We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days in Villa Sirio; gorgeous hotel, if a little lacking in service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sirio Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Sirio Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Sirio Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lungomare De Simone 15, 84072 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 days in Villa Sirio; gorgeous hotel, if a little lacking in service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my mother and young son for 2 nights. We had a lovely time, and the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. The location was good, almost in the centre of the town, and right at the seafront. I have a few small issues with the hotel & the service, but overall I would stay here again!

I have very little Italian, which is obviously my problem, so sometimes communication with the staff was difficult. Check in service was actually non-existant. Our bags were brought up to the room by a very pleasant english speaking guy, but we weren't given any info about the hotel, where/when breakfast was etc! The room itself was really nice, spacious, clean, and comfy. Views were out of this world. Shower was super, bathroom was clean and had lots of space.

Breakfast was a little disappointing, however. We weren't told there was the option to order eggs, or anything else, but I did see some people with scrambled eggs, so I can only presume it was available!

On our second day, the power was cut in the hotel due to public works outside. The only notification of this was when I tried to use the lift to carry my son in his buggy downstairs - there was a sign on the lift explaining it was out of order due to the cuts. This was quite a nuisance for us; having to carry the buggy up and down the stairs, thank god there were 2 of us! We were attending a wedding that evening in the town, and we were late for the wedding because we had to wait for the power to come back on at 4pm before we could shower & get ready. There was no back up power source for the hotel, and neither were we compensated for this inconvenience! The only apology was the note on the lift.

The hotel was very expensive. The cost was €460 for 2 nights, which was midweek in early June. We were charged €10 per night for the provision of a baby's cot in the room, (bringing the price to €480), which I refused to pay, as it was never brought to my attention that the cot would cost money. It is usually standard that a cot is complimentary, so I thought it was ridiculous to pay for it. I got an email from the hotel a week before our stay reminding me of the booking and the balance due, and this figure didn't include the cost of the cot!

Overall, the hotel is fab, really comfy, great location. Price is quite expensive, and, although staff were friendly, the actual service could have been better!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were married here 8 yrs ago and return regularly. We are always treated like family with hugs from the staff, we believe this to be our home away from home. Alessandra, Andrea and Gino are wonderful; this is a great place to relax, have an anniversary or honeymoon. The whole town is low key and low stress-if you want to experience true Italian hospitality this is your place!

Room Tip: Wonderful rooms overlooking the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After tying the knot at the castle in the quiet little hill town of Castellabate (just 15 minutes away), we spent 3 days at the seaside hotel, the Villa Sirio. Our stay was so enjoyable and the Tortora family was so kind, down to earth, and accomodating. They were like family! The ocean view from our balcony room was spectacular and the food was very good (breakfast and dinner). We spent one afternoon hiking to San Marco, enjoyed a few morning runs along the seawall, and hung out in the quaint town of Santa Maria di Castellabate, about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We found a great wine shop, a small italian deli, and a handful of good, local restaurants. What a fantastic place to unwind! We will go back, that is for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Villa Sirio. It's a delightful hotel in a fantastic location right on the seafront in a small picturesque town. Our bedroom was lovely, very comfortable with lots of nice features - the best of which was the small balcony overlooking the sea where we watched the fabulous sunsets. We thought that this area of Italy was lovely and would have liked to have stayed longer to explore further. We thought that Paestrum was fantastic (both the site and the museum).The hotel closes at the end of October and we gained the impression that everything was slowing down around us. On our last night the air conditioning was turned off and there wasn't a menu for us to choose from. Our only disappointment, (but it's a big disappointment), was the food. We booked half board believing the good food reviews. Perhaps, we had expected too much or maybe the chef had already finished for the season but the food was OK and that's all. However, we would still answer the call of the sirens and return - bed and breakfast only!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a sea view on a bed and breakfast basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Firstly you won't have a bad time or experience with this hotel.

This was our "pushing the boat out" overnight stay and we'd booked the Daphne Suite. The welcome was reserved and business like and we were quickly shown to our room. Arriving mid afternoon the room was in shade and to the side of the building. It still had a sea view and small balcony with small table and chairs.

It's main selling point was to be the private roof top terrace with private pool but it was a huge disappointment. it was covered for a start, surrounded by 1 meter walls, completely bare while the rooftop pool was a domestic jacuzzi bath sat forlornly in the corner. At 450 Euros it was really poor value.

However, included in the room price was dinner and that was exceptional. All the dishes were cooked superbly and the recommended wine by the waiter was of really good quality and matched our requests for light body, low oak and lots of fruit. Who said we're fussy!

Both dinner and breakfast are served outside and we sat overlooking the sea on both occasions. Breakfast lacked effort and service was poor. The cheapest pre-formed ham and limp cheese were at least complimented with fresh pastries and bread. The morning staff seemed to struggle with just making coffees and not once were we asked if we'd like more coffee or even a cooked egg.

They have the opportunity to be a great hotel and if they'd bothered to expend some effort with plants on our private terrace (with roof), upped their game at breakfast and remembered to smile a bit more the price would have been good value.

On the way out on leaving, an older man was very enthusiastic about the local area and tried in vain to find us an English guidebook to the area. If this passion had been demonstrated throughout our stay five star reviews would come flooding in.

Room Tip: Take a standard room with sea view, great location, short walk from beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chjeltenham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This family run hotel is a real find. Set on the sea front with just a pedestrian area separating you and the sunsets and with its own sun bathing platform, it really does not get much better than this. We had a room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the sea and breakfast was served outside whilst dinner (reserve a table) was on the sea platform. There are seating areas around the hotel and if you want the beach, a hundred metres away then you can reserve a a parasoll and beach chairs.

There are numerous restaurants in the town, all within easy strolling distance, but you really should go up the mountain to the old town of Castellabate and have lunch at the restuarant overlooking the bay and the sea.

Weekends are hectic with Italians taking weekend breaks, but come Sunday evening the town reverts to a more sedate pace of life.

We will definately be back and we will repeat the lunch we had on our way back to Naples in Paestrum in a restaurant which is at the opposite end of the 'town' to the large car park.

Room Tip: First floor bedrooms overlooking the sea have larger balconies!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Dropped in for a lunch on the ground floor restaurant on the waterfront. Exceptional service, wonderful wine and really good food. The perfect place to have a relaxing meal with a fantastic view. It´s pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sirio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sirio Hotel

Address: Via Lungomare De Simone 15, 84072 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sirio Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Villa Sirio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sirio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.