We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissfully relaxing and very proffesional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Citta Baja Sardinia, 07020 Baia Sardinia, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Blissfully relaxing and very proffesional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We are just back, and We immediately wanted to review this delicious hotel/spa/beach resort. From the welcoming staff at reception and the lovely room they allotted us (after a quick email in advance) overlooking the pool from a spacious balcony, to the gorgeous relaxing environment of the spa, and gardens around this place is great for a week away from work. The staff is multilingual and very helpfully and professional. Nothing negative can be said about the restaurant staff, reception and spa staff as they all endeavour to make your stay a relaxing one. A half board sometimes results in boring diners you want to escape after day two, NOT here.. Delicus buffet antipasti layed out, and a good choice of pasta and secundo dishes.. And well dolce... Delicious and good enough to come back every night. The wines could be expensive but there were more reasonable ones that made us empty the bottle every night.... The beach, although separate at a mile distance, very easy to access with the hotel transport, was a jewel... Clean, private and in a gorgeous area, with bar restaurant so beautiful it resembles movie settings .The new spa was relaxing and refreshingly with its steam room, sauna and thalassotherapy rooms.. The indoor pool with again relaxing chairs finished off most of our days. In short (...) Hotel La Rocca will be on our short list when we want to escape busy work days for a long time to come.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    62
    14
    9
    1
See reviews for
54
108
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I recently returned from a tranquil week with my husband at Hotel La Rocca, oh what a little gem of a hotel with the feel of an elegant Italian villa and gardens it didn’t disappoint on any level. The well maintained grounds were a delight to the senses from the profusion of colourful plants to the wafts of Jasmine as we walked to our room (116). We had paid extra for a sea view (a little way off in the distance), which allowed the privacy of no one opposite when sitting on the balcony and although there is a road in front which didn’t disturb us, maybe one of the other rooms behind may be a little quieter when sitting out.
Our room was spacious and immaculate, housekeeping did a wonderful job coming in twice a day and always clean linen, plenty of towels and the bed turned down. In fact the service all round was excellent. The only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities, but after the first day I have to say we didn’t miss it.
We took advantage of the hotel’s friendly shuttle service to the beach, it is possible to walk the distance but in the heat and navigating the road this wouldn’t be a pleasurable experience. Oh my, the beach is bellissimo, golden sand, not too fine it gets everywhere though and plenty of sun-beds. Exceptionally clean and with the hotel lifeguard on duty it felt safe to leave our things and go for a swim. Again I can’t comment on busier months, but during our stay it was relatively quiet.
The terrace restaurant at the beach was a delightful for a leisurely lunch, whether just anti-pasti or a Sardinian delight with a glass of sparkling wine overlooking the beach and bay, it’s a wonderful way to relax for couple of hours during the heat of the day.
I highly recommend hiring a car, to explore the little towns and beaches, especially as there is nowhere locally to stroll to, although I believe there is a local bus service.
The waitress in the restaurant spoke excellent English, (as did most of the staff and our fellow guests - all Italian) and took time to talk each evening offering advice on wine selection and Sardinian specialities. There was no shortage of food choices and an array to suit most palates and well presented.
After being out exploring or at the beach a chance to indulge in the spa and oh boy what a beautiful spa. Tropical showers, sauna, steam, Jacuzzi and large pool area, by the time we emerged in our soft fluffy robes from our serene surroundings we were truly relaxed. I can highly recommend booking a massage and there are plenty of other treatments available.
A delightful week and I hope day to have the pleasure of returning.
I can’t comment on how busy this hotel is during the peak months, but itwas peaceful and very quiet during our stay and if you are looking for a large busy complex then this probably isn’t for you.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms do have a road in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is the best hotel we have stayed in in Europe. We had a nice room with good storage space and a lovely shaded balcony overlooking the pool. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. The pool is large and deep which is rare (depth markers around the edge) -great for swimmers like me. The pool area has limited shade until the afternoon but is nicely kept with sunbeds but no parasols. The food was fabulous - 4 course dinner every night , well cooked and beautifully presented with a good choice. Breakfast had a good choice too with some hot food which we did not expect. Location is nice and peaceful so you sleep well but the downside is that there is nowhere to walk to and after a good dinner you could do with a walk in the evening. While the hotel has a shuttle bus (which is almost available on demand) to take you to the beach and into Baia Sardinia you really need a car to get out and about to see beyond the immediate area. However we knew what to expect from other trip advisor reviews so organised the car before we went. My husband found the driving fine as roads are quiet, places are well signposted and we didn't have any trouble parking (most of it was free). The private beach is very good with free sunbeds and parasols (elsewhere we did pay 30 euros which was steep).

