We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious and ridiculous” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890

Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890
11 Corso Sant' Agata, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
+39 0815330226
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $0 - $189
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pretentious and ridiculous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

No idea why this restaurant has any Michelin stars never mind two. It was just not very good. Bizarre and food combinations not very well cooked and so dreadfully expensive, it's a joke. We had three courses not much wine and it was over 200 euros a head. The best things about the meal were the bread and their own olive oil, and the people watching - a lot of very wealthy diners who had had a lot of surgery, not all of it successful. All of which is why we have given the restaurant two stars not one. And frankly, we don't wish the chef/owner to come and chat to us while we're having dinner, nor do we wish to have a tour of your wine cellar unless you're going to offer us a tasting. We left feeling as if we had been mugged. The following night we ate at Lo Stuzzichino which is close by. It was a much, much better experience both in terms of atmosphere and food. Interestingly, when we chatted to the owner we found that the locals don't have a very high opinion of Don Alfonso at all. A tourist trap then, and one that we are very sorry we fell into.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    54
    22
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a table at Don Alfonso as the little old Italian lady who picked us up from Naples airport and took us to our lovely hotel in Sant'Agata pointed to it on our way. We assumed she meant we had to go there and we are so glad we did. The service was out of this world and the food - beautiful! The owners were so lovely and went around each table through out the night to speak to their guests which I thought was a lovely touch. We were lucky to also get a tour of the wine cellars after our meal so we learnt a little more about the family and how they run their day to day lives with the restaurant. Its a little pricy but well worth the visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Don Alfonso is a wonderful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

With very heavy rain for 3 days in early September (locals delighted to see rain, Irish not so delighted) we decided to have a long leisurely lunch with good food and service at this restaurant and that is exactly what we got.

Everything that has been said before about quality of food, presentation and service is correct.

We finished our wine in the garden as weather had improved and had a look around the cookery school.

Going to Don Alfonso is more than just about the food it is the whole setting and personalities of owners and staff.

The owner and her son (?) came to speak to us and offered a visit to wine cellar.

I am sorry we weren’t staying here instead of where we were staying - but that’s another story.

This place deserves all the accolades it gets. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and one of the highlights of our trip around southern Italy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cost almost as much as all our other meals put together but certainly worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant offers a unique dinning experience. The warmth and friendliness of the owners and staff, are only matched by the exquisite sypmpony of flavours which make up the various courses on offer. There is no cheap option here, but the cost was well worth it in our opinion as without doubt our meal at the Don Alfonso was the highlight of a memorable and enjoyable trip to Sant Agata

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Expensive and Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Service was 100%. Food quality, taste, texture and appearance was 100%. Attention from the owners and chef was faultless. But then its time to pay the piper. The bill was correspondingly 100% big. Still, not one to visit every week .... :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890 also viewed

Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense
 
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.