We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat and relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Arch Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castle Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Arch Hotel
Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Trim
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are local to the Castle Arch but we keep going back. It is a great place to have a meal and relax. The menu is good and varied. Personally I love the carbonarra. The value is very good. We have started to have family lunch's there to get everyone together and we are always very well looked after. The staff are always friendly and chatty and service is excellent. This is a very popular place with and has a very good reputation locally.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear TravellingCouple64

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Thank you for your lovely comments, i will make sure to pass them onto the Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    58
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
33
83
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N. IRELAND
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

we've had several short stays at castle arch hotel and have enjoyed every moment.
friendly helpful staff throughout with good food and drink. the hotel is centrally located and a good base for visiting the the surroundingt area. we have availed of some excellent deals and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear SAILORSAM13

Thank you for taking the time to post your Review.
I'm delighted you had yet another pleasant stay with us.
We are always delighted to welcome our Regular Guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As we did last year for our annual Bowls Club Party we decided to stay overnight -even though we live locally.We had asked for the same room as last year, which was quite comfortable, but the lovely receptionist Linda told us that we would not be staying in that room, that she would upgrade us to the Bridal Suite!! Such a large room with all facilities and more, and the bed so comfortable. Many thanks to Linda and all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Shiela 93

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

just back from one night stay, enjoyed the evening meal , the room was huge and the bed is the most comfortable i slept in while away . TV needs to be update , breakfast hit the spot this morning . Will be back again . Thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sharon A

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are currently in the Process of Upgrading the Room Features.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went here for a short break at hallowen, the price was very reasonable for a two night stay with breakfast, 59 euros per night. The hotel was very clean, the room big, beds very comfortable. The television was very old and outdated but that was the only bad thing I could say about the room.

We were put in room 115 which was quite a walk from reception. There was a function in the hotel on 31st October which we were not informed about about and as our room seemed to be over this area the noise was very loud, thankfully we never go anywhere without ear plugs otherwise we would not have got no sleep.

We ate in the hotel the first night and the meal was good, my partner said he could have eaten more but the food on the whole was well presented and tasty.

The breakfast was nice, you could order whatever you wanted and it was catered for.

Trim is quite central for travelling about Co Meath. I would recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Ron37

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
In relation to your room allocation, the Hotel is very busy local functions but we do our best to allocate Guests a quiet room for the duration of their stay with us.
I apologize that you experienced some noise disturbance.
On your next visit i would be personally delighted to make sure your stay is perfect!

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Attended a wedding recently in the Castle Arch. When booking in was asked to pay for our one night stay up front which i thought was unusual. Went up to our room which we considered very basic with an outated TV in the room. The wedding reception itself was well organised and food good. However my big problem was with Breakfast the following morning. We had to ask to be served on two occassions before we were looked after. One very prominent member of the Bridal Party arrived in the so called Dining Room at 10.15 and we asked a member of staff to take their order and were told "i will be back in 2 minutes". After 20 minutes I asked another member of staff who was extremely rood to take an order and she refused point blank to do so as it was after 10.30. We explained that they were there for 20 minutes but she would not change her mind and only offered tea and toast. We asked to see the manager and when we explained what happened to be fair to her she arranged the "Full Irish" which should have happened in the first place. However they were not tea or toast onlt the basic Breakfast. Tea was served from a pumped dispenser which the staff had to be asked to replemish as was the case with the milk jug and juice dispenser. In tis day and age this should not be tolerated and there was a lack of staff to cater for a Wedding Party Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Beps51

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the Wedding.
In relation to paying for your Room on arrival, guests are given the choice to leave credit card details at the front desk until departure or if a guest wishes to settle their bill with Cash it is the Hotel's policy that this is done on arrival. I am glad to hear a manager assisted with the issue you had with breakfast. I appreciate your candid comments and i will take them on board in order to make sure that your next stay with us will be perfect!!

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin. Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

hotel is just on the outside of the centre, just back from two nights stay, the staff couldnt do enough, the room was huge and the bed is the most comfortable i slept in, taxis were organised no problem and the breakfast is also superb.

cant recommended enough

staff brilliant, catered to every demand. and it was all for only 98 euro for two nights BARGAIN

will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear hellrazor007

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I will pass your kind words on to the Team here.
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We Hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arch Hotel

Address: Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Arch Hotel is nestled in the heart of the heritage town of Trim and over the years has become Trim’s most established hotel with its genuine charm the elegance of this hotel will captivate you. The Castle Arch Hotel is surrounded by local history and the famous castle of King John is only a short walk away.With 23 bedrooms the Castle Arch is an ideal venue for a break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.