We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in a Perfect Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palazzina 2, 25087 Salo, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Salo
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in a Perfect Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Villa Arcardio at the end of a two week trip to Italy. It was the perfect romantic getaway. The pool area is lovely, with a great view of Lake Garda. A very peaceful place to relax and enjoy. The restaurant was especially good. We liked the hotel and restaurant so much, we never went into town. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely return. It is a bit pricey, but well worth the expense.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

Villa Arcadio is undeniably a beautiful boutique hotel with fabulous views and delicious food. My husband and I were particularly looking forward to a relaxing couple of days away from everything and the hotel marketing proudly boasts of it's peaceful surroundings, elegant style and romantic setting.
Our room was small and simple with no view, but perfectly clean and comfortable however, our stay was spoilt by the constant screaming of 7 children under the age of 6, belonging to 4 separate families. They began by waking everyone in the hotel up early in the morning screaming and then screamed all day by the small pool.
When I mentioned to the manager that I was surprised by how many children there were in what is ostensibly promoted as a romantic adult retreat, she commented that it had never happened before (previous reviews would beg to differ). I suggested that perhaps they might have guessed that so many children were due to be staying by the number of cots and extra child beds requested in advance, but despite 48 hours of tantrums (from the children), we were not offered any form of recompense or explanation, which I was rather surprised about given the reputation and expense of the hotel.
I absolutely agree that couples with children ought to be able to enjoy beautiful hotels too, but I would suggest that this hotel managed guests' expectations a little better by referring to themselves as a family friendly hotel, rather than an exclusive romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tommy04, Proprietario at Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
I thank you for staying in our hotel for 2 nights. I'm sorry that your holiday was not as you expected. Hotel Villa Arcadio is not promoted as a hotel where children are not allowed. We have 2 family rooms and during the holiday months there could be some children.
I'm sorry that we didn't meet and talk together during your stay by us.

I wish you a nice autumn.

Kind regards
Jaana Nakari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

If not the best, one of the best holiday hotels we stayed in 30 years! One of the rare hotels in Europe owned by people who love what they do: running a hotel where guests feel welcome. A great location: a high class tasteful renovated monastery with a superb view over the Garda lake. Comfortable guest rooms, the restaurant offers a wide variety of excellent food and a beautiful wine list at still affordable prices. Sufficient beds and chairs around the swimming pool. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. No shouting kids or people 'occupying or reserving' places around the pool early in the morning. The professional staff has a high notion of service and combines discretion with a touch of personal friendliness. When you are looking for a holiday in an atmosphere of distinction and luxury, far away from mass tourism or noisy guests at a price which is in relation to very high quality, this is the place ...

Room Tip: Go for a superior room. The standard rooms are fine but do not offer that great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tommy04, Proprietario at Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Mr. Pieter K.,

I'm really pleased about Your review. It was very nice to have you here with us.
I wish you a very nice summer and I hope to welcome you again in our house.

Kind regards
Jaana Nakari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Small family run hotel on an exciting site overlooking the Salo bay at Lake Garda. With only 16 rooms it is a small hotel with high level of service. The eating experience was fabulous on the hotel's terraces, not only high quality food, fairly priced compared to other places around Garda but also good service provided by 2 staff and a maitre. Rooms are comfortable (our daughter sleept in our rom) with free Wifi, nice decoration.
The only weak point for the hotel was the quality of the beds. Although we are still young (40's) we felt that our backs suffered after 4 nights in the hotel.
We stayed there end of July 2011, with some disturbed weather and the water of the swimming pool seemed not to be heated so it was rather cold for the time of the year due to these weather conditions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tommy04, Proprietario at Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
I thank you for your positive feedback and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house.
I'm sad that you were not satisfied about our beds. They are produced by an renowned italian bed producer "Simmon's" and the model is "Beautyrest elite".

We are looking forward to meeting you and your family again by us and wish you a nice end of the summer.

Kind regards
Jaana Nakari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Wolfgang, Austria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Villa Arcadio is a beautiful and peaceful, small hotel in the south of lake Garda. Sitting on a hill, surrounded by olive trees, you can enjoy the great views over the lake from the restaurant or the pool area.
Jaana, the owner, and her staff are incredible friendly and helpful. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are exquisite - no need to go somewhere else.
Our room (a superior room) was nice and clean, big enough for a weekend stay, with a great view.
If you are looking for a boutique style, family run hotel with great service and attention to detail, try Villa Arcadio - you won`t be disappointed.
Thanks for a relaxing stay - we will be back soon ....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed there because of location and proximity to Monza for the Grand Prix this year. Jaana the owner is charming and is very much on hand in the running of the hotel. Our suite was outstanding, wonderful linen bedding and super soft towels. Sparkling clean everywhere. Beautiful views from our room #13 (sometimes there was a food smell from the kitchen below, but the food was so good it made up for it).
Lucca one of the staff was extremely helpful as where all the wait staff. Pool was freezing but refreshing.
Yes, we would go back and we are really fussy travellers.

The views from this Villa are beautiful...oh and the dogs are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This is a brilliant hotel. It's in a wonderful location overlooking Lake Garda and the view from the pool and terrace is spectacular. The staff are highly knowledgeable, friendly and service generally is top class. The food is wonderful and a lot seems to as fresh as can be, having been grown in the gardens. The hotel (a converted convent) has been renovated in a very tastful way so that rooms are modern and comfortable. The mangement/owners clearly pay great attention to detail and it shows. I would fully recommend it.

It's difficult to find any bad points but if I had to...it's not particularly cheap. Also, if you are a real sun worshipper, its position means the sun goes behind the hill it sits on quite early (530ish when were there in early Sept).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort

Address: Via Palazzina 2, 25087 Salo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Arcadio Hotel And Resort
Hotel Arcadio
Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort Salo, Italy - Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Arcadio Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.