We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel located in the centre of this historic Irish town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trim Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Trim Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Trim, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athboy, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel located in the centre of this historic Irish town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lovely hotel, offering a great venue for business or social meetings. We used the conference rooms for meetings and were happy to see that there was a good range of pasteries on offer with morning coffee, nice bright airy meeting rooms and lovely lunch. While we were out for lunch our room was refreshed and had lovely arrangements of fruit put in for use in the afternoon. You are so close to King Johns Castle you could almost touch it.

Room Tip: Its nice to get a room on the upper floor to get the best vantage point for views of the Castle and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Margaret D

We appreciate your feedback regarding your visits to Trim Castle Hotel. I will pass your kind comments on to the Team.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    202
    61
    20
    9
See reviews for
128
323
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Dublin airport. Lots interesting places to see in town and surrounding area. Nice large room, with comfortable bed. Unfortunately the bath water was cold when I tried to have a bath at night. In the morning it was hot. Food in bar restaurant was fine. Breakfast was the usual buffet. It would of been nice to have had a castle view from our room, especially as hotel was not full.

Room Tip: Nice and handy for Dublin airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Louise S

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Trim. Thank you for your comments and i hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Trim Castle Hotel offers well appointed rooms in a lovely country town. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient. The room was spotlessly clean and provided everything that anyone could need. Breakfast was well presented and we had a lovely evening meal in the bar area.The package we purchased was excellent value for money. We would thoroughly recommend the Trim Castle hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear AandKG

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to Trim. We appreciate your kind comments and your recommendation.

Many Thanks

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a wonderful experience in the Trim Castle Hotel yesterdayto celebreate our parents golden wedding anniversary. We had a beautiful room overlooking King Johns Castle and St Patricks Church - the views were absolutely breath-taking. We had a fabalous meal enjoyed by everyone. The service was excellent! from our arrival until our departure we were looked after so well. I cannot recommend this hotel enough! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle - magical to see it first thing in the morning when you wak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mcgillicuddys

We were honoured to host your parent's golden wedding anniversary. I am delighted that you all enjoyed the occasion and i will pass on your comments to the team.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneymore, Londonderry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Chose this hotel to be near an event we were attending close by. Beautiful hotel. There was a wedding in the hotel which I dreaded as I wanted a good nights sleep. Must say that the room we changed to (we originally had booked an executive suite which is located on the floor above the wedding reception but asked to be changed to a quiet room) was very comfortable. We couldn't hear the wedding reception and the bed was so soft and comfortable that we both had a great nights sleep. Must be the most comfortable bed we have slept in in a hotel. This was just a quick overnight stay and we didn't get a chance to sample the restaurant but would definitely arrange to go back. The only downside was the fact that you had to pay for to park in the hotel car park - quite strange as we have stayed in hotels all over the world and were not asked to pay. Outside on the balcony there was an astray that must of had 100 cigarette butts in it which was not very nice but overall quite clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear 91Muff

I am delighted that you had a restful stay with us recently. We very much appreciate your feedback.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Situated right next to Trim castle on lovely castle street, this place is a keeper. Modern rooms that are comfortable and clean, friendly staff, cozy lobby, etc.
This is a wedding destination, so we chose to stay on the 3rd floor to avoid noise from the event. However, this may have been a mistake since our room had no view to speak of.
Great place overall, and wonderful brekkies!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the castle. Enjoy in-hotel food. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Ruhu61

We really appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We will definitely have a Castle view suite for your next visit !

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived late and were checked in by a very efficient and friendly receptionist. Our room had a lovely view of the Castle but was a tad on the small size (Room 203), we missed Dinner so cannot comment on food in the restaurant. Breakfast was delightful, we had the full Irish which was very good, our coffee was brought to us by a wonderful gentleman who was knowledgeable about both the hotel and the local facilities. There is no swimming pool on site however they do have special concessions for guests at the nearby Aura Leisure Centre. Be sure to check out the Kilkenny Design shop, it had a sale on so bagged myself a bargain or two!

Room Tip: We had room 203, thankfully the windows opened as it was very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear belle2009

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trim Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.