We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, spacious houses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Trim, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Killarney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, spacious houses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from staying in the Knightsbrook hotel in Trim Co Meath. The hotel was full so we had to stay in one of the houses on the grounds, and we weren't too sure what to expect. The houses were so comfortable, spacious and clean. We couldn't fault them. The hotel itself was very busy with a wedding, yet when i asked for an area to seat around 20 people, one of the bar staff (I didn't get her name, but i think she was a supervisor) couldn't do enough for us and arranged a private area which was perfect. We had a meal that evening that was very nice, followed by drinks in the smaller of the two bars, where the two staff members were fast and friendly. All the staff that we encountered were really friendly and helpful, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice weekend away, with or without kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear mammyKilarney

Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay last weekend at Knightsbrook Hotel. It was a particularly busy weekend throughout the Hotel and I am delighted that the team here were able to cater for your requirements. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Knightsbrook Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    221
    93
    40
    23
See reviews for
259
357
8
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in .Myself and my husband booked in for 2 nights just to chill out and thats what we did .From the time we walked in to the hotel the staff were just lovely and friendly and the place was spotless .Our room was nice and we had a huge bed and it was the most comfy bed ever !!!!!Breakfast was really nice a huge selection from hot to cold .We didn't use the spa but it looked really nice .The food in the bar was amazing and if your into golf it looked pretty good .There isn't alot in Trim but we just went to chill out so we didn't venture out .We will be 10 years married in Oct and we are hoping to return to the hotel to stay for a few nights to celabrate :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear jenkearney2

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay at Knightsbrook Hotel. I am delighted you got to enjoy the facilities we have to offer here and the wonderful, friendly staff and hope that you will return to stay with us for your Anniversary Celebrations in October. Perhaps you will also get the opportunity to visit the town of Trim on your return.

I look forward to welcoming you both back to Knightsbrook soon.

Kind Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Once again we were treated very well in the Knightsbrook Hotel. We went back for our first anniversary and had a beautiful meal in Rococo restaurant. The hotel was very busy with weddings but the staff still looked after us very well with the same friendliness and attention to detail. We had a massage in the River Spa which was to die for. Can't wait to go back to spoil ourselves again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Jennifer C

Congratulations on celebrating your 1st Wedding Anniversary and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Knightsbrook. It is always a great pleasure to welcome back our past Brides & Grooms and I am delighted that you were well look after by the team here once again.

I look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Kind Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This review is long overdue!! We held our wedding reception in Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort in May 2012 and while we understood immediately how much the hotel had delivered the WOW factor – it is only more recently after attending 3 other weddings in quick succession at different venues that we really appreciate how far out all the stops were pulled by Patrick & the staff to make our day so special.
From the 1st time we viewed the hotel to consider it as a venue and met Sinead, the wedding manager – we were hooked immediately. Such was the level of professionalism that she showed us that day, we were so confident in the venue that we cancelled the 2 appointments for the following day to view other locations and booked it on the spot. Every contact prior to the wedding extended our confidence in the fact that we really had found somewhere special to celebrate our big day. The level of confidence she gave us in both her abilities and the hotels meant that we virtually went with all her recommendations and are totally happy that this was the right decision. To personalise the day a little further we were also able to discuss variations of the menu options with the head chef, John.
The day itself was flawless with all our guests giving the venue, the atmosphere, the food & the rooms rave reviews. All the staff made us feel at home, at ease and comfortable throughout the day. Their overall professionalism was 1st evident from the fact that the general manager Patrick, as well as Sinead and the 2 banqueting managers – Caroline & Mark greeted us at the front door upon our arrival. For them to serve over 260 top-class meals in as efficient manner as they did that day says something about the quality of staff!!
While it was a late night (!!!), the following day saw ourselves and many of our guests enjoy the golf course and the spa – both of which were top class – before adjourning to the golf club for a BBQ reception. Again, in one word – faultless!!!!
We simply could not recommend the Knightsbrook highly enough for any event or occasion – but as a wedding venue it is spectacular. All the staff even look happy to be there and are always ready to assist – something that can be quite rare nowadays.
To Patrick, Sinead, Mark, Caroline, John & every member of staff for creating & delivering a huge WOW factor to us and all our guests – THANK YOU.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Buckthorn1

Thank you for sharing your experience of Knightsbrook Hotel and I hope that you are enjoying married life. You have been very generous with your praise of the Hotel staff and facilities and thank you so much for that. I am delighted that your day was such a memorable one and I hope that we will be welcoming you back to Knightsbrook very very soon.

Kind Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just recently got married (feb 2013) in knightsbrook hotel and our wedding day was just perfect. The venue itself is spectacular and the service we recieved in my view is unrivaled. From Aoife and the reception staff, to Oliver & bar staff and waittresses, to the general manager Patrick,to Caroline and of course the wonderful wedding & events manager Sinead,you all are a brilliant team. Our food on the day was amazing and considering you were catering for 300 guests you exceeded all our expectations. The personal touch each staff member displays is something you dont see anywhere nowadays. Thanks Knightsbrook for making our day so special and memorable. Damian & Natasha Keenan

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear damiankeenan

Congratulations on your Wedding and thank you for letting us here at Knightsbrook play a part in the celebrations. We certainly enjoyed looking after you all and I think as you have so kindly said in your review, the personal touch was given from all departments and I am very proud of the 'brilliant team' here.

I wish you both every happiness in your future together and look forward to welcoming you back to Knightsbrook Hotel for many years to come.

Kind Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having read previous reviews I was really looking forward to a weekend away with my fiancee for Valentines. Alas it was a most disappointing visit. The highlight of the visit was our trip to a local Indinian Restaurant called KHAN SPICES in Trim, a must for any Indian fan. Back to Knightsbrook Hotel, I found the staff must indifferent, infact on checkin the receiptionist was yawning, not a good start.
On a positive the rooms were really nice, but no more that O would expect for the prices.

We are currently looking at wedding venues this hotel will not be on our list. It just felt like we were an inconvenience to the staff.

We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Get a room with a golf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear bobbymolloy

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent stay at Knightsbrook Hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your weekend away with your fiancee for Valentines. Here at Knightsbrook Hotel, we pride ourselves on our commitment to putting our Customers first and looking after their needs and requirements - we have received many wonderful comments both here and addressed personally to myself regarding how well the team throughout the Hotel are welcoming and friendly and accommodating to our guests and I was disappointed to read that you did not feel this was the case.

I hope that perhaps if you are in the area again you might consider returning to Knightsbrook Hotel.

Kind Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my two sisters and mother for a girlie weekend away! Check in was nice and easy with a friendly girl on reception, had dinner reservations made and wanted to change them slightly which was no problem what so ever and done very quickly when we arrived! Rooms were fab, we got one overlooking the golf course, this gave me the chance to take the camera out and play with the view from my window! For any amateur photographers out there Trim has some spectacular views especially at nightime with the castle in lights!
Had dinner in the Rococo restaurant, dinner was really excellent and the staff were great!
We got breakfast in bed the following morning which was a little cold but tasted good all the same! Check out was quick and easy and the receptionist was really lovely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear pamweld,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following you recent stay at Knightsbrook Hotel. I am delighted the team here looked after you and your sisters & mother. My apologies that the room service breakfast was cold. I hope that you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Dublin Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the historic Boyne Valley, Knightsbrook Hotel Spa and Golf Resort welcomes you to sample our beautiful 4 star luxury accommodation. The Knightsbrook is one of Ireland's most prestigious and exciting life style developments, promising a combination of luxury and modern sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knightsbrook Hotel And Golf Resort
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Trim
Knightsbrook Hotel Trim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.