We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Due Golfi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just returned home from Sorrento and stopped here as a base. The staff were great in making our stay lovely. The view from the bar was great as we did a lot relaxing in their after a day of sight seeing. The resturant staff were very helpful in making our meal enjoyable in the evening.
Great views from our room
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I am delighted to read that you will definitely come back and we wait to welcome you in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    155
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
101
315
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good hotel to use as base to visit the Neopolitan Coastal Area.
The service and staff were excellent and the shuttle to Sorrento was very handy.
The rooms are large and clean; our room had a panoramic view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.
The breakfast is good and has a wide range of foods, including eggs and other proteins.
The inner menu is geared to the tour groups and is a choice from a 'set-menu'; good food, but limited choice.
No other restaurants nearby in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us in particular the hotel position as a base to explore the area.
I was delighted that you found the size and the cleanness of your room to your liking and that you enjoyed the variety of choices that we offer on our breakfast buffet.
I’m happy you found the quality of the food good but I'm very sorry to read that you found the choices limited.
I appreciate your comments about our excellent staff, I will be sure to pass on your feedback to them.
We look forward to welcoming you during your next trip to the Sorrento coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Region
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at this hotel. It is beautiful in all respects!...the location, the view, the public areas, the view, the rooms, the view, the gardens, and on it goes. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the front desk, and they even gave us a breakfast to go when we left at 5am! Regular breakfast was decent too, but you didn't care as the dining room overlooks the gulf of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius...
Did not have dinner there as too many great restaurants in Sant'Agata. Be sure to get a sea view room!
There is obviously much pride of ownership here, and it shows in all the little touches. Mille Grazie!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. At Due Golfi, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Thrilled to read our staff were friendly and efficient with all your request during your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the location and the services we provide.
I will be sure to pass on your feedback to every member of my staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Due Golfi, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just had a fantastic week at this lovely hotel. All staff were amazingly helpful, friendly and polite. Cannot understand previous reviewer complaining about location as this is well documented on both tripadvisor and hotel website. Also, there are more than two shuttles in morning and afternoon and there is no need to rise early to book as they can be booked the previous day. Lovely hotel, lovely staff & lovely pre- winter break!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madame,
Words cannot express enough the honesty of your review.
We are pleased to receive so many reviews, but this is one of the most appreciated!
Writing just few a words you emphasized your enjoyable experience at our hotel.
It’s comment like yours that we strive for.
We hope to welcome and assist you again for a future break in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came home a week ago from a great holiday. We stayed on the 3rd floor directly outside the lift door, which was a bit of a shock when we realised it. Must say we had no problems with noise at all. The lift itself was silent and rarely did we hear other guests, so no problem at all. The views from the balcony were just amazing, we did choose the sea view and were not disappointed. Room was a good size with large double bed which we found to be comfortable. Bathroom with lovely deep bath, if you like a bath, a bit narrow when using the shower. Always plenty of hot water.
Food was very good and the waiters/waitresses always extremely friendly and helpful. When my husband didn't like any of the 3 choices of starter they wanted to cook him something fresh and were concerned when he didn't accept their offer. Really the main course and salad was enough anyway.
We used the shuttle bus on lots of occasions and found it very useful. Only comment on that is that perhaps it should run between 12.10 going into town and 5pm coming back up. For just going into the town 5hrs is a long time especially as most shops shut for siesta.
We did walk into Sta Agata on several occasions & as others say a bit hairy with no pavement, but a nice change of scene. There are a few shops, cafes & bars. The Blue Moon serves the best hot chocolate I had on this holiday, very thick and very hot!
The downside for me on this holiday was the pool & surrounding area. The pool is small, I knew that from Brochure but I didn't think it was very clean and poolside was quite basic. The flagstones were broken & uneven in places and very basic hand painted pool depths were along the side. The refreshment area was not manned all the time, which meant we had to go inside & collect our own pool towels from time to time. Sometimes we waited quite a while for a member of staff to return, for a drink or snack. There were plenty of chairs to lie on though.
