We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Once Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Arch Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Arch Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Once Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Again I had to take the time to post a review. We stayed on Tuesday 1st November and brought some friends also. Everything about the hotel met our expectations as we stayed before. Bedroom, Food, Friendliness of staff were excellent. Compliments to the chef on the excellent pasta !

Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay. We will definately be back.

Regards

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear h0telcat
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We love to Hear that Guests have enjoyed their Stay with us.
It's always great to welcome back our Return Guests such as yourselves.
Im sure we will see you both again soon.
I will pass your Lovely Comments onto the Team Here.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    68
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
42
93
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We chanced upon this hotel while visiting friends in the area. The hotel staff are friendly and the room clean and well-furnished. The rate was also very reasonable as reflected in the excellent value I rate this hotel.

Some of the reviews mentioned the food was good. However, we cannot disagree with that more. We ate in the first night and the food was very poor indeed. Cannot fault the service though - all very friendly. The next day we decided to eat out and found a Chinese restaurant Marigold which is within walking distance [towards town] from the hotel. The food there was much more edible than the hotel's.

Room Tip: Our room faces the carpark but it was quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear choon
Thank you for taking the time to post your Review.
Thank you for your kind words in relation to our Staff.
In relation to the Food, The Hotel comes very highly recommended for Food in the Local Community, had you mentioned that you did not enjoy the Food we could of tried to remedy this while you were with us.
I welcome all Guest comments and i will look into this Matter on your Behalf.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel so you can taste the Improvements for yourself.
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is in a nice location about ten minutes walk from the Castle. The rooms were nice but we were kept up very late with the music from the nightclub attached to the hotel.
Soundproofing aside the restaurant also left a bit to be desired, breakfast was mostly overcooked.
It's a cute little hotel but just didn't impress.

Room Tip: Facing the front if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear michadaly
Thank you for taking the time to post your Review.
The Hotel does have a Nightclub on the Premises for Guests who wish to enjoy some Music.
We also have rooms away from the Nightclub for Guests not wishing to use the Nightclub.
We are also renowned for our Food here at the hotel. I apologize that you were not impressed on this visit.
I will take your comments on board as we are always trying to Improve for our Guests & Customers.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel so you can see the Improvements.
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as a member of a wedding party on the 7th, the hotel was fantastic, spotless,being a former house keeper myself. i have to say there was not a spot of dust any where in the room where i stayed. the set up for the wedding reception was beautiful, food was outstanding, and the staff where great, looking after every little thing possible, breakfast smelled lovely, though i didn't have any "i was hungover" my partner said it was very tasty.
Managers and staff alike, should pat them self's on the back, outstanding job.
Thank you very much

Amanda

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear amanda m

Thank you for taking the time to post your Review on TripAdvisor.
Also thank you for your Kind words, i will pass them on to the Team Here.
We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had a wonderful room with a king size bed and jacuzzi tub, probably one of the larger rooms in the hotel. It was all very nice and conveniently located but there was very little going on. We were there for the Solheim Cup at nearby Killeen Castle and expected to see many guests from the tournament. In fact, there seemed to be very few guests as evidenced by the limited number of people there for breakfast. Most traffic seemed to be for the restaurant and private parties. This lack of hustle and bustle somewhat detracted from our experience since we had been in B&Bs all over Ireland previously which, of course, have a reputation for personable interaction.

There were heave tapestries over the bed which leant a regal touch but they needed cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Patricia D

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
On that particular Weekend the hotel was fully occupied with the Nearby Solheim Cup.
We are a small 21 Bedroom Hotel and we pride ourselves on giving all of our Guests a Relaxing Time while they are with us.
We Hope to see you both again soon.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Castle Arch is nice & quiet with enough parking space as well. The rooms are comfortable and the pub & restaurant offer good service.
The chambermaids didn't have a good day when we stayed for 2 nights; the bed was made as if someone was in a real hurry. But the room was clean and fresh towels were laid out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Michael C
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have taken your comments on board in relation to the housekeeping Department.
We hope to see you again Soon.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Went there on a package for lunch dinner and b&b for my sisters hen. Fantastic hotel and staff. Went above and beobd for us.
Lunch was huge, dinner was amazing, everything was perfection and have never been treated better.. Would highly re comend this hotel. In particular for large groups.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Curranbun

Thank you for taking the time to post your Review
i am so glad you enjoyed your Stay with us.
I will pass your Comments onto the Team.

Hope to see you again soon and that your Sisters Wedding Went well.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arch Hotel

Address: Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Arch Hotel is nestled in the heart of the heritage town of Trim and over the years has become Trim’s most established hotel with its genuine charm the elegance of this hotel will captivate you. The Castle Arch Hotel is surrounded by local history and the famous castle of King John is only a short walk away.With 23 bedrooms the Castle Arch is an ideal venue for a break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Castle Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.