We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Romita

Save Saved
You added Villa Romita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Romita
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Verde 9, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I stayed here with my Mother and Aunt for 1 week in June and we were thrilled with the hotel and the location. The Villa is basic but clean and comfortable with a nice rustic feel. Initially I was disapointed with our room as it had no balcony but I quickly overcame this as we found that there was an emormous roof top terrace just a few steps from our room. Breakfast was fine, not amazing, but dinner was very good compared with other half board hotels. We eat at the hotel 4 evenings and went to Sorrento and Saint Agata to eat the other 3 nights. Recommend Los Stuzzichinos in St Agata, past the Church, also the Forreigners club and Restaurant 'o Parrucchiano in Sorrento - great food and atmostphere.
We really enjoyed the location of the hotel and felt we were getting the best of both worlds being set up in the hills near a pretty village and also 15/20 mins drive from Sorrento. We walked down 2 mornings which was really lovely. The courtesy bus worked really well for us and we also got the local buses on a few occasions which were easy to use - just be sure to get a ticket BEFORE you wait for the bus - either at the hotel reception or at newsagents.
One piece of advice, if you're traveling from Ireland and haven't booked yet, deals seem to be much better from belfast rather than Dublin. I found out that a couple who traveled from belfast paid half what we did!! athough, in saying that, it didn't spoil my mood, loved every second of this holiday, great hotel, location, food, the most beautiful views and weather....highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Villa Romita was just as we had expected from the other reviews. The rooms were very basic but clean and we had a wonderful view from our balcony. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Although we were half board we only had dinner twice over the course of a week - we feel that there are so many other fab places to eat in Sorrento that we didn't want to miss out(half board had been our only option). There is a lovely pizzeria in Sant Agata called Mimi's which was amazingly cheap and the most wonderful pasta and pizza. Also order wine by the carafe and its very good and so reasonable. If you are a fooie, there is a renowned Michelin star restaurant in St Agata called Don Alfonso which is supposed to be amazing. We didn't go as we had already been, earlier in the week, to a Michelin star r'ant in Sorrento called Al Buco which it fabulous.St Agata is generally a nice wee village with excellent value in authentic Italian food, gorgeous icecream and very cheap to have drinks, coffees etc. If you do tire of the breakfast at the hotel, I would recommend going to the village for coffee and croissants, yum!
We travelled down into Sorrento alot - as we had been there before we felt a bit disappointed that our villa was so far out. We has numerous fiascos with waiting for buses for what seemed like far too long. They are fairly unreliable and the coutesy bus is too infrequent to plan your day around. I didn't feel that it was walking distance even though we do walk alot - in the heat it would be quite a trek.
All in all it was a great holiday and Villa Romita is a tranquil, quaint release from the business of Sorrento but if you like being near lots of shops, restaurants, bars and liveliness I would suggest staying somewhere closer to Sorrento

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

As already mentioned in other reviews, the villa is linked to the Grand Hotel Hermitage. We stayed half board, and although the breakfast is just OK - dinner is great value. Salad Bar, pasta, main course and dessert. " choices for each course, and if you don't like anything - just ask for something else - the staff were very accomodating. In fact there were the best !!

The only thing I did'nt like was that the local bus service is not very reliable. Buses from Positan and Amalfi tended to be overly full, which could mean a long wait. This was also problematic on a Sunday when the hotel service to Sorrento does not operate.

Sant Agata is a nice little village, do eat lunch there. Very cheap. There is alittle pizza place just as you enter the village from the Villa laneway. Definitely the best pizza I've ever had.

Views from the hotel are beautiful - do try the walk into Sorrento via the path. 20 minutes into Sorrento. Don't try walking back up though - very very steep.


Rooms are nothing special but very clean and do have Sky. Fresh towels etc every day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Only a pleasant tree-lined 50 yard stroll from, & operated by the 4 star Grand Hotel Hermitage, which is just down the hill from the center of Sant' Agata. This small villa is a gem of a place to stay. We had room #10 with a large wrap-around balcony overlooking the entire town of Sorrento, The Med & back across the mountain valley towards Positano. One of the most strikingly beautiful views I've ever had from a hotel room. Large room with big recently remodeled bath. Perfect. 60 Euros double with breakfast. Get room #11 as a 2nd choice. During season breakfast is served on the first floor of the Villa, which also has a small bar for evening cocktails, & a lovely outdoor seating area. Unfortunately, this will translate into lots of noise in the AM & PM, since these lovely old cement structures echo noise terribly. Off-season breakfast is taken in the main hotel dining room. Breakfast is fairly standard fare. OK, but nothing great, & would is truly monotnous after the 2nd day since nothing changes. It is also the only place in Italy where was saw powdered eggs every monring, which were horrible. The place is of better quality than to serve such. Internet access is available for 3 Euro's an hour & they provide you a laptop. They were also installing Sky TV for English language stations while we were there, & the front desk staff speaks fluent English if that is important to you. The main hotel also offers truly stunning views from every public room, & has a fantastic deck & pool area for evening drinks to take in the sunset of The Med & Sorrento, which is only a 15 minute drive away. If you visit the area be sure to drive down to Marina Cantone which is right on sea, after passing through Nerano. Enjoy a great meal of fresh caught seafood at 1 of several restaurants. We have enjoyed Capitano's on several prior visits.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

