We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mare to your Saves list
Hotel Mare
Via Michelangelo, 84043 Agropoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Agropoli
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Mare for two weeks in mid-June 2012. I have spent many vacations in the United States and the Carribean, but have never before been moved to comment on Tripadvisor. Our visit to the Hotel Mare is truly an exception to the norm.

We had a great time, and were treated almost like family throughout our stay. Thanks to all the staff, with special mention to "Mo-met" and Angelina, for all their attention and help, and to the Vespa scooter-driving dining room assistant (Emelia) who had a most earnest facial expression and an infectious smile..

First of all, the food. It was great, and there was plenty of it. Each lunch and dinner included at least two fresh-cooked courses, and we always had at least two choices for each course. The Cilento style of cooking is refreshing and delicious. I even enjoyed the seafood, and I am not generally a seafood lover. The way seafood is prepared at the Hotel Mare, however, proved exceptionally delicious. The variety of meat dishes (pork, lamb, beef) were also fabulous, especially the various pork dishes. Several dinners were presented outdoors in a canopied outdoor dining area. These were fun and relaxing. Wine was served with every meal (except of course the continental breakfasts). The presence of real Italian guests at the hotel in my view also speaks volumes as to the quality and authenticity of the food. I was treated to a tour of the kitchen, which is large, well equipped, and spotlessly clean. Kudus to the Chef and the kitchen staff.

The location as well was hard to beat, near to downtown but adjacent to a sandy beach (the Hotel provides beach umbrellas and deck chairs), and of course the refreshing pool. We had only a short walk to go to get to the medieval city and its 8th century gate. As well, the train station was only a 15 minute walk away (the station was, however, far enough away that we never heard any train traffic from the hotel). The trains were convenient and inexpensive. We visited Pompei, Mount Vesuvius, the Greek ruins at Paestum and, of course, the castle in old Agropoli. For each of the excursions which spanned the lunch period, we were provided a box-lunch with a sandwich made of chese and cold cuts (which were varied from day to day) along with juice, fruit and water). The hotel even provided a box lunch on our departure.

Our room (ocean view) had a great view of the sea, the bay at Agropoli, and across the bay the promontory at the top of which rests the medieval castle. Our room was very clean, and we appreciated the tile floors which held no "carpet surprises". The shower was small (typical Italian stye, as I understand), but I am a fairly large guy, and had no difficulty adapting to the differing styles of differing cultures. Otherwise, the bathroom is well supplied, featuring a bidet along with the usual bathroom fixtures. The air-conditioning worked well, and ensured that the nocturnal supply of mosquitoes (which seemend to diminish during our second week, later in June) were kept outside. There was no problem with bugs during the day.

Some have mentioned the king-sized bed being two singles attached with a split down the middle. This is indeed the case. I have also encountered this in France, and while it seems odd, one can quickly adapt to it, We slept well.

All in all, a great Taste of Italy.

Room Tip: It is worth getting an Ocean View room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    46
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
74
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Mare last fall with air transat holidays. When we left they were renovating the rooms. We enjoyed our stay and the staff were lovely. The food was typically Italian and home cooked. If we asked for something we usually got it, including our Cappachino in the morning. We loved Agropoli and could get around by bus and train from there. Would go back...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

we stayed one week at the end of May. we were not sure whether to choose la darsena or mare, at the end we chose Mare cause of its proximity to the train station. That's was a good choice since all the excursion were accessible by train. the room was clean and spacious for a European hotel. the food was absolutely amazing. There was one or two days that I did not like what they served. The staff is wonderful. Sergio and valentina went out of their way to help us meet or needs. they printed train schedules, directions to sites.. overall we were happy with our stay. we planned our own excursions and saved money on doing an orgaised tour. the last night we spend in rome. we were able to see a lot in rome considering that we only had a day. train to rome cost 30 euros each one way. we stayed at a hotel juts by the train station to cut on cost of a cab. and then the next day we took a shuttle from the train station to the airport for 7 euros each.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Mare for the week of May 18th and have started a new fund for next year's trip.
Three years ago I stayed at the sister hotel La Darsena. I would go back to both in a heart beat, but I think Hotel Mare will win out on our next trip.
The location is absolutely beautiful and convenient.
The staff..... where do I start with the staff. I have never excperienced such kindness and eagerness to help. We had a real sense of friendship. Angelica, Valentina and Lu Ma La at the front desk are fantastic. They made such an effort to understand our bumbling Italian when we asked for directions, etc. They never got impatient.
Sergio and Mohamed, our wait staff, were phenomenal. They would get you anything you asked for. (we mostly asked for more wine) The food was always amazing, each day better than the last.
Our room was clean and amazing. If you are travelling with 3 or more people, ask for room 236. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and the castle, plus a terrace looking over the sea and the boardwalk. It was very picturesque.
A huge factor in our decision to go back to Hotel Mare next year was the incredible staff.
- Bridgett, Andria and Chris

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I are just coming back from a 2 weeks in Italy, 12 days were spent at the hotel Mare. The location is just perfect, close to the beach, to the old town center and the train station. Friendly staff and very helpfull, giving good informations and tour tips. As far the food, we had always a choice of pasta entries or soup, pasta, meat, sea foods or fish as main course and at dinner a surprise dessert, always made with fresh local products. For those planning to take this tour with Air Transat, all the main tourist attractions and main cities are easily accessible by train at a very low price. You could take the train and get to Napoli, Salerno for a few euros and from Salerno you have acces to ferries and boat that gives you access to the Almafitan Coast (Amalfi, Positano, ect...) and Capri Island.
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mare and are strongly recommend this hotel, you will think you are with family.

Room Tip: always ask for the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from an Air Transat vacation to Hotel Mare. Yes, it's at least 4 hours from Rome so be prepared for the bus ride. Overall, it was very nice ans we had a great time! The hotel is quiet and the view from the room is stunning. The staff is also very friendly.

The food is tasty and again of good value. There were no fuss about getting box lunches on days where we were out on excursions.

It is true that the beds are twin beds put together and that the mattresses are firm. The bathroom was nice and the entire hotel, including the rooms, were clean.

This hotel is located approx. 15 mins from the train station. If you tour around on your own, you might want to learn the word 'ritorno' that way you have your tickets on hand to come back; sometimes, the offices of the train stations are closed and we found that the bus tickets are not necessarily sold where you'd expect them to be sold.

Perhaps, people who would prefer to have staff more fluent in French or in English should consider going to the Darsena (as it appears that more Canadians go there); however know that we were understood.

For a European vacation, this is very good value.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have been to this hotel 3 years in a row and found this to be a great deal. The sea view from our hotel was magnificent and memorable. The staff was pleasant, friendly and offered good advice on places to see. The room was very clean and comfortable. Most importantly , it was quite. This hotel offers free parking and you can come and go as you please. Just be aware that the gate closes at midnight.
This is a great place to stay as your center point. The meals are reasonable and if you decide to site see or go to the beach for the day, they will pack a lunch for you. What hotel offers you that? Everything is within walking distance and if you don't feel like going out, the hotel offers a bar area where you can have a few drinks and relax. The staff have always been very friendly and that's why we go back.
We will be going back to Hotel Mare this September again, and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit the Amafi coast.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and book the sea view room....stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare

Address: Via Michelangelo, 84043 Agropoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Agropoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agropoli
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agropoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Hotel Agropoli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.