We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great views and easy access to amalfi coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Due Golfi to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great views and easy access to amalfi coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff was very helpful throughout my 3 night stay here (even before I arrived they answered all my questions promply via email). Breakfast was very good and had many choices. Wish I could of taken the orange juice machine home with me! I had dinner there one of the nights and it was also very good, nice salad bar. Views are great from dining room and lounge area. I didn't end up with a view from my room but if I stay again I'd request one. Shuttle to Sorrento worked out great and the public buses also go right by the hotel which I used a few times. Walking distance to a few nice restaurants. My room was a good size, bed was comfy and everything was clean. I found it a good value for the price since I've paid the same/a bit more at the hotels in my 2 week trip around europe and found most rooms/beds/bathrooms much much smaller. I had a pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel. They even game me a bottle of limoncello before I left!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that you had “a pleasant stay” and “found it good value for the price”.
Our aim is to ensure all of our guests come to the hotel and always feel welcome.
We are so glad that you experienced here helpful staff even before your arrival.
We really do hope that you will join us again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    135
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
276
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for ten days in September and had an extremely enjoyable eperience. All the staff at the hotel are helpful, charming and keen to assist at all times. The room was kept immaculate and the meals - we had half board and therefore had breakfast and dinner at the hotel - were of a high order. It is worth paying for a "sea view" which then affords a view across to Mount Vesuvius and this and many other views along the Amalfi coast genuinely deserve that overworked touristic adjective of "spectacular". The hotel is an excellent jumping off point for Sorrento itself as well as Naples, Herculaneum, Pompei, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello plus Mount Vesuvius. You can mix and match archeology, fine buildings, museums, galleries, public squares and good walks interrupted by visits to excellent resturants and/or stops for the finest ice cream in Europe.
Further, you can enjoy totally relaxing days by the hotel pool, we elected for a deserved period of rest and contemplation after a day at Pompei. The hotel also does a "Gala Night" every week featuring musical entertainment and runs an excellent shuttle service to and from Sorrento itself. This takes about ten minutes but affords wonderful views all the way. The hotel also offers a free internet service and will provide packed meals for those heading off early for flights or other purposes. Finally, we booked a tour of Capri from the hotel which was splendidly executed and allowed you to see the best of the island in an unpresurised way. Otherwise we found it very easy to use public transport, which is amazingly cheap by British standards, to get to all other destinations. The hotel staff are extremeely helpful with timetables and related information. Whewthewr it was typical or not I canot say but for the duration of the stay there was no rain at any time during the day, just sun and temperatures that you would wish graced a British summer.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations.
All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guests needs and like I always do have passed on your kind words to them.
We are also delighted that you had the chance to experience our Gala Dinner and that you enjoyed it.
We do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had visited Sorrento many years ago and stayed in another hotel in St Agata. I fell in love with the area and wanted to return but not to the same hotel. After much searching I found this gem at a discounted price and, after reading Trip Advisor reviews, went ahead and booked a week in late September. What a great choice it was! The entire hotel was spotlessly clean and run by warm, friendly, and helpful staff. We stayed on a half board basis and can thoroughly recommend the resaurant for breakfast and dinner. We did not have lunch there so cannot comment. Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice of breads, cheeses, cooked meats, cake, fruit and cooked breakfast should you prefer. Dinner was served at the table with at least three options for every generous course. A good selection of wines were available at reasonabe prices when compared to UK restaurant prices. Our room had very little in the way of a view from inside but step out onto the large balcony and the whole Bay of Naples was there. And what a view it is. From the Marina Piccolo across to Naples with Vesuvius as its grand centre piece. Even more spectacular at night. The hotel run a regular complimentary bus service into Sorrento with the first bus out at 08.30 and last bus back at around 23.00. Just a ten minute walk takes you into the centre of St Agata where there are a selection of bars and restaurants should you prefer. I drifted into Bar Orlando on my first trip and am delighted to say that it has not changed one bit. It has a large patio area covered with climbing plants which provide a natiral "roof" to the area. If you like music / sports TV bars you will hate Orlando's. If you like a wonderfully warm welcome in a simple friendly atmosphere shared by visitors and locals then try this place.

