We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Due Golfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is very decent, however I do feel it didn't live up to the expectations and the reviews have been a bit too generous.
When we arrived the air-con was not working (it was a hot and humid day), we reported this to the reception who was supposed to turn it off but never did so we slept with the window open and the road outside the hotel was actually quite busy.
Then we wanted to use the swimming pool but there was a wedding reception so we were told we couldn't.
Two days later we wanted to stay in the bar, again we couldn't as they were holding an event of some sort and again we were told not to go there.
On the last day(after we checked out) we wanted to have a few drinks in the bar, there was no one to serve us and when we asked the receptionist she looked a bit annoyed and we waited for her to serve us a good 15 min and she was only talking to the cleaner!
Also, the seal in the shower cabin was damaged and every time you showered the bathroom got flooded, should have been picked up by the housekeeping.
The breakfasts, however, was very nice and plentiful.
The shuttle to the centre very good and the driver was really lovely.
It was a nice stay but I just feel that the customer services could be improved. I have stayed at hotel Prestige (the same area) and the service was flawless while this left me feeling a tiny bit disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Madame,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay.
I am very disappointed about the impression you got of our services.
I will personally look in to this and make sure that the customer’s needs come first.
I am sorry if your freedom was limited from the events we held in the hotel during the days of your stay, as we always try to meet the needs of all our guests in order to let all of them feel on the same level.
I thank you for your nice words about the breakfast, shuttle bus service and our driver.
We do hope to welcome you again in the near future so that you can get the opportunity to understand why so many reviewers wrote such nice words about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    102
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
218
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just returned home from Sorrento and stopped here as a base. The staff were great in making our stay lovely. The view from the bar was great as we did a lot relaxing in their after a day of sight seeing. The resturant staff were very helpful in making our meal enjoyable in the evening.
Great views from our room
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I am delighted to read that you will definitely come back and we wait to welcome you in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good hotel to use as base to visit the Neopolitan Coastal Area.
The service and staff were excellent and the shuttle to Sorrento was very handy.
The rooms are large and clean; our room had a panoramic view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.
The breakfast is good and has a wide range of foods, including eggs and other proteins.
The inner menu is geared to the tour groups and is a choice from a 'set-menu'; good food, but limited choice.
No other restaurants nearby in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us in particular the hotel position as a base to explore the area.
I was delighted that you found the size and the cleanness of your room to your liking and that you enjoyed the variety of choices that we offer on our breakfast buffet.
I’m happy you found the quality of the food good but I'm very sorry to read that you found the choices limited.
I appreciate your comments about our excellent staff, I will be sure to pass on your feedback to them.
We look forward to welcoming you during your next trip to the Sorrento coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Region
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at this hotel. It is beautiful in all respects!...the location, the view, the public areas, the view, the rooms, the view, the gardens, and on it goes. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the front desk, and they even gave us a breakfast to go when we left at 5am! Regular breakfast was decent too, but you didn't care as the dining room overlooks the gulf of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius...
Did not have dinner there as too many great restaurants in Sant'Agata. Be sure to get a sea view room!
There is obviously much pride of ownership here, and it shows in all the little touches. Mille Grazie!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. At Due Golfi, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Thrilled to read our staff were friendly and efficient with all your request during your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the location and the services we provide.
I will be sure to pass on your feedback to every member of my staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Due Golfi, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just had a fantastic week at this lovely hotel. All staff were amazingly helpful, friendly and polite. Cannot understand previous reviewer complaining about location as this is well documented on both tripadvisor and hotel website. Also, there are more than two shuttles in morning and afternoon and there is no need to rise early to book as they can be booked the previous day. Lovely hotel, lovely staff & lovely pre- winter break!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madame,
Words cannot express enough the honesty of your review.
We are pleased to receive so many reviews, but this is one of the most appreciated!
Writing just few a words you emphasized your enjoyable experience at our hotel.
It’s comment like yours that we strive for.