Staff were attentive and helpful but sometimes in the dining room they were too attentive and this did begin to grate by the end of the week. This may have been because the hotel was not full but having your glass refilled when you had just taken a few mouthfuls did get irritating. However better that then being ignored as can happen.

The only downside is that the bar was under utilised as drinks were very expensive - 6 euros for a bottle of Becks, 3 for tea, 4 for water, 20+ for wine - so people didn't really sit around and chat which was a shame.
This is our second time in Sardinia and we would return again

Room Tip: Not all rooms have shaded balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

Upon arrival hotel la rocca looks like a Mediterranean oasis. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool area is beautiful and is centered around a large natural rock that has been incorporated into the pool (see pics). The bar at the hotel is pretty basic but they need to have recipes and supplies on hand. We ordered a mojito which took a while to prepare. I think they were looking for mint or a recipe. The lack of drinks is a shame given the beautiful pool setting. The beach is not right on the property and you either have to walk or take a shuttle bus. The walk would not be bad if there was a paved walkway. To talk to the beach you would have on a busy highway for 200 meters before walking down a dirt road. Once you are at the beach it is beautiful. There are beach loungers, umbrellas, and the beach isn't crowded. There is a beach bar which is located at the rocca beach restaurant. For a beach bar, this is extremely lacking unless you want wine, beer, or ultra simple mixed drinks (I.e. Screwdriver). We had breakfast at the main hotel restaurant which was good. We didn't eat dinner at the main hotel restaurant abs can't comment on that but we did eat dinner at the Rocca beach restaurant. It was excellent and we received superb service. Great for a special occasion. My partner decided to get a manicure/pedicure and massage. It was slightly odd that the same person did the manicure/pedicure and massage. It seemed like they would have more people working during peak season. They also do not offer couples massages due to only having one employee. The room was very big for European standards and was always clean and tidy. The biggest detractor from the hotel is the location. It is out of town. If you are planning on staying at the hotel and eating their buffet dinner then this wouldn't be a big issue. If you want to go out to dinner and get a few drinks it is hard to get taxis and the walk back is along a dangerous highway. The hotel staff is very hardworking and willing to help with any request. The hotel has a free shuttle and a couple times a day it goes to baja Sardinia and rocca beach. A car is a must and plan out your dinners.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wndover, Bucks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

The staff are personable, friendly and very helpful. All speak good English.
Our room, notwithstanding the slightly outdated decor, was clean and spacious. The bed was firm and very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was fine except the shower was a little weak if you’re used to being pummelled by the water flow. Also the bathroom mirror lighting was a little dim when applying make-up (my wife’s observation). In a similar vein, there is no full-length mirror in the room. We had a nice balcony with distant sea view (very pleasant) but traffic noise from the nearby road (especially two wheeled traffic) could be noisy but it was not constant nor was it particularly intrusive except when opening the doors onto the balcony first thing in the morning. However, all of these remarks are merely to provide an honest assessment of the room. Nothing noted here spoiled our enjoyment in any way.
The restaurant (in our view) was fantastic. Lots of food (too much really but what the heck …. you’re on holiday). Nice selection of wines. Food was always varied, always imaginative, good ingredients, nicely prepared, nicely presented. And very authentically Italian (scrumptious!). The restaurant staff were absolutely superb – cheerful, attentive, efficient, polite and friendly and always ready to cater for special requests or requirements. Breakfast and dinner could not be faulted. The Hotel’s location is as described in the other reviews though the hotel’s private beach has not been praised enough elsewhere. A lovely spot, beautiful views, clean and sandy, clear clean water (and nice sloping shore allowing one to stay within one’s depth if necessary), quiet, no crowds, no music, sun beds and umbrellas for hotel guests (with beach towels also provided by the hotel) and a lifeguard in attendance throughout the day. A little far (and maybe too hot) to walk from the hotel but hire car or Hotel shuttle service easily solves that.
What did we like best? Everything. What did we not like? Having to leave at the end of a wonderfully relaxing, extremely well fed holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Our family have just returned from week’s holiday staying in Hotel La Rocca, we had a really lovely time. The hotel was very nice, clean, nicely decorated. The staff couldn’t have been nicer; they gave a wonderful service from Reception to the waiters/waitresses through to the room maids who were excellent. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean.

