Tip: specify in advcance what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at La Rocca resort for the first week of July.We felt we were very lucky to have had a very quiet week .There wasn't many other guests.The spa was amazing and we mostly had it all for ourselves, but the nicest thing was the beach though.It was really lovely.The staff were really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed fourteen nights, 8th -22nd June, in a suite and took the half board option. The suite (204) was of a good size with a small terrace, not much of a view but peaceful. It didn't have a bath but who wallows in a hot bath after a hot day on the beach. It was thoroughly cleaned every day with bed linen changed at least every 3 days. Items from the minibar were as usual very expensive, water 4 euros, we used the supermarket on the way to Baja Sardinia water 45cents.
The pool area is sheltered from the wind and has plenty of sun beds but no umbrellas and the pool is large and deep.
The restaurant (long trousers requested for the gents) lacked any kind of atmosphere, it was on the ground floor but only one side had windows, the other 3 sides were just blank. Having said that the service was excellent and the food was fantastic value for money. The evening meal consisted of 4 courses, the first was self service-select what and how much you want. The second and third courses were waiter service, very helpful, cheerful efficient staff with a lovely Maitre 'D. The dessert was again self service with a good selection.Plenty of choice on the wine list starting at about 24 euros, we chose Sardinian wines and were very pleased. Breakfast (12 tables on the outside terrace)was self service with a huge choice-no 'full English' but there was scrambled egg and streaky bacon.
The bar was the usual kind of set up, quiet with low music where you could sit and chat to fellow guests. The bar was run by Sylvia, very friendly and helpful.
The shuttle bus was driven by Paolo, just ask at reception for a lift to the beach or Baja Sardinia and usually you were underway within 5 or 10 minutes. We walked to the beach, it took 15 minutes, the first 400 yards had a pavement but the next 200 yards there is no pavement so we had to walk on a rough grass verge(not at all suitable for children). The remainder is a private dusty dirt track with no real traffic leading to the beach and restaurant.
The beach is pleasant with ample sun beds/umbrellas.
The beach restaurant was very good and surprisingly classy, we ate 12 lunches there. We thought the food very good, all dishes were local with plenty of fresh fish. One course lunch and 2 good glasses of house wine cost about 25-30 euros although you could spend a lot more, we had a lobster one lunchtime and the price was eye watering! Again the service was very good and the waiters very helpful.
All in all we found it quite classy with a nice clientele, certainly no 'chavs' here.
There is a restaurant opposite the hotel but apart from that there is nothing and it's a taxi ride into the town which was very expensive, I would take the half board option and were so pleased we did.
We never used the spa so can't make any comment.
Overall, I'd go back anytime, maybe I'd give July/August a miss when it's crowded with Italians.

Room Tip: It's a funny kind of set up with rooms all over the place set off of little backstreets but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of June and had an excellent time - couldn't fault the hotel at all.

First off the hotel allowed us a free upgrade to a suite, as we had originally booked a standard room. The suite was lovely - very spacious.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, very well kept, and the pool and spa were great. Despite the hotel being fairly full, we quite often had the pool and spa entirely to ourselves.

The food is absolutely delicious, and the restaurant very well run by the Maitre D'.

Part of why we chose this hotel was the shuttle service offered to the hotel's private beach (very nice) and the town of Baia Sardinia, as we were travelling without a car. This service was great, and the driver was available to transport us on demand.

All in all I cannot rate this hotel highly enough - we had a perfect holiday here and would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa

Address: Citta Baja Sardinia, 07020 Baia Sardinia, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rocca is a small jewel, situated 2km from Baja Sardinia,one of Sardinia's most prestigious towns, adjacent to the Costa Smeralda and just 6km from Porto Cervo. The Hotel contain 55 smart guest rooms and suites, which are very comfortably furnished in Mediterranean style.La Rocca has its own private, sandy beach, located just 800 metres away, where you can use the parasols and sun loungers free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Baia Sardinia
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.