We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trim Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Trim Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Trim, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed in Trim Castle Hotel for 1 night with my husband. The location is stunning-particularly at night when you can look across and admire Trim Castle all lit up. The Hotel itself is absolutely spotless, the interior design is gorgeous and there are many quirky features that add to it. The room was really impressive, very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was good but I felt the choice of cooked food was very limited (I would have liked some scrambled eggs!). The staff are all pleasant but they wont wow you with any extra effort. To be fair though it is a beautiful Hotel and I certainly would like to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Dear Aoibhinn
Thank you for your feedback and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.I have addressed your comments regarding the breakfast buffet which i hope you will notice should we have the pleasure of your return in the future.

Kind Regards
Noel Comer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    205
    61
    20
    9
See reviews for
128
325
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed as part of a hen party recently. I've been on ots of hens and expected the same sloppy service that hen groups often get. Couldn't have been more wrong! the hotel is gorgeous, the food delicious and of a very high standard and I have never come accross better staff, they genuinely couldn't do enough for us! From the moment we arrived they did everything they could to ensure we had a great weekend with lttle touches that we hadn't expected but were so welcome.Cinema night on Friday was exceptional! Big thank to every single member of staff!! You're a credit to the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Dear Irishbelle30

Thank you for your review and i really appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay with us.I will pass on your comments to the team.
Warmest Regards
Noel Comer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Could not recommend the trim castle hotel anymore, immensely enjoyed our stay and unbelievable value for money.. Bad reviews do the hotel no justice... Can get quite warm in room but had no problem with leaving window open!! Dinner in Bailey bar was absolutely gorgeous and great value for money with 4 courses at 19.95. It is so easy to get to. Really cannot thank you enough for our very enjoyable stay...

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear Jemclarke
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Trim.
Regards
Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed for 1 night on a two week journey and we still miss it. Showed up in the rain and we were immediately checked in. We were given a room with the trim castle right out the window, very beautiful view. Room is very upscale and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant and the service was slow, never came to refill our Guinness/drinks. Beds were very comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Lots of thongs to do (trim castle, bective abbey, river walk). Beautiful hotel

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Gerbert123
Thank you for your review and i am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.Please contact me should you intend visiting Trim in the future i will make sure your Guinness is well topped up.

Warmest Regards
Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

on arrival things looked good. etc etc . but dont eat here .waiting 40 min for main course and believe me it was not worth the wait. over priced and terrible

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Dorthychr
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Hotel.I am sorry if we did not achive our normal high standard of food and service on this occasion, however i do believe that at €25 for 4 course dinner in our Restaurant and €18.95 for 4 course dinner in our Bar it is very good value.

Regards
Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Upon checking in I asked for two castle view rooms. After a long length of time, she assigned us two rooms. I was very disappointed when we walked into the rooms and there was absolutely no view at all. I called down to the front desk and was told that there were no view rooms available (why didn't she tell me this when we checked in!). Upon returning to our rooms at 9 p.m. we were greated with very loud music. After calling the front desk we were told that there was a wedding at the hotel and that the two rooms assigned to us at check in were DIRECTLY above the wedding reception area and that we could expect the music to go on until 2:00 a.m. The hotel did not have any other rooms available. We packed our bags and checked out. I found this hotel to be very dishonest with us from the very beginning. I truly expected more from what is purportedly a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear 2379ptkslk
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us and that we could not fulfill your request for a castle view room.As you had no reservation and we had only 2 rooms available we were not able to offer you our quieter rooms.I apoligize if you were misled in any way.
Regards
Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

i was here for a wedding recently. The interior is outstanding absolutely gorgeous. The ballroom was decorated in the nicest i have seen at a wedding. The food was absolutely gorgeous every course was perfect and delicious what great chefs they have. One female member of staff i found quite rude and had a face on her like she was chewing a wasp but the rest of the waiting staff were lovely. The rooms were lovely altough no remote control for television. Found it annoying you could only buy cigarettes downstairs at reception but they are only minor things. I would definitely recommend to others and i have heard nothing but good feedback from all the guests especially the food. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear nlk9
Thank you for your kind words and i am delighted you enjoyed the wedding reception.I will look into the minor issues you mentioned.
Kind Regards
Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trim Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.