We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just booked again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Due Golfi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hoylake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just booked again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2012 and were very impressed as we had previously stayed in both Grand Vesuvio and President and although they were very nice, the Due Golfi had a better personality. The sea view room was to die for and the staff and food were both excellent. I have just booked to go back in September 13 through Media travel for a 10 night stay - cant wait.

Room Tip: The bus across the road from the hotel goes to Positano and Amalfi and is not expensive. Tickets can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
Thank you also for your kind words on our rooms, staff and food.
We do pride ourselves on providing the highest possible level of service to all our guests and I have passed your kind compliments to all the team.
It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back on 13th of September.
There is no bigger satisfaction for us to welcome again our guests!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    136
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
277
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have visited Sorrento & St Agata several times over the past 10 years or so and always stayed at different hotels and we both agree this is the best hotel so far. We arrived later than expected, at approx. 10.00pm, due to the airport bus taking longer than it should have. The receptionist was very pleasant and efficient and it took no time at all to book in. We had missed dinner but a delicious plate of various cold meats and cheeses as well as a small bottle of wine, water and fruit was waiting for us in our room. The room was spacious & very clean. The bathroom looked as if it had been refurbished fairly recently and had a bath with shower. We had decided to upgrade to a room with a sea view and we were very pleased that we had because the view across the bay to Vesuvius was spectacular. The room came with both a safe and a fridge for which there was no extra charge unlike some other hotels we have stayed at. The bed was huge and sooooooo comfy - we had the best sleeps ever! We stayed for 10 nights on breakfast and evening meal basis and could not fault the food at all. The breakfast was buffet style, with a choice of fruit juices, cereals, fruit, slices of cheese and cold meat, hot bacon and frankfurters, scrambled eggs, yoghurts, bread, cakes and pastries - no-one would starve! If we were really really picky we would say it was a pity there were no boiled eggs. As for the evening meals - well - whenever we go on holiday we always treat ourselves to at least one night out for a good meal out in a nice restaurant. But honestly we thought the food at the Due Golfi was so good that we didn't bother to go anywhere else. In the whole ten days we were there only one of the dishes was repeated (and that was so good we had it again!) and the pasta was just the best!. All the Staff, the receptionists, the restaurant and Deborah at the bar were so nice - they went out of their way to be helpful and efficient - and they truly seem to enjoy working together. Yes the hotel is not in Sorrento itself but you know that (or should) when you book. The hotel shuttle bus service was efficient and and you can always take one of the local buses if the hotel bus times do not suit. You can walk down into Sorrento from St Agata - its all downhill and only takes about 45 minutes at a leisurely stroll (although we have never attempted walking back up but lots of people do). Anyway we both thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would definitely stay at the Due Golfi again. Thank you for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Book a sea view on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Madame,
Many thanks for leaving your lovely feedback following your stay at The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I was really glad that you enjoyed the cold dinner that we provide for all of our late arrivals.
As you said the view is spectacular, but I am happy you appreciated also the style and the cleanness of our rooms.
I am pleased that you appreciated our restaurant. I believe who comes to visit Italy expects that the food is a very high quality. Your comments about our breakfast and evening meals lets everybody understand the value we give to those services.
I was pleased to read that you did appreciate the high level of service provided by our staff. They have such passion for what they do and always try to exceed guests’ expectations. They enjoy providing our guests with the unobtrusive but highly personalized service, which is a big part of what makes staying at Grand Hotel Due Golfi such a memorable experience.
We hope to be able to look after you again in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had wonderful holiday at Grande Hotel Due Golfi at end of October.Views are amazing and having breakfast looking over Bay of Naples was awesome.Wonderful food and all the staff were friendly and helpful.Arrived late and was pleasantly surprised to find cold meal left in room with bottle of wine and water.When we left bottle of Limoncelli left as parting giftWould recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
We were so pleased to read your lovely feedback. Many thanks for taking the time to do this.
We always try our hardest to meet our guests expectations and were so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, the stunning views from our hotel and appreciated the extra touches we provided you with.
We do hope that you will come back to experience the hotel once again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely hotel, incredible view and friendly staff, modern hotel, clean rooms, would certainly return again. Worth investigating local bus services as a taxi from Sorrento was 50 euros for a 5 mile Journey but thats not the hotels fault, just something to be carefull of in the area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion and recommend our hotel.
We were so pleased that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your very kind words to all the team and we do hope that you visit us once again very soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the grand due golfi at the end of October 2012 for one week. We had room 304 which had amazing views over the bay of Naples, well worth paying the extra for a sea view room. We stayed half board, the meals were good with a choice of 3 for starter and mains. Lots of choice at breakfast too. Gala night on Weds was something different! Live music and the waiters parading the food round the room before they served it, whilst it was on fire!
We took a boat trip to Capri which was booked through the hotel, and was excellent. Picked up and dropped off from the hotel, and the boat left from Marina del Cantone on the other side of the penninsula.
Staff were courteous at all times, we had a free bottle of limoncello on arrival and another when we left! Our flight back was early morning and the hotel had prepared us a substantial takeaway breakfast, which was a nice touch.
We were lucky to have hot weather for the first 5 days, but the pool is not heated so didn't go in. It was very quiet at the time of year we went, I had the whole pool area to myself one afternoon.
It's a very quiet hotel but that's what we wanted.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Got to be a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Madame,
Thank you for recommending our hotel, we were so pleased to read your lovely feedback.
We are happy you enjoyed the food we serve as well as the courtesy of all the staff always attentive at all guests needs.
We do hope that you will return to us once again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Whatever the upgrade, get a room with sea views! I have travelled across Europe extensively but the views of the Bay of Naples and the looming mount Vesuvius made this holiday extra special.

