We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you want experience history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Villa Grazioli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Villa Grazioli to your Saves list
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Umberto Pavoni 19, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay here if you want experience history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my second stay at Park Hotel Villa Grazioli and it gets better with each visit. The staff is very accommodating. I was booked in a room in the main villa on the second floor. My 83 year old mother was traveling with me and the elevator was not operational. They opened up a room, at a reasonable rate, in the recently remodeled stables on the first floor for her. She loved it!
I cannot say enough about this hotel. You are surrounded by so much history and the staff will happily give you an extensive tour and explain the history of the villa.
I will be booking another stay next year and the year after (even though we have a family apt in Rome I could stay in).

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    105
    42
    15
    14
See reviews for
52
156
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely hotel, great location and really helpful staff. But, staying in the main building surrounded by noisy bankers, followed by even more outrageous Swedish lawyers meant that we lost 3 nights' sleep in our 6 night stay. Apologies and compensation from the hotel were very welcome but there is an issue with conference guests outnumbering normal guests. Noise funnels up through the magnificent halls and stairs, not helped by running down corridors in the early hours.
So my advice is: check if there are any conferences/weddings on during your stay and make your own mind up - pre warned is only fair. Staying in the annexes MAY help. The business model for this hotel should really be that large events book the whole hotel, not mixing with people who want some peace or indeed need to sleep before 5am.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This hotel was very nice. The room we stayed in was not in the main villa, but was attached through a tunnel- very cool. The villa itself is rich in history and absolutely beautiful. The room we had was very clean, big, and offered free wifi. We ate dinner at the restaurant which had a gorgeous view of Rome, and amazingly delicious food. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We think we were the only guests mid week in March - with its great frescoes it was fantastic to stay here and be able to wander around peacefully taking in the art . We enjoyed a glass of Frascarti wine and were then given the bottle by the friendly bar man to avoid it going in the ragu! As the cost of our night in a classy room was on 56 euros this hotel was fantastic value!

Room Tip: Main villa rooms on 2nd floor have views and are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

First, I want to emphasize that if you're looking for perfection in a hotel, this isn't it. The building is a 16th century villa, sympathetically restored & converted to a hotel. There were many laws that got in the way and so it's quirky and not always quite what one might expect from a 4* hotel.

It's just outside Frascati. You take the free shuttle to the station & then the train to Rome Termini station, an hour in all. So, if you're only interested in seeing Rome, this may not be the place for you. We quite enjoyed the train ride every day, although there is a long walk (around 300m!) from the end of platform 18, where it usually stops, to the main concourse. We just took this all in our stride as part of a little adventure.

However, staying in what is essentially a work of art in itself, for us, more than made up for any shorctomings. Sitting in one of the huge lounges on Xmas morning, drinking coffee & reading... every now and again you look around, look up at the original frescoes on the ceiling.. and still can't quite believe where you are, as you settle further into the comfortable settee. There are views over Roma - from our room you could just make out St Peter's, even though it's the other side of the Tevere. Some of the sunsets, as Rome's lights came on, were stunning.

The restaurant: A rather limited menu but what's there is well-chosen and superb. Even the cheapest wines on the list were very good (a red Frascati!). Service is excellent, knowledgeable and sensitive - friendly or not, as you wish. Breakfast is good & abundant. Not outstanding but more than adequate &, given the place, good value for money. A 20 minute stroll gets you to old Frascati - it's worth a wander around...and check out the market you'll pass on the way, especially for cheese & salumi! The truffle-infused string of minisalumi I bought were incredible. In the centre of Frascati, for some real "local colour", seek out the Osteria Grappolo D'Oro. Order the porchetta - best we've had in Italy :) Don't let the look of the place put you off - and don't worry, the Padrona speaks English.

Back at the hotel...The rooms in the main building are adequate, the beds very comfortable, the air conditioning functional (for both heating and cooling) albeit, as in so many Italian hotels, not silent. Even the minibar prices are reasonable! The bathroom in our room was spacious although the shower was a little small in one dimension - but a discussion with the management means that they are now aware of this and will, in time, rectify it. Constructive criticism - and praise where due - is useful.