There was only one downside to our stay. Our room, which was fairly small but large enough, was immediately next to the lift and very close to the stairway. With marble floors throughout the hotel the slightest sound carried throughout the landing. Noisy guests often disturbed our sleep late at night or early morning as they chatted right outside our door whilst waiting for the lift. Hence the 4 rating and not a 5. I must stress that this would not deter us from staying at the Grand again but we would ask for a room away from stairs or lifts.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful view from our balcony, others had a view of the car park! Rooms near the lift and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.
We really appreciate all your kind words as: “gem” and “warm, friendly, and helpful staff”.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and “thoroughly recommend” our restaurant for breakfast and dinner.
I note that your room location hasn’t give you the choice to enjoy your stay as we would, and this make us feel very sorry. All the time we try to find the right room for each of our guests and appreciate that quietness is always an important factor. Please the next time you will have the opportunity to stay with us come to reception desk for any trouble.
We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi for a friends wedding. The staff were very friendly and always approachable, and the hotel offered every amenity possible. The hotel is quite a way from Sorrento, but it offers a regular free shuttle bus service to make it easier to get around. It is about a 10-15 minute walk from Sant'Agata, and this village has shops and amenities that make travel to Sorrento almost unnecessary.
The food was excellent, and as breakfasts and evening meals are included in the price of the stay, it is well worth eating in the hotel, and trying the local delicacies for lunch. There are only 2 negative comments I can think of when mentioning the Grand Hotel Due Golfi. The first is that the hotel doesn't accept cash payments at the bar, as all payments are made onto your room number and then payable at the end of the stay. This lead to us paying an extra €200 without really realising it, which was a little dangerous! The second negative is due to us paying extra with Thomas Cook for an upgraded room with balcony and view, and although we got a triple room with a small balcony, it overlooked the carpark rather than the sea, and one couple who didn't pay the premium got a large balcony with the same view, and another couple got a balcony and sea view without paying any premium. We felt a little fleeced by this, but that was mainly due to Thomas Cook, rather than the hotel. Speaking of Thomas Cook, or any tour operator, bear in mind that the hotel is about 1.5 hours from the Napoli airport, and there will be several drops along the way when taking the transfer. I would severely recommend taking a taxi (costly, but worth not sitting in a hot bus for hours).
On the whole though, the hotel is beautiful, excellently air-conditioned with helpful staff and beautiful views of Vesuvius and the bay below. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Don't pay a premium for a sea view or balcony, these appear to be provided "at random"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Grand Hotel Due Golfi following your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and you recommend our hotel to anyone staying in the area.
We are delighted that you find it “well worth eating in the hotel” and said that the food we serve is excellent.
About the room bill, just the reception staff can cash it, but when required it can be settled daily or in any convenient time, without waiting at the end of the stay.
We sincerely hope that you do come and visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week staying at the Grand Due Golfi Hotel in Sorrento and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a quiet and relaxing holiday in Sorrento. The staff were absolutely brilliant going above and beyond the call of duty with nothing being too much to ask. Our room was very clean, comfortable and peaceful with everything at hand. The grounds around the hotel were beautiful and the interiors full of grandeur. We both agree that we would not hesitate in returning to the hospitality of this wonderful place and would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone for all their warmth and friendliness towards us.

Kind regards

Richard And Sally Green

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel, I was so happy to read it.
We always try to create a friendly home from home atmosphere in the hotel and I was delighted that you we met your expectations in all departments with our service and attention to details.
As always have shared your comments with our staff.
We were delighted to have you as our guest and are looking forward to greet you again.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed with my Grandaughter for 1 week at this Hotel and was pleasantly surprised,although we were a 20 minute bus ride from the centre of Sorrento it didn't bother us in the least, because the courtesy bus was so frequent. The view over the bay of Naples was fantastic, something we wouldn't have had if we would have stayed in the centre. The staff were more than helpful and always pleasant and friendly. The food was outstanding, and our room had everything we could ask for with a pleasant balcony. We would definitely return to this Hotel! The only downfall was the weather - it hadn't rained for 4 months, until we arrived! However, this didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves. Being less central was a bonus, because we were always first pick up on the coach when we went on excursions! We think this hotel is a little gem, and we would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Madame,
We were really pleased that you took the time to leave your feedback.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff delivered a service that met your expectations. I have shared your kind words with all of them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Due Golfi in the near future. The sun will be here waiting for you!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a one week stay in this hotel and would highly recommend it! The hotel had everything you would need to relax after a day exploring. The staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The hotel food is also pretty good.
Really enjoyed our stay and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel. It is greatly appreciated.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and location of the hotel.
We do hope that you will enjoy our hospitality once again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#3 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Due Golfi Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Due Golfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.