The rooms are very clean with high ceilings and effective air con and are not dated as I had expected.

Staff are proffessional, friendlz and overly helpful.

Breakfast very good, fresh. We only stayed on b&b rate but tried dinner one evening. It didn't blow me away, preffered the food at the small family run pizzeria/restaurant 5 mins away.

Location is great due to the free shuttle service. It doesn't take long to go into Sorrento and its great to come back to the hotel in the evening and share a bottle of wine on the balcony looking down at the bright lights of Sorrento and the sillohette of Vesuvio.

Pool area small. But quaint. There are the usual holiday makers who reserve beds with towels long before breakfast and show up at 10am after a long breakfast. There are not so many sunbeds so you need to be poolside early if you want a bed.

Overall a lovely quiet holiday, perfectly located to visit Sorrento, Capri, the Amalfi, Pompeii, Vesuvius etc. Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for your visit, we are glad to read that you like our location and the view you could enjoy from here.
Our hotel, as you said, is a perfect departure point to discover the beauty and the history of the area.
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us and other reviewers and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for the first week in October.
Hotel was excellent. A quiet, peaceful ambience. Staff were courteous, helpful, efficient and charming, particularly Ornella at Reception. Gracious and spacious foyer, lounge, dining room. Room was clean, serviced well, spacious bathroom. Food was very good, varied, service was prompt except for the Gala Night dinner which we suppose was organised to give the chef his night off. This extended to two tedious hours during which a loud singer guitarist shattered the quiet and intrusively regaled the tables. Unfortunately dinner was also seriously disrupted on our last Sunday evening by raucous and deafening noise from amplified music and singing from an adjoining dining room being used by a large wedding party. The noise was so utterly shattering that I was unable to endure it and had to abandon my meal unfinished. The noise was so deafening that we couldn't even speak to each other. I think that this is a serious problem which the hotel needs to address.
The hotel shuttle bus, which was very reliable, was essential. We visited Amalfi, Ravello twice on the local SITA bus and met the overwhelming drawback of the holiday. The buses were absolutely packed. We caught the bus opposite the hotel and had to join the crowd already standing inside. We were lucky though to get on as often people can't.The journey to Positano is around continuous hairpin bends with precipitous drops so we were continually swaying and bracing ourselves for an hour and getting increasingly hot in the steamed-up bus. It was exhausting and claustrophobic and not a problem we had anticipated in what we had thought would be the end of the tourist season at the beginning of October. Near Positano the bus just drove past would-be passengers as it was too full. We were alarmed that we should not get on a bus to Amalfi if we got off at Positano, or even one back later to Sorrento and thus be left stranded, (and indeed we heard later of this happening), so we stayed on to Amalfi. On the next visit too we had to do the same so we never managed to visit Positano. There was the same scrum on the bus from Amalfi to Ravello, and back to Sorrento. This detracted hugely from the pleasure of the visit. The second time we returned by boat to avoid the problem and again were surprised by the crowds and only just managed to get the last two seats on the upper deck. We did have two beautiful swims at Amalfi in silky clear water. Because of these horrible experiences with travel we would not visit this area again. The train to Pompeii and Herculaneum were not quite so crowded.
On our last evening we received a gift of the local limoncello, with a charming note, in our room. This typified the welcoming ambience of the hotel and was a very gracious gesture which we greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Whilst we are pleased to note that we fully met your expectations in terms of service, food quality, cleanliness and ambience we are very sorry to read your opinion about our gala dinner. We organize it in order to offer an entertainment to our guest and we are surprised you haven’t enjoyed it.
Please accept our sincere apologies that you felt in any way uncomfortable from the wedding party that was taking place during your stay. We tried very hard to ensure that not one of our guests was in anyway inconvenienced or made to feel uncomfortable and this indeed was our very first concern when planning this. I am especially sorry and please rest assured that we will work harder to avoid such a situation in future.
About public buses we are sorry that you have had a bad experience, but at the end of the season the schedule changes and they leave less rides to the Amalfi coast due to the lower flow of tourists. With the association of hoteliers we are trying to address this issue with the authorities, and we hope that next summer they will be able to offer a better service.
I am so sorry that these problems impacted on your stay but this is unfortunately out of our control.
I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that you will consider returning to Grand Hotel Due Golfi at some point in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Due Golfi Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Due Golfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.