We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing best place I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta Cusmano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tenuta Cusmano to your Saves list
Tenuta Cusmano
Via Anagnina, 20, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Hayes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amazing best place I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I am a frequent traveller and I can honestly say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. It is a shame we could only stay one night before we went home.
As soon as you try in the place is amazing it has ten bedrooms and the views and gardens are breathtaking.
We met Maurizo who was such a lovely man and was so helpful with information of the area. Breakfast was lovely freshly squeezed orange juice warm crosiants fruit, hams cheeses and home made cakes.
They hotel is just the perfect size to have the personal touch, thank you very much for a lovely stay hope to visit you again until next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    8
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
56
88
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We drove up to the Cusmano's country home villa on April 11 and were greeted by an amazing view. The resort sits prominently up some elevation to afford a commanding overview of the countryside in one direction, and two towns further up the hills. The grounds were very well kept, the grape vines were picturesque, the colors splendid. A 10/10 view of Italian beauty. Maurizo, the son of the estate's patriarch, was our host, and he treated us like royalty through our 3-night stay. Our room was wonderful, with a very large terrace and panoramic view. From what we could tell, all the rooms on our floor had private sections of this wonderful terrace. We were very impressed by the building. Extremely well constructed, fine woodwork, solid doors, lovely framing, working window and door shutters... everything was top quality. Maurizo was extremely helpful getting us oriented on transportation, making arrangements, etc. We took a cab to the subway station to get into Rome, where we rented a scooter for our stay. The scooter was a great way to get around Rome, explore the nearby villages, and get home at night to Tenuta Cusmano Villa. The breakfasts were excellent, including some wonderful freshly baked croissants every morning. They were the best croissants we've ever had. Overall, the Tenuta Cusmano Villa was everything we'd hoped, and more. Look at the photos on the Tenuta Cusmano Villa website. It is that beautiful in person. We’ll be back!

Dave & Sabrina, Boston MA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a night in April. The location is BEAUTIFUL. Views across the valley with the Castelli hills off to the left and Rome down to the right. Maurizio, the owner, was very friendly, attentive and rightly proud of the quality of the villa and the grounds.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony but the ground floor one is the only one without a view. Best one is the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beautiful room on an even more beautiful property. The villa is situated on a quiet vineyard with rolling hills and the lights of Rome sparkling in the distance. It's the perfect spot for a walk or glass of wine on the wrap-around balcony. Tenuta Cusmano could be impressive on its own but the real treat is the owner, Maurizo. He was warm, welcoming, and sincere. He gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and even got us New Years Eve reservations just hours before. If you are visiting the region we would highly recommend staying at Tenta Cusmano, just be prepared to begin plotting ways to stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We traveled to Italy in October. After our long flight from Philadelphia, we arrived at Tenuta Cusmano and felt like we stepped into a piece of heaven! We arrived very early - many hours before our check-in. Maurizio warmly greeted us and offered us a delicious bottle of wine and escorted us outside where we sat and enjoyed the view of Castelli Romani. The views from the property are absolutely breathtaking! We felt like we were in a movie.

Our rooms were magnificent with beautiful, spacious balconies overlooking the grounds. The rooms were also very spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The entire facility is immaculate!

Breakfast was included and delicious!

We rented a car so we could enjoy the entire area. However, I would not drive to Rome again from Castelli Romani - it is not an easy drive and very easy to get lost. Do yourself a favor and take the train to Rome.

My husband and I are in our late 40's and have had the pleasure of traveling a good bit. Tenuta Cusmano is definitely one of our top 3 Inn's and we cannot wait to return! We cannot say enough good things about Tenuta Cusmano and the owners!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Tenuta Cusmano was everything I had hoped for - and more. The setting is idyllic - surrounded by vineyards on a hilltop offering fabulous views of Rome in the distance. The villa grounds are equally beautiful - large perennial borders overflowing with colour, majestic umbrella pines and a stunning infinity pool. My room was tastefully decorated, with a well-appointed bathroom and charming terrace overlooking the vineyards. Add to all this, a very warm welcome from Maurizio, whose passion and love for Tenuta Cusmano is reflected in the attention to detail and wealth of information that he shares with all those fortunate enough to stay here. Meraviglioso!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A wonderful experience ! The room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. We arrived in the late afternoon after a very exhausting week in Rome, and were very pleasantly surprised to find that the fridge was filled with cold water, beer, soft drinks, ... And better was yet to come. The minute you walk into the garden, from under the shady pine trees, you stand face to face with an astonishing view over Rome in the distance and the vast vineyards of the Cusmano family. Moreover, there is a nice pool with enough places to sit and relax in the quiet and peaceful surroundings. The only thing that you hear is the sound of crickets. You hope you never have to leave again... But the absolute best of all is the hospitality and enthousiasm of the staff, especially the host, Maurizio. Already when you arrive, you couldn't feel more welcome. The very first thing you receive is his mobile phone number (in case you have any questions at the moment he is not there) !! Next is a handmate map of Grottaferrata and Frascati with an indication of the nicest restaurants in the neighbourhood and their specialities (if you like Maurizio even checks in advance if there are free tables and if so, yours will be reserved upon arrival, with all the benefits that this entails). If you want some information about a trip to Tivoli, to Frascati, ... or you would like to taste the Cusmano wines, ... or you would like your breakfast earlier than forseen, ... just ask Maurizio. He simply loves to help you in every possible way. So, we can only recommend Tenuta Cusmano to everyone who wants to spend a carefree holiday near Rome. A very big thank you to Maurizio, Sonia and everybody else at Tenuta Cusmano. You did everything to give us a perfect holiday. We'd love to return some day, preferably during spring when your lovely garden will be at its most beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta Cusmano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Cusmano

Address: Via Anagnina, 20, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Grottaferrata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tenuta Cusmano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Cusmano Italy/Grottaferrata, Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta Cusmano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.