Lastly, the staff: helpful to a turn, mostly very efficient (in winter when there are very few guests, staffing is reduced & so efficiency goes down a little. Given the winter rates, this is not a criticism, just a heads-up). Our thanks to the staff, from the Direttore down, for making our stay a very pleasant one. Quirky, wonderful, imperfect, a bit magical. We have recommended this hotel to many of our friends and family and we ourselves will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Higher rooms in the main building have a better view. The rooms in the two newer buildings have litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This is a hotel situated in an old summer mansion dating back to 1600 hundred. It is constructed of stone with two adjacent buildings added to the hotel. We had booked a suite for two days in the main building. The bathroom was small with space for just one person at the time. It looked somewhat shabby (see picture). The sleeping rom and the living room was at first glimpse simple but OK, but when you looked around it was hard to avoid recognizing poor maintenance work (see pictures). The room was much too cold for us (60 years of age), but we were told that the heating could not be turned on before 7 pm. I.e. in the winter time, bring with you warm clothes if you stay in this hotel. The TV in the suite’s living room did not work. We were told that it had been out of order for some time. Our request for replacement was turned down. It should be added that the internet connection was pretty slow. When we asked for a just cup of coffee one morning at 6.45 (only tea available in the suite), the servant did not actually cheer us up to put it politely.

Adding to the misery, upon arrival we were told to return to Rome and a hotel with identical name there. The receptionist - not smiling (overworked?) - told us we had no reservation at the Park Hotel despite the fact that we had booked the stay directly with the hotel. As we refused to leave, the receptionist found out that they had entered first name as last name in their computer. Lession: bring with you a written document that you have made a reservation.

The hotel is obviously mostly (?) used for different meetings and events, and the hotel must have had bad experience with some guests: Upon check in, a note in the room said that the hotel might call the police (!) if the guests did not follow the rules of the hotel. We have been staying in hotels all over the world, but it is the first time we have been given a note threatening with police. When that it said, we attended a wedding during our stay. That was organized nicely.

A tip. If you arrive at Rome’s international airport, you should either ask the hotel to pick you up with a limousine (€75) or negotiate taxi price before driving to the hotel. Two of our friends took a taxi from the airport (about 40 km away) and was charged 150 € for the trip, the double of what a limousine pick up costs.

In conclusion: This is perhaps an OK hotel in the summer when you may want to spend your time outside away from Rome's heat. But stay away from this hotel in the cold season.

Room Tip: Avoid suites. They are probably not worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We stayed here in February of 2014. Just by chance we booked this and what an amazing surprise. Make sure to get good directions and use the train very convenient, and a great property to explore. The staff was very nice and we had a great time walking around the property. Just a hidden gem, perfect to relax at after a busy day in Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed out of the main hotel and it was a wonderful stroll to breakfast every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Villa Grazioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Villa Grazioli

Address: Via Umberto Pavoni 19, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Grottaferrata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Villa Grazioli 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Grazioli was built in the 16th century by a Cardinal and it is situated on a hill overlooking the ancient city of Rome and surrounded by a historical garden . Masterpiece of the 16th century art, history and culture where guests can experience the typical atmosphere of an old aristocratic Villa rich in art, though enjoying the comfort and technology of a modern hotel.The hotel has 60 rooms, an outdoor swimming pool wrapped in nature, 5 meeting rooms and indoor and outdoor areas ideal for wedding reception.The Acquaviva Restaurant has an enchanting hanging garden with a view over Rome, and offers guests elaborated specialties of the Mediterranean cuisine. A free shuttle service to the nearest train station “Frascati” is available every our, to reach Rome by train in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hotel Villa Grazioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Grazioli
Park Hotel Grottaferrata
Villa Grazioli
Parkhotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli Italy/Grottaferrata, Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Villa Grazioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.