We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Highfield House to your Saves list
Highfield House
Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wappingers Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We started our Ireland holiday in Trim at the Highfield House and my only regret is that we stayed there one night instead of many more! The location is great -- right across from Trim Castle, a short walk to town, and a right turn to the roundabout that leads out of Trim. It would make a great base to see Dublin and the sights in County Meath (Hill of Tara, Newgrange, etc). The house itself is fantastic with beautiful grounds and great, large, ensuite rooms. We stumbled in at 7am, half asleep from 9