We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vigna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vigna to your Saves list
Hotel Vigna
Lungolago Zanardelli 62, 25087 Salo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salo
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Lago room, well worth the extra money as we had our own terrace overlooking the lake. The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was good and served in a 'room with a view'. The owners and their staff were very friendly and helpful. Of an evening, we enjoyed returning to our hotel after dinner and having a drink in their outside seating area, watching people promenading past. A very relaxing way to finish the day. We would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Lake Garda.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
137
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As others have said, this is a great hotel in Salo.

It's cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in and, although this may sound odd, I was delighted to find an eco-policy on changing towels that was actually observed - that has never happened before and I really commend it. Both the room and the public areas are very well maintained and spotlessly clean.

The location couldn't be better, ideal for sitting on the balcony watching the boats come in and close to bars and restaurants.

Breakfast is excellent (and served until a very civilised 11 am) with a wide choice of fruits (fresh and dried), cereals, bread, croissants & pastries, fruit juices, prosecco, yoghurt, eggs (freshly scrambled - better than I make at home!), cured meats, cheeses, a wide selection of teas, excellent coffee - and all served with the fabulous view of the lake.

The soundproofing in our lake-front room was perfect and we didn't hear a thing once we'd shut the balcony door in the evening. The air-con is also one of the quietest we've experienced - and it was essential as Salo seemed to be experiening an unseasonal heatwave last week.

Finally, when I emailed to ask for a taxi recommendation from Verona airport it was all arranged for us - five star service from a five star hotel.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: We loved our lake-view room and would recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What can I say other than a perfect location and the most unbelievable welcome from Roberta and Filippo which extended down to their staff. Can't fault anything at all, nothing was too much trouble with the owners going out of their way to please. Without doubt, highly recommended! You will not find a better place to stay in Salo.

Room Tip: As everyone has said, the lake view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The owners and all of the staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to help; we have rarely experienced this quality of service, and were made to feel very welcome. The room was spacious, very comfortable and well appointed with good views from the balcony. Breakfast was good with a wide selection. Position was excellent - just a few metres from the lake steamer landing, and 2 minutes from the centre of town; good restaurants are on the doorstep. Easy to get round the lake on the steamers, and only an hour or so from Bergamo airport. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the spacious Superior Rooms with balcony and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic reception and extremely helpful owners ...
Lovely breakfast room with lake views.
Great stay for 3 nights ....
Will look forward to our return !

Enjoy your stay as much as we did and you'll take home some happy memories!!
Cannot recommend it highly enough !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revel, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just spent a week staying at the Hotel Vigna. The hotel has to be one of the friendliest, best run hotels we have stayed at anywhere in the world. It is delightfully positioned on the edge of Lake Garda, with Salo and its restaurants on your doorstep. Travel to other locations on the lake and adjacent cities was very easy.
The hotel is immaculate and our room was spacious and inviting.
From the moment we arrived to when we left we found our hosts and their staff friendly and very helpful, making our stay even more enjoyable.
If you are visiting Lake Garda or its environs we would have no hesitation in recommending the Vigna as a 'must-stay' hotel. For sure we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Salo, Hotel Vigna, and the delightful Roberta, we fell in love with them all. Salo because of its enviable position on Lake Garda and its pristine appearance, Hotel Vigna for its ambience and consistently helpful service, and Roberta and Philipo who could not do enough to help you.

Room Tip: Much has been said about the rooms with a view over the Lake. We took a contrary view and opted for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vigna

Address: Lungolago Zanardelli 62, 25087 Salo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the banks of the gulf of the most picturesque lake, Lake Garda, and surrounded by the splendid morainic hills, Hotel Vigna is located in Salò, a town rich in history and an illustrious past. Inserted in the marvellous setting of the gulf, hotel vigna is located on the quiet and elegant "lungolago" promenade The structure, dating back to the mid 1900s, has been completely renovated in order to offer a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere, complete with impeccable service and “Family Feeling Management” which the Bassetti family, proprietors of the hotel for three generations, has sought to maintain. The hotel has ample common areas, a breakfast room with a splendid lake view, and solarium and terrace where the colours of the lake and the sweet climate can be enjoyed.The rooms of the hotel, newly renovated, are equipped with modern comforts to stimulate serenity and enjoyment: from the most colourful to the more classic in style, they allow their guests to experience an absolutely relaxing getaway.The Bassetti family awaits your visit in order to offer you a getaway rich with serenity, culture and "RELAXATION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vigna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigna Hotel Salò
Hotel Vigna Salo, Italy - Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vigna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.