The food was very good, four courses, all continental food, which is great if you are like us and enjoy all types of food. There is a lot of fish, which is not surprising because you are right by the sea! The pasta dishes are excellent. The beef not so good but the chef made the best of what he had to work with, the chef is excellent. Try the suckling pig if you get the chance, it is wonderful.

We had two family suites which consist of a double bed in one room and a sofa bed in a separate room. The bathroom was a good size.

We had a sea view but don’t get too excited as it is a distant sea view, none the less a very nice view to look out on.

The grounds of the hotel are beautifully kept, as is the swimming pool, which was a lot bigger than we thought it would be with sun beds to use free of charge all around the pool. We very rarely used the pool because Sardinia is all about the wonderful turquoise sea and beaches and it is without a doubt the most beautiful and clearest sea we have ever swam in, our trips to the beach made our holiday special.

We went most of the time to Baia Sardinia beach which is around a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The beach was packed as it is the busiest time of the year but it never bothered us at all, we always found a spot to sun bathe.


Baia Sardinia is a very nice little town to visit at night time it was always buzzing with holiday makers, mostly Italian. There are shops, bars and hotels here to visit but it is quite costly, as is the whole of the Smeralda region. We spent most of our evenings here.

Porto Cervo is only around 10 minutes drive away from the hotel. Parking can be a bit tricky here. Where there are white lines you can park for free as long as your tyres are not over the white line and blue lines you must pay, generally around €2 per hour. It is worth a visit if you like to look at expensive yachts and cars but apart from that there isn’t very much there, unless of course you have an abundance of money to spend in the most expensive shops and restaurants we have ever seen then go for it!

Our teenage children went to Phi beach (beach during the day and a outdoor club in the evening) which is by Baia Sardinia they loved it here but just for a quick visit as a beer cost €20. There is no entrance fee. It is full of very rich Italian teenagers who were buying bottles of vodka for over €250. Good to see how the other half live! Parking here is tricky as it gets very busy. Be careful driving up and down the road as the other drivers are well tanked up with their bottles of vodka and champagne, Lucky them 

We took a very nice boat excursion from Baia Sardinia to Island of Maddelena and a couple of other beaches where the sea water was crystal clear. The beach was lovely but packed by the time all of the excursions had docked at the same time. This cost €35.00 per person including lunch which is pasta with tomato sauce. Drinks on board were around €2 for a coke etc., We really enjoyed this boat trip and thought it was worth the money as it lasted all day from 9.30am-5pm.

You really need to hire a car if you are going to stay at La Rocca Hotel as the other reviews have mentioned before. You really can’t walk anywhere as there isn’t a pavement in most parts. The hotel does have a shuttle bus to their private beach and Baia Sardinia but it isn’t very frequent and it finishes at 6pm.

Overall we had a wonderful holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel it and the staff couldn’t have been nicer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, built like a small village, grounds are well maintained, pool is nice build around a large rock with a waterfall, large rooms with mediterranean style furniture, clean and new. A great feature is the staff, one of the friendliest staff i have ever seen, always smiling, saying hello, present but not "too much". Food is excellent and abundant, again with very friendly and professional service. For instance we arrived very early (7am) by boat from italy mainland and we got to the hotel and they insisted in offering us breakfast for free, even though our day there was supposed to start at 2pm.
Difficult here to find something wrong.
Only issues (1) sea is distant and as there is nothing within walking distance, you do absolutely need a car for anything (Porto Cervo is however only 5 minutes away). Even the private beach is too far out to be reached by walking
(2) In our bathroom the wall mounted hairdryer had been taken out and there were ugly electrical cords hanging out. Very strange given the excellence of all the rest.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa

Address: Citta Baja Sardinia, 07020 Baia Sardinia, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rocca is a small jewel, situated 2km from Baja Sardinia,one of Sardinia's most prestigious towns, adjacent to the Costa Smeralda and just 6km from Porto Cervo. The Hotel contain 55 smart guest rooms and suites, which are very comfortably furnished in Mediterranean style.La Rocca has its own private, sandy beach, located just 800 metres away, where you can use the parasols and sun loungers free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Baia Sardinia
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.