We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality / Housekeeping Could Use Improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Due Golfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality / Housekeeping Could Use Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Good:
-Staff was excellent.
-View was wonderful.
-Shuttle service to Sorrento was very consistent.

The Bad:
Housekeeping could use improvement (see photos).
-Bedside lamp needed repair. Instead of repairing, they replaced it with a cheap lamp.
-Spider webs all over the room. We even had a spider repealing off the ceiling while making a web right over our bed.
-Mold in the bathroom

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us.
Whilst I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the service we provide, the view and found our shuttle service very useful I am most concerned to read of your disappointment with our housekeeping.
I certainly believe that the cleanness is one of the most important factor when selecting a hotel and I will personally look in to this, in order to have no more comments as yours..
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    117
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
243
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Front desks staff were very very patient and helpful. The sea view room did have great view of the sea and mountains. We enjoyed free breakfast, WiFi, using the pool and free shuttle to/from Sorrento (Cuomo's Lucky Store is the stop). Our room was cleaned everyday and big enough. The AC though in our room didn't work quickly took a while to cool down the room. There was spiderweb on the ceiling... There was lamp broken before our check-in so they added a regular desk lamp. The SITA bus stop is right in front the hotel but it can be full so one would want to take the free shuttle to Sorrento. The hotel offers three meals BUT DON'T FEEL THERES NO RESTAURANT TO GO BECAUSE YOU ARE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HILL. There are actually nice restaurants around within walking distance. We went to some that offered free pick-up service from our hotel (e.g., IL Fienile)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Madame,
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay.
I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, the location, the view and that you found most of the services you received to your expectations.
Secondly, having read your comments I would like to apologize for the issues you had with the lamp and the spiderweb. I have passed this on to my Maintenance and Housekeeper team to follow up.
I will be personally looking in to this.
I really do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We hired a car to travel around Italy for two weeks and followed google maps and had no problem finding the hotel, it may be more tricky at night.

The check in was efficient and she explained where I would need to park the car, its about 2mins walk from the hotel. She was very friendly and explained when/where breakfast was and a half board option which we thought was a little on the expensive side.

The rooms were clean and a good size and we had wifi available in the room. We had a room on the side of the hotel so had a partial view of the bay, still fantastic!

The views from the hotel are amazing which look over the bay of naples.

Breakfast finishes at 9.30am, but is very good. There is a selection of cold meats, bread, cheeses and pastries. They even manage to keep the croissants warm and the orange juice is freshly squeezed. There are eggs and bacon/Frankfurt sausages, the eggs frequently ran out and you would have to wait 10mins for replenishment. There is also cereals, fruit and yogurts. The breakfast room looks out over the bay.

There are some good restaurants in Sant' Agata which is about 10-15mins walk from the hotel, there are no paths on sections of the road, so go with care.

The pool is excellent, quite small and we had no problems getting a sunbed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Madame,
many thanks for posting your kind feedback following your stay with us at The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I was delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and that you found the view, facilities and the service we provide to your liking.
Please do come and visit us again soon.
My kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having stayed at the due golfi in July, it was an excellent hotel and the staff were brilliant too,nothing was too much trouble and very helpful about trips and local bus times. We had a sea view room and would say it was worth the extra. The view down to Sorrento and the Bay of Naples was superb. Food very good and staff were very attentive. We would stay here again and in fact we have recommended to friends and they are going next year. If you want a place to stay that is quiet and just outside Sorrento this is it. Good value for money too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I am so happy that my team ensured we met your expectations. I have already passed on your kind words to them.
Many thanks for recommending our hotel to your friends and anyone else will read this review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 7 night holiday at this lovely positioned hotel just outside a lovely village.We were so glad we had chosen to stay in the hills overlooking Sorrento rather than in the busy and quite hectic town.Having a courtesy bus made it easy to get to and we saw all the sights in a week.The staff were all helpful but a massive mention to the always smiley and friendly lady on the bar I think she was called Giovanna she is a credit to the hotel.Also the restaurant staff are always lovely too.The hotel was spotless and peaceful a welcome retreat after the hustle in Sorrento...if visiting this area this is the place to stay.We travelled as a family with a 14 and 18 year old and although not much entertainment this was nice as the courtesy bus ran in the evening to and from the main town and the village you can walk to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind comments following your stay with us.
I was delighted that you found the location of The Grand Hotel due Golfi to your liking and that we met your expectations during your stay.
I have already passed on your kind words to all the staff especially Giovanna.
I hope that you come back to stay with us once again in the near future.
Kind regards,
My kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day holiday where we stayed at The Grand Hotel due Golfi. The view from the bedroom was amazing and the hotel immaculate. The staff were hard working and the hotel was run very well. I could not fault this hotel and although most of the staff were young, they were very professional. Breakfast was good but lacked fresh fruit and some more hot food but it was more than adequate. A very peaceful hotel which made up for the noisy tourist areas we visited and the little village nearby San Agata was a nice base for our holiday. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit the Amalfi area.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra charge for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your honest feedback, I appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve the services we offer our guests.
We will do our best to serve more fresh fruits and hot food at breakfast as we do recognize that this is the most important meal of the day for our guests and I am pleased you enjoyed the wide choice we offer.
I was delighted that you liked the hotel, the cleanness, our location and the breathtaking view you can enjoy from here.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay and recommending our property.
My kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hi, me and wife took a four nights trip to Sorento and the coast and slept in this hotel.i loved the entry way, very nice gardening,the loby is huge hight cilling and nice marble floor.we where sleeping at the very top floor at the end of the hall way with a view to the bay, super super super.the hotel offered us a ride with thier own minibus to Sorento and back with a very accurate scedule.The Wi-Fi signal is strong and free. i have noticed that the elivator in each floor is located right next to a room door ,so try not to take this room cos everyone who comes out of the eleivator at night and a bit noisy , will wake you up for sure.The room was not fancy and not top modern it was well fitted to the erea and gave us the right atmosphere. they could use some pictures on the walls and more decorations but stil,it is a very plesent room with an LCD screen very well lighted.the bathroom is very nice ,very widw shower with a great water stream,big sink,toilet and bidet.there is a balcony with two chairs round table and a very charming panorama to the ocean .well, i tried to give you some of my impresion, hope you will find it usfull.by the way ,i didnt use the swimming pool but i saw it and it looks very nice.

Room Tip: i was at the very end of the hall way on number 4 floor so we didn't heard nothing ( noise of la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all thank you for your visit, we are glad to read that you like our location and the view you could enjoy from here.
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us and other reviewers and we hope to welcome you back.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Due Golfi Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Due Golfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.