We hope to welcome and assist you again for a future break in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came home a week ago from a great holiday. We stayed on the 3rd floor directly outside the lift door, which was a bit of a shock when we realised it. Must say we had no problems with noise at all. The lift itself was silent and rarely did we hear other guests, so no problem at all. The views from the balcony were just amazing, we did choose the sea view and were not disappointed. Room was a good size with large double bed which we found to be comfortable. Bathroom with lovely deep bath, if you like a bath, a bit narrow when using the shower. Always plenty of hot water.
Food was very good and the waiters/waitresses always extremely friendly and helpful. When my husband didn't like any of the 3 choices of starter they wanted to cook him something fresh and were concerned when he didn't accept their offer. Really the main course and salad was enough anyway.
We used the shuttle bus on lots of occasions and found it very useful. Only comment on that is that perhaps it should run between 12.10 going into town and 5pm coming back up. For just going into the town 5hrs is a long time especially as most shops shut for siesta.
We did walk into Sta Agata on several occasions & as others say a bit hairy with no pavement, but a nice change of scene. There are a few shops, cafes & bars. The Blue Moon serves the best hot chocolate I had on this holiday, very thick and very hot!
The downside for me on this holiday was the pool & surrounding area. The pool is small, I knew that from Brochure but I didn't think it was very clean and poolside was quite basic. The flagstones were broken & uneven in places and very basic hand painted pool depths were along the side. The refreshment area was not manned all the time, which meant we had to go inside & collect our own pool towels from time to time. Sometimes we waited quite a while for a member of staff to return, for a drink or snack. There were plenty of chairs to lie on though.
The Bar at night in the Hotel closed fairly early and considering the shuttle bus brings you back at 11.30 everything was closed up by then.
For all my comments the holiday was great. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting Capri, Amalfi & Positano, on boat trips booked by the hotel for us. And trips to Pompei one day & Herculanium & Vesuvius by train on other days...another experience Italian trains!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madame,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a so detailed review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I am very happy to read your words about the lack of noise from you room located next to the elevator.
Thank you for your honest feedback, I appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve the services we offer our guests.
I am delighted to know that your holiday was great, as this is the reason why every day we try to give our best.
I hope to welcome you again to The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is lovely, great views if you pay extra, room was large modern with a large balcony, breakfast was ok. The problem with this hotel is it's location, first we got a taxi to the hotel from train station to hotel that cost 50 euros Only did that once ! Oh but there a shuttle bus !!! The shuttle bus runs a couple times in the morning and again in the afternoon but its only a 19 seated bus and once it's full a second run is not facilitated, on 4 of the 6 times we wanted to use the shuttle bus it was full and we were left with no other option but to use public transport, both hotel and public transport finish by 11.30 pm so no late nights,
We like to go on holidays and relax, sit have a nice meal and a drink and watch the world go by, after a busy day sightseeing but between the race in the morning to book a seat on the bus and the running to get the bus for fear we'd get have to pay for a taxi after 11.30 pm it became a nightmare!!! I hated it !
Checked out and moved to a hotel in centre of Sorrento, so if you want to holiday in Sorrento stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madame,
Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I was delighted that you found the room to your liking and that you enjoyed the variety of choices offered on our breakfast buffet as the breathtaking view you had from here.
I'm very sorry to read that you found the location of the hotel inconvenient to you.
However, it is well indicated on all the websites where you can book the hotel that we are 8 Km far from Sorrento and if you had looked on our website you could know our shuttle timetable before arriving.
Just for informing anyone interested in visiting our hotel, we reserve the shuttle also on the arrival day for the journey from Sorrento to the hotel, as long as we are contacted we give all the necessary information to get at the hotel in the easiest and the most convenient way.
I apologize for any trouble you had in booking our shuttle bus and I am very sorry you paid so much for a taxi from Sorrento, in fact we inform about the high costs of this service.
I’m happy you enjoyed the hotel in centre of Sorrento, but we found that our location is one of our strength, as most of the reviewer say, is a perfect departure point to discover the beauty and the history of the area and many people choose our hotel for their holiday as they prefer to be in the quite of a traditional Italian village.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Due Golfi Italy/Province Of Naples
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Due Golfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.