We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Due Golfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Last October we stayed a week at this family run hotel and had a brilliant stay. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and the rooms were well furnished and clean. The view over Sorrento and accross the Bay Of Naples to Vesuvius was breathtaking and fully warranted the small surcharge for an ocean view room. The hotel is 20 minutes outside Sorrento but there is a regular courtesy bus from morning 'til night and public transport from the town centre stops right outside the hotel. We would not think of staying anywhere else if/when we return to Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask for a high, quiet, ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    119
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
236
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have visited the Due Golfi not once (as per the Tripadvisor re-review guidelines) but four times since our first review in 2010 including staying for the New Year 2013-2014.... and what a fantastic experience that was with views of the fireworks across the Bay of Naples and a true Italian celebration where we were the only British guests. So what made/makes the Due Golfi special... primarily the staff, most of whom have been there since our first visit, secondly the views which are fantastic and finally the food, which is inevitably delivered fresh and well presented (and the New Year menu was seven courses with probably 150 people sat down for the evening including locals). Don't visit the Due Golfi if you want to be in the centre of town, do visit if you want fabulous service and views and a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid Sept this year and it was fantastic. The views are breathtaking. The hotel staff are very helpful, friendly and will go out of their way to help with any sort of query. Ideally situated just above Sorrento with a free courtesy bus and also for the Amalfi coast. We did this journey on the local bus service and managed to get a front row seat, not for those of a nervous disposition, but the views along the coast are amazing. Would also recommend the cruise to Capri. Over all we had a fab time and will certainly be going back.
Trevor and Judy

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I were here in mid October as our wedding anniversary treat. The hotel and grounds were very well maintained and we were greeted with a friendly and efficient welcome. Our room was compact, but had everything we needed and was very clean and we'll maintained. Although on the rear corner of the building, our balcony overlooked the gardens and looked across the bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius. Everywhere in the hotel was clean and we'll maintained but the dining room lacked a little atmosphere and the menu was limited and for Italy, quite bland. The hotel had a courtesy bus which took you down to Sorrento town centre. Advance booking was required and it had set travel times. Once in Sorrento, you had many options for sight seeing and shopping. Everyone was very friendly throughout. Would we return? No. We'd go for something within walking distance of the town centre, but we wouldn't put anyone off from trying it.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was wonderful, we did not pay extra for a view but we sure got one. Our room was on the side with a perfect view of Mt Vesuvius. The hotel had a lot of private parties happening while we were there and you could not hear the people or music in our rooms. The staff was great, very knowledgeable and polite. The hotel has a shuttle down to Sorrento which we took a couple of times. The food was better than any other hotel we have ever stayed at in Italy. For dinner you can have a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian meals, never the same meal twice and very authentic. Our last night while we were at dinner staff surprised us by placing a bottle of Lemoncello in our room. Anytime we are in this region we will always stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a room with a view, ask for the rooms on the side facing Naples, the view is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I came to this hotel almost by accident from 23 October, 2013, leaving again on 1 Nov. 2013.

We are relative “oldies” and when we came we wanted to take a break, and also explore the places mentioned in movies from the 60’s that seemed so exotic…Amalfi, Capri, Naples etc. So on this basis we initially booked, not the GHDG, but a hotel in Amalfi, which was well reviewed in Tripadvisor. So we were all set. On reading more, we began to have more doubts about it and having booked via Booking.com, we cancelled. Hundreds of steps, awkward access, miles from anywhere else etc, etc.

My wife then came up with GHDG. Saying how it had really no bad reviews at all…apart from a few from some from years ago pre-refurbishment. So we re-booked.

We had no idea about what the area or coastline were like really, and so it was a big surprise when we discovered the cliffy coast line with hotels perched in unbelievable positions on top of them.

Our arrival was in the dark, so we knew nothing of this, till the next morning opening our window. Speak about scenery. Views perfectly amazing. But as we got to know the area, we realised that the terrain lends itself to hundreds of hotels etc having breathtaking views perched like Tibetan Monasteries on mountain cliffs. OK, so great view. Hotel itself…..full of cool, golden marble…..practical, yet very pleasant on the eye, leading through into the panoramic lounge area or below to the elegant dining room where the waiters drifted smoothly and smartly among the tables and guests.

All the nice things about the hotel, the rooms etc and public areas we found to be true, as were all the staff, so no need to repeat any of that….take it is as read all through this review.
The big issue we think is this, having read varying reviews about the hotel.