The Bar at night in the Hotel closed fairly early and considering the shuttle bus brings you back at 11.30 everything was closed up by then.
For all my comments the holiday was great. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting Capri, Amalfi & Positano, on boat trips booked by the hotel for us. And trips to Pompei one day & Herculanium & Vesuvius by train on other days...another experience Italian trains!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Madame,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a so detailed review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I am very happy to read your words about the lack of noise from you room located next to the elevator.
Thank you for your honest feedback, I appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve the services we offer our guests.
I am delighted to know that your holiday was great, as this is the reason why every day we try to give our best.
I hope to welcome you again to The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is lovely, great views if you pay extra, room was large modern with a large balcony, breakfast was ok. The problem with this hotel is it's location, first we got a taxi to the hotel from train station to hotel that cost 50 euros Only did that once ! Oh but there a shuttle bus !!! The shuttle bus runs a couple times in the morning and again in the afternoon but its only a 19 seated bus and once it's full a second run is not facilitated, on 4 of the 6 times we wanted to use the shuttle bus it was full and we were left with no other option but to use public transport, both hotel and public transport finish by 11.30 pm so no late nights,
We like to go on holidays and relax, sit have a nice meal and a drink and watch the world go by, after a busy day sightseeing but between the race in the morning to book a seat on the bus and the running to get the bus for fear we'd get have to pay for a taxi after 11.30 pm it became a nightmare!!! I hated it !
Checked out and moved to a hotel in centre of Sorrento, so if you want to holiday in Sorrento stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madame,
Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I was delighted that you found the room to your liking and that you enjoyed the variety of choices offered on our breakfast buffet as the breathtaking view you had from here.
I'm very sorry to read that you found the location of the hotel inconvenient to you.
However, it is well indicated on all the websites where you can book the hotel that we are 8 Km far from Sorrento and if you had looked on our website you could know our shuttle timetable before arriving.
Just for informing anyone interested in visiting our hotel, we reserve the shuttle also on the arrival day for the journey from Sorrento to the hotel, as long as we are contacted we give all the necessary information to get at the hotel in the easiest and the most convenient way.
I apologize for any trouble you had in booking our shuttle bus and I am very sorry you paid so much for a taxi from Sorrento, in fact we inform about the high costs of this service.
I’m happy you enjoyed the hotel in centre of Sorrento, but we found that our location is one of our strength, as most of the reviewer say, is a perfect departure point to discover the beauty and the history of the area and many people choose our hotel for their holiday as they prefer to be in the quite of a traditional Italian village.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel was bright, clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, especially Monica on reception. Our room was quite small but adequately appointed but with a large balcony with magnificent sea view out across the bay and Vesuvius. However the bed was very hard and there was no opportunity to change as we were told all the mattresses were the same - did not get one good night's sleep and in fact my wife suffered from back pain through our stay as a result.
Adequate breakfast buffet with mainly cold 'continental' breakfast items but with a couple of hot dishes normally eggs and bacon or sausages and a temperamental toaster!
Nice pool area with towel service and snack bar, but probably very crowded in high season.
The shuttle bus service down to/back from Sorrento gets booked up quite quickly so if you know your plans book it asap.

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I am very sorry for not being able to offer you a comfortable night’s sleep and for your wife’s back pain. Thank you for bringing the matter to my attention, even if our mattresses are one of the best brands (Simmons)!
We will take note of this and look into offering a non orthopedic bed mattresses for guests who are not used to hard beds.
I am glad to read that you find the Hotel bright, clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.
I am always grateful for all types of feedback as it is a chance for us to monitor and improve our standards for future guests.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#4 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#9 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
5.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#5 of 46 in Massa Lubrense
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residenza Villa Titina
Residenza Villa Titina
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Due Golfi Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Due Golfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.