We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Villa Grazioli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Villa Grazioli to your Saves list
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Umberto Pavoni 19, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had my Wedding Reception at the Villa G in September 2003 and since then my husband and I have returned every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the Villa G. It started with a long weekend celebration and every year we would have to tear ourselves away promising we would stay an extra day the next year(currently at 8 days!). A few friends joined us one year and now they love it too and we can't get rid of them currently travel with 9 people! The Villa Grazioli is for us a little bit of paradise, we love the stunning 14th century villa loaded with history and art. The hotel is made up of 3 buildings situated in lovely gardens Main Villa, Paggeria & Limonaia. The Villa was lovingly restored by the Ceribali family with as many of the frescoes as possible revived without losing the authenticity of the original art. The hotel common areas are furnished comfortably and sympathically to maintain the feeling of a grand Villa. All the bedrooms I've stayed in over the years have been very comfortable and beautifully apportioned - and they have been refurbishing the rooms over the past 2 years, bit by bit to bringing them up to date, with wonderful bathrooms and a shower my husband has to drag me out of. The hotel is situated on a height overlooking Rome and to the right of Frascati so the views are absolutely stunning especially as the sun goes down and the lights of Rome and the surrounding Castelli Romani come on.... beautiful. There is a wonderful pool which also has a children paddling pool, situated in a wonderful garden and again with wonderful views overlooking Rome and the sea in the distance. The Buffet breakfast is fantastic and sets you up for the day with everything from cereals, all kinds of pastries, Breads, fruit, juices and hot Bacon, Eggs, Sausages etc. The Hotel Restaurant is also excellent, though not cheap, but the quality of food has always been consistently good and the delicious. There is a shuttle service that connects the hotel to the train station at Frascati and trains run about every half hour into Rome Termini, so really convenient to stay at Villa Grazioli and venture into Rome whenever you want - train fare is only 1Euro80 return. Frascati the town where Villa G is located has an abundance of great restaurants so you'll never be short of somewhere good to eat. But the best bit about the Villa Grazioli are the staff who I've come to know over the years and they are to a man & woman, professional, efficient, incredibly friendly, helpful in the extreme, making every visit to the Villa G a memorable one. So if you're looking for something just a little bit different that gives you the option of enjoying Rome, but also allows you to enjoy the Castelli Romani, get some respite from the searing heat of Rome, enjoy wonderful views, relaxed evenings in some great restaurants, or an afternoon by a wonderful pool then the Villa Grazioli is for you. Already counting the days to our next visit in 2 weeks!

Room Tip: Love the Lemonaia ground floor - as you can open the door unto the garden where you can sit, relax a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    105
    42
    15
    14
See reviews for
52
156
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We arrived in the evening before our flight home from Ciampino, and we're looking forward to a lovely last evening in Italy. Rather than staying in Rome, the drive to the airport took about 15 minutes only.

There is no doubt that the villa is stunning. The surrounding gardens are well maintained, and the public areas on the ground floor of the villa are simply wonderful, and they incorporated the painted ceilings very well into the classical decor. Reception was quashed into a corner in the hall, and after a rather perfunctory check in, we were left to drag our cases to the outbuilding here our room was. Apart from the Etro toiletries in the bathroom, the room was disappointing. Decor was dated, mould in the bathroom, beds very saggy.

The restaurant in the basement looked dead, and although there were a few diners out on the terrace, it all looked a bit sedate and very, very expensive. We ate very well in town for the price of one of their entrees.

I don't regret staying here, because the building is so beautiful, but be prepared that you won't actually stay in it but in what appeared to be the servants quarter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hotel is clean, staff are very friendly and helpful, nice swimming pool area though could do with more sun lounges and shaded areas, easy to get to from the nearest town and is a shuttle bus provided to get into town tho the last one back to hotel is 10.30 at night which is quite early for Italy! would recommend for families, couples etc, it's fairly quiet so if you wanted more lively atmosphere wouldn't be ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Villa is a great building near Frascati. Well furnished and comfortable, with limits. Rooms are small, suites are good. Service in July was under ordinary levels expected for the Small Leading Hotel affiliation. Dinner in the garden was spectacular (see photo), overlooking Rome. We were there on a weekend where they closed the pool for a publicity photo shoot which could have been done at a different time, like morning, or mid week. The pool attendant just said - pool closed - you have to leave. Villa Graziola will not satisfy the traveler expecting 5 star service. It's a building that kinda offers "take it or leave it" Stay there if you get a good rate. Pretend you know the Cardinals from an earlier century.

Room Tip: Aim for a suite upgrade. Stay in the Villa. Enjoy the garden dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent two nights here following a cruise in the Western Mediterranean. The hotel is a converted villa, originally built as a hilltop hideaway for a Cardinal hoping to escape the heat and congestion of Rome. It was perfect! Rome in the heat of August is hard to endure, but this hilltop location catches the breeze off the Tyrrhenian Sea and is pleasant on the hottest days. We traveled from Civitavecchia to Frescati by train and were treated like old friends by the staff. You can go up on the roof and watch a soccer game in the village below or just admire the fantastic views of Rome lit up at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I visited the Villa recently to attend a party arranged by my company, all I can say is oh lucky me. The Villa it self is stunning and for me displays everything I love about Italy, history, excellent food, stunning setting, and fantastic Italian hospitality. My evening was magical and I urge you to visit Grazioli. I will certainly be going back for a longer visit. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: As I did not stay the night I cannot rate the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Lovely situated hotel close to Rome, on a hill, almost 400 metres over sea level. Hotel building from end of 1580. Lovely with charm.
Really nice people in reception, friendly and also good englishspoken.
Stayed in the main building. Booked through SLH homepage.
Clean and nice rooms, but really bad beds, stone hard!
The view from the room is breathtaking, you see all of Rome.
Breakfast really low, a conference group of about 60 people had breakfast just before 8 AM and the "buffet" was almost empty. Asked for fried or boiled eggs (the cantines were empty and the scrambled eggs probably tasted good an hour ago when they were freshly made)and got the answer that there are some scrambled but the rest was just empty.
So for the view a tiptop, but the beds and breakfast very low.
The hotel runs a pool area, very beatyful in a garden, clean and proper, and also a small shop, expensive.

Room Tip: If you wish a room with a view, book a room in the main bulding. If you want a modern room book at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Villa Grazioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Villa Grazioli

Address: Via Umberto Pavoni 19, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Grottaferrata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Villa Grazioli 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Grazioli was built in the 16th century by a Cardinal and it is situated on a hill overlooking the ancient city of Rome and surrounded by a historical garden . Masterpiece of the 16th century art, history and culture where guests can experience the typical atmosphere of an old aristocratic Villa rich in art, though enjoying the comfort and technology of a modern hotel.The hotel has 60 rooms, an outdoor swimming pool wrapped in nature, 5 meeting rooms and indoor and outdoor areas ideal for wedding reception.The Acquaviva Restaurant has an enchanting hanging garden with a view over Rome, and offers guests elaborated specialties of the Mediterranean cuisine. A free shuttle service to the nearest train station “Frascati” is available every our, to reach Rome by train in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Hotel Villa Grazioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Grazioli
Park Hotel Grottaferrata
Villa Grazioli
Parkhotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli Italy/Grottaferrata, Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Villa Grazioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.