It depends on ---

1. Who you are / perhaps your age / whether you want an activity holiday / beach type holiday / leisurely holiday / base / quiet time or whatever.
2. Where you want to be, if you have not checked the location and read about the area.
3. What time of year you were visiting (high summer or Autumn such as we were), whether it was busy or not at the time.

It then can make it unfair to the hotel if it is not the sort of place you expected.

Sorrento is not Ibiza, nor I doubt will it ever be: beaches are negligible, because the cliffs drop into the water for the most part and it is for that reason that it is described as the most attractive coast-line in Europe…(a quote from elsewhere). So you can’t have both albeit that there are some small beaches here and there below….but access can be difficult…..there are few chances to walk out your hotel door and into the waves. So you can’t say, as it were, about GHDG - it is great as a Ski Hotel, pity it is not on the beach…!
We did not see any Funfairs, Waterparks, supermarkets. The area tends to offer its beauties, scenic trips or archaeology.
The hotel is up the hill behind Sorrento and has a great position. Sorrento is about 3 kms. below as the crow flies but about 8 kms. by the twisty-turny roads. So you don’t get the noise and bustle of Sorrento, but then you are not a quick walk from everything either.
The point has been made that it is near a main road (as so many of the hotels are, given the geography and access). The back is…but not right on it: it has its own grounds between. As someone commented, you can hear the traffic if the window is open…but we noted that it did not go on a lot into the evening and was quiet at night which is more than can be said for hotels situated within a resort….delivery lorries, dumpers, returning party-people at all hours of night….you are spared that at GHDG.
Also, on the front (sea) side of the hotel, one gets the echo of the jet-foil boats going off on their cruises: the bay is a natural amphitheatre, and so the big vehicle-carrying ferry was my alarm clock on several mornings ! But otherwise the place feels calm and peaceful.

Further, right outside the entrance gate is the Bus stop…buses are comfortable and going in various directions from that junction. You can go on lots of tours anyway, but, for 8 euros, you can hop on / off the pretty frequent buses all day with a day-pass, so long as you don’t worry too much about a precise timetable.
It became a joke looking at the local cars with their scraped doors and bumpers…..so hiring a car, unless you are an expert driver on these roads with their hair-raising drops and hair-pin bends is only for those with steel nerves and enough cash to pay a large excess on the insurance. !! Further, while driving you would have to watch the road like a hawk, so being able to enjoy the vistas would often not be easy for the driver.
Taxis are ridiculously expensive. So avoid if you possibly can. The hotel provides a free shuttle…many places do not. Some criticism was levelled that if one did not book the day before, one could not just turn up, even if there were seats free for any particular run Later we learned from the hotel, that booking the day before is not mandatory, merely advisory. Also, just as the shuttle does not run if there is no one to take, so it stands to reason that at peak times, one could squeeze in more round trips in the morning, when there was pressure. The coach has about 18 seats…the hotel has about 67 rooms /140 beds….so not everyone is suddenly going to want to rush, en masse, to the same destination all at the same time…..so being flexible about this need not be a big imposition on the hotel or the guests. The hotel is not offering an “on demand” / transfer service….so one has to be fair about what it does offer.

As regards being “nowhere” the hotel is on the edge of a very charming village – St. Agata. It is not a very touristic village although it does have hotels and restaurants and is a functioning living local place where the locals are getting on with their lives if one takes a walk.
Getting to St Agata is a game. The centre is about ½ mile away and as mentioned by previous guests, it is like playing dodgems with the traffic to get along the stretch. So, to make it, there are plenty of gateways and we watched the traffic and scuttled from one to the next….sometimes crossing over to take advantage of gaps on the other side. Once you round the corner where the I Quatro Venti restaurant is, you are nearly home and dry as a good pavement takes you the rest of the way into town. But it needs a bit of figuring out first !

