We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience in Trim Castle Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trim Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Trim Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Trim, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Meath
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My experience in Trim Castle Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I only stayed the one night Sunday into Monday but the experience was excellent, Trim Castle is only across the road and my plan was to propose to my girlfriend during a nice walk around the castle grounds as it was the perfect place.

Anyway the hotel itself was amazing, the staff were friendly and very helpful, our room was spacious and beautiful, I really enjoyed our meal in the bar and our stay was topped off in the morning by having the perfect view of Trim castle covered in a blizzard snow whilst we enjoyed a lovely full Irish breakfast.

I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Mark W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    205
    61
    20
    9
See reviews for
128
325
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had our wedding here last May, and all I can say is this hotel is perfect. It truly was the best day of our lives. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff in particular Patrick (what ever you are paying him increase it! as a person who works with the public myself I was thrilled with his professionalism and politeness) where amazing. I won't ruin all the little touches that surprised and delighted us but I wouldn't even look elsewhere. The food was beautiful, all our guests where happy and well fed. The wedding suite was fabulous I will never forget it. We will be spending our anniversary here as it really was perfect!!
Thank you to all the staff especially Patrick, Jillian, Noel and the girls at the reception :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Tidlytights

Thank you for your kind comments.We were delighted to host your Wedding Reception here at Trim Castle Hotel and we are glad to hear it was such a success.
We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here on a special offer which included room upgrade and meal for two as we were goin to fore golf the following day at Killeen Castle. Location was perfect only a short drive to where we were going and the hotel was pretty easy to find. Room was spotlessly clean and the queen size bed was really comfy. Checking in was a breeze and hotel staff were very friendly. The name is decieving I've had to explain to numerous people that we didnt stay in a castle but the hotel has a beautiful view of the castle especially in the evening when its all lit up. Unfortunately our room was at the back so hadnt a view so maybe might be an idea to request a room with a view of the castle. I would also reccommend eating in the hotel restaurant, food was good and huge portion sizes you def wont go hungry! Breakfast was lovely my only complaint would be there was no menus and when our server came to the table we were asked did we want the full irish, it was only after hearing a different server I realised that there was so many more options but our order was taken by then and the breakfast was delicous an option would have been nice though. I would def return here if I was every in Trim again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Bid86

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trim Castle Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Trim Castle Hotel (22nd December 2012). Because it was so close to Christmas most of us stayed for 3 nights, Fri Sat & Sun. The staff are so helpful and friendly, our rooms were perfect, the food was 1st class. From booking the wedding right up to the day Jillian was a great help with all my emails and phone calls, she and the rest of the staff made my experience very easy and drama free. We have great memories and excellant photographs! I would highly recommend this hotel for weekends away, weddings or even just a meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Lolly67rush

We were honoured to host your wedding at Trim Castle Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments which i will pass on to team.

We wish you every happiness in the future.

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just back from a stay in Trim Castle hotel and happy to say that it was brilliant. We had a meal in the Jules restaurant and it was one of the best meals I have eaten, also my friend who would be hard to please,really enjoyed her meal. The staff were great and very helpful and friendly.
Room was spotless and breakfast was very good. Can't believe this gem of a restaurant was on my doorstep and I did not know about it. Only open on Fridays and Saturdays but please give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Noreen M

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had our wedding at Trim Castle Hotel in 2011 and the whole experience from start to finish was excellent - so we decided to spend a long weekend in Ireland and re-visit Trim Castle for one night - we had a great evening, lovely staff, always very friendly and helpful, amazing food (as always) in Jules restaurant, and a warm welcome in the Bailey bar afterwards. Breakfast the following morning was very good and we really did not want to leave to drive back to Dublin the next day. The whole experience at Trim Castle is really special and it's very good to see that standards have not slipped at all! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Owlsnest

It was lovely to welcome you back to Trim Castle Hotel and we appreciate your kind comments.

Looking forward to your next visit

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recently stayed in Trim Castle Hotel.
Arrived early - we were not disappointed with location of hotel - which was easy to find. Didnt get into room as there had been a wedding the night before and had to wait until quite late for previous guests to vacate the room and room to be cleaned. Booked a family room which overlooked the hotel car park. Facilities in room were good, including iron, ironing board, safe and tea / coffee tray. Two large beds. Plenty of space . Lovely room but looked a bit tired and the TV was too small for the room.

5 minute walk to the centre of Trim. Hotel situated directly opposite the castle and near to the church (church bells acted as an alarm clock !!!) - great location to use as a base to tour Meath / Trim.

The food and service provided by the restaurant and bar area was excellent and beer / wine was good. The staff in the bar / restaurant (ground floor) were friendly and attentive.

Hotel catered for weddings , christenings.......Stayed Sun, Mon, Tue night so do not know how this would affect other guests not connected to these events.

A bit surprised that residents of the hotel had an added charge of 3 Euros per day for parking at the hotel.

Free Wi - fi coverage in hotel and bedroom - however required change of code daily

Good hotel / nice stay - would return and recommend to family and friends .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Loretto K

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we hope will welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trim Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.