We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff, Excellent Holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Gemella

Hotel Villa Gemella
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Gemella to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Gemella
Main road SS 125, 07021 Baia Sardinia, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff, Excellent Holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The negative reviews about this hotel should be removed because they don't sound anything like the hotel we stayed at! We had a great two weeks here, in spite of some initial iffy weather. I have mobility problems so we were given the room with disabed bathroom facilities. It was only a few steps from the pool and also had a covered area just outside with comfortable seats. I was studying an Italian course (still am) so I had my homework with me and Nicola's nephew, Andrea, gave me time to help whenever I asked. Nicola is a very kind and friendly person, He loaned us a car free for a day and at a very good rate for two more days. Without this we would not have got around the local area as the busses were rarely seen. We went on a boat trip and Nicola was even waiting for us when the boat returned to give us a lift to the hotel.

The room was perfectly adequate and comfortable. The two lady cleaners worked continually and the whole place was spotlessly clean. There was always hot water. The breakfast buffet was lovely. As a vegetarian, there was plenty I could eat. We did find eating out every night somewhat expensive, but the food was very good. This was our first visit to Sardinia so we did not know what to expect. Nicola and his staff helped to make this a very interesting and relaxing holiday.

Christine and Charlie, London UK

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This family run hotel is very clean and extremely well run, with an excellent continental breakfast and pool .The en-suite rooms are very clean, with air conditioning. Some rooms have balconies. The owner, Nic, is very friendly and helpful, and speaks english. Satff give helpful advice for day trips. A 5min walk to a beach and also to the family orientated centre of Baja Sardinia, where there are restraunts and bars. A car is nessessary to tour this region and the hotel has adequate parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Clean but needs some renovation (1970s chipping countertops & all). Way overpriced for what it is (but this is Costa Smeralda). The rotting fruit at breakfast needs replacement. The real kicker was not getting enough towels in our room in the first place then being accused by the owner of stealing them which ended in him yelling at us on more than one occasion. And he wanted to charge us for towels we never got! This is the worst of tourist-trap indifferent European service. Another example: internet access @25 euros/day!

However Andrea - one of the front desk employees - was an absolute gem of a person...as was just about everyone else in Sardinia! Recommendation to owner: let Andrea handle the customer service side. No one needs to be yelled at on their holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Hotel Villa Gemella website is quite misleading . They have taken some outstanding pictures, but the real facilities don't live up to them at all.

Worse though, is the owners and staff:
- We were told on the phone the hotel was walking distance (300 meters) from the beach, when in reality it is over a kilometer.
- We were a large group, hence last April we had booked 3 rooms for a long weekend in July. They even take a deposit to make a reservation! But when we finally arrived, they only had 2 rooms for us and had to send part of the group to a sister hotel. Not only they did the booking mistake, but did not even apologize for it!
- I was sharing a triple room with other two friends and one day we only found towels for 2. When we called to ask for a third set of towels the hotel owner/manager refused to send it, saying we should already have a thir set in the room and that we were just trying to get a fourth one. So that night one of us dried up with a face towel! Then day of check out the hotel manager wanted to charge us for having 'stolen' the third set of towel which was never found in our room.

At 150 euro per night (double) without even having enough hote water to take a shower, I would definitely not a reccommend the place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The positives: sardegna ruggedly gorgeous (this makes up for a lot when staying "3-star"), hotel well located, rooms clean, intimate feel with rooms leading mainly to lovely swimming pool, nice breakfast selection, free parking, decent price for high season.

The negatives: tempermental / disorganized staff (confirm your reservation ahead of time, if you don't receive a set of towels for your room, let them know so that you are not charged, etc), guest can sometimes feel like they are bending to staff's will than the other way around, internet service expensive (e25/day), stingy on beach towels (wanted to charge us for fresh ones so we used the same ones 3 days in a row), beds hard (so if you prefer soft beds, you have back pain), hot water availability and quality of finishes inconsistent among the rooms (in our group, we had a variety of rooms).

Overall, a typical "3-star" experience, with a dash of tempermentalism, to make the experience authentically Italian :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Gemella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gemella

Address: Main road SS 125, 07021 Baia Sardinia, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Gemella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Gemella Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Gemella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.