St Agata has several reasonable restaurants.
We had booked bed with breakfast as we like to explore other eating places.
The first night one of us had the set dinner in the hotel (3 choices as set out by others) The food seemed good, if not exciting. So we thought this is not for us, even if the 3 choices changed each night…nor did we particularly go for the “Snack” menu. So off we went to other places in St. Agata. First we tried La Pergoletta next door. Food actually good, until we paid bill….we put down notes to cover it and were asked “How much change do you want back ?” The bill had been around 31 euros and we had put down 2 x 20 euro notes. So we said “Keep It” but the place went on our Black List ! Next night Mimi’s - food really nice and very well presented, waiters pleasant but not in your face or fawning. It became our favourite place.
Next the Stuzzichino. Very good reviews…..but when my wife asked just for soup, and me just a glass of wine along with some pasta… a cloud seem to move in over the waiters head…..so nice food - but blacklist again. Later the reception staff at GHDG defended the Stuzzichino when we were chatting about this…..so maybe we have been a bit tough on them….so don’t be put off by this comment of ours. We were not going to go near the Buenes Aires place, given that they locked in some ladies car and it looked a bit of a dive anyway. Then we tried the I Quatro Venti…..in a rather awkward position on the road, and not with a very cheerful front. Once inside we thought it looked very professional and pleasant, the waiter was very sensible and good and the food again excellent…..1/4 litre carafe of great local wine for 2.5 euros. So another Star. We did not try Don Alfonso’s as that seemed out of our league.
However, the big revelation was this: - towards the end, we started to use the hotel once again…..and at times there was not that much we might have raved about on the main menu. But we saw some of it being served and we thought “This is good stuff” and at a very good price if one compared. Then we saw that the Snack menu follows the pattern of a normal restaurant menu except, being in list form, it is not very obvious. So we found that we were able to put together really nice meals with various elements from the snack menu. We concluded that if one chose the set menu when it really suited OR put together a dinner from the various snack menu elements , one was getting excellent food at amazingly good value and quality….so it is worth close examination as we found out, rather late in the day. So our opinion of the GHDG restaurant went up very high towards the end of our stay. Our favourite remained Mimi’s. But to say the GHDG restaurant is a bit plain is not to give them a chance.
General.
In the hotel, we needed one or two things and the staff obliged.
Really we could not have asked for more from the hotel: we may not be able to go back ourselves…but we plan to twist the arms of our family to go. The furnishings are of good standard and solid. I was amused by the comment of one previous reviewer….who talked about the sliding door into the bathroom….using this to say something like “says it all”…meaning a sliding door is a shabby downmarket solution.
Being a reasonable hand at DIY in my time, I had noted that. Indeed some sliding doors I have come across run across a wall, flapping at the bottom and gaps around the frame – not here. The sliding doors at GHDG are pretty heavy duty, ran into the thickness of the wall and the leading edge into a groove in the frame on the latch side. That is not shoddy stuff: I thought that the people who installed it must have had some real headaches…it was so well designed and functional……so just a small thought on how things can be seen differently. So our thoughts in summary is that one should judge the hotel on what it is and who it can cater to….not to some different spec. that it is not able to meet for no fault of its own. We had a totally delightful stay: thanks to all of staff and the place itself.
PS, we haven't given a rating re fitness centre or spa as we did not use.

Room Tip: Choose the bay-side, for the panorama: have a small kettle for a tea or coffee so that you can wand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is very decent, however I do feel it didn't live up to the expectations and the reviews have been a bit too generous.
When we arrived the air-con was not working (it was a hot and humid day), we reported this to the reception who was supposed to turn it off but never did so we slept with the window open and the road outside the hotel was actually quite busy.
Then we wanted to use the swimming pool but there was a wedding reception so we were told we couldn't.
Two days later we wanted to stay in the bar, again we couldn't as they were holding an event of some sort and again we were told not to go there.
On the last day(after we checked out) we wanted to have a few drinks in the bar, there was no one to serve us and when we asked the receptionist she looked a bit annoyed and we waited for her to serve us a good 15 min and she was only talking to the cleaner!
Also, the seal in the shower cabin was damaged and every time you showered the bathroom got flooded, should have been picked up by the housekeeping.
The breakfasts, however, was very nice and plentiful.
The shuttle to the centre very good and the driver was really lovely.
It was a nice stay but I just feel that the customer services could be improved. I have stayed at hotel Prestige (the same area) and the service was flawless while this left me feeling a tiny bit disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Madame,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay.
I am very disappointed about the impression you got of our services.
I will personally look in to this and make sure that the customer’s needs come first.
I am sorry if your freedom was limited from the events we held in the hotel during the days of your stay, as we always try to meet the needs of all our guests in order to let all of them feel on the same level.
I thank you for your nice words about the breakfast, shuttle bus service and our driver.
We do hope to welcome you again in the near future so that you can get the opportunity to understand why so many reviewers wrote such nice words about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Due Golfi Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Due Golfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.