The Villa Romita is a separate building but really a part of the Grand Hotel Hermitage. There is a short walk up a steady incline, not very steep, from reception up to the Villa Romita. The hotel's 3 friendly setters are always nearby when you are walking. We had 3 rooms for 6 people for three days. The rooms are simply furnished, but roomy, comfortable and clean. We had our own rented van and were able to park right next to the Villa Romita.

The reception staff are very professional, helpful, and speak good English. The setting is very peaceful and relaxing, with wonderful views over Sorrento and the Bay of Naples from the rooms' balconies and the hotel pool terrace. The hotel is very convenient as a base to visit Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. The private walk to the town of Sant'Agata is very pleasant, as is the town itself. It has a couple of hotels, shops, and several restaurants. Our last night we enjoyed a great meal at a very reasonable price at Lo Stuzzichino, a family-run restaurant in town.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and views
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

I stayed at the Villa Romita with my boyfriend after booking a late deal to Sorrento last year. Needless to say, as it was a late deal I felt slightly apprehensive as to the quality of the hotel. I need not have worried. The Villa Romita was just lovely. It is an old 18th/19th century villa that is annexed of from the adjacent Grand Hotel Hermitage. The Villa uses the facilities of the hotel - i.e. meals, swimming pool, reception etc. You can come and go between the two as you please.
The hotel staff were excellent - accommodating and genuinely helpful. One gentleman whom looked after the Villa Romita went out of his way to point out good spots to visit that were of the beaten track which locals enjoyed.
The nearby village of San Agata was accessible via a private pathway to the rear of the Villa, which was lined with lemon trees and passed a field with a little horse in it that loved the hotel/villa guests and the treats they brought him daily! Very idyllic. San Agata is beautiful and free from the tourist vibe of Sorrento - apart from other guests staying at the Romita and Grand Hotel Hermitage, we were the only tourists we saw. San Agata has many good cafes and ice cream shops, plenty of facilities to wile away the time over a nice afternoon.
The Villa was clean, tidy and comfortable and enjoyed a magnificent view over the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, which due to the elevated status of the property must be unparalleled in the area, especially in other hotels further down the hillside towards Sorrento. The distance from the Villa to the centre of Sorrento was the biggest drawback, some 10/20 minutes by bus; however, the distance is easily accommodated by a regular bus service passing the building and a private bus run by the hotel. We never felt like we were missing out.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food was simply excellent. It never slipped in standards once! Good variety and quality.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are returning in Summer 2009 with family and friends.
Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The view, food and staff.
  • Disliked — Distance from Sorrento.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

Had a pretty long drive to get to Sorrento, since we were coming from Acquappesa, down in Calabria, plus we stopped on the way to check out the ruins of Pompei.

As we get into Sorrento, the drive becomes nightmarish - seems like everybody is out to kill somebody. Having spent sometime on Sicily and in Calabria, it's rather strange, as the driving in Italy always get better as you progress up north. Anyhow, we followed our GPS, just to see it take us out of Sorrento and lead to a place where there is nothing. Ok, we looked at the map, drove a little further, seen some hotels - still no Villa Romita. Long story short, we drove around for 2 hours, until I gave up and stopped at the Hotel Hermitage, to ask for directions. Lo and behold - it's the same hotel. I would have never found it if not for that stop....

Anyhow, check in was very brief and we were taken to our room. Surprise, surprise - instead of the kingsize bed we were expecting, we get 2 singles. I went to reception to complain. They said they will take care of it. A couple of minutes later, an employee showed up - he pushed the beds together and put a blanket in between. We were pretty unhappy about that, so I went to reception again - they told me, that there is nothing they can do, since they don't have any other rooms, so it's up to us. At this stage, I wanted to get up and leave, but after having driven for so long, we just gave up.

The room itself was so so. The furniture was old, the bed was creaky (both were). The bathroom was clean.

The only thing that saved that room from being a disaster, was a balcony, with a view of the downstairs pool, restaurant patio, and beyond that - the best feature of the entire area - the bay and Napoli across it.

Had dinner downstairs - fairly cheap, great food, friendly service. The maitre d'hotel thinks he's an entertainer :)

In general, I probably would not stay there again. Probably there are better rooms, however I think there are better accommodations in town.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Very hard to find, as well as not getting what you pay for
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romita

Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Romita 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Romita Hotel Sant`Agata Sui Due Golfi
Romita Hotel Sorrento
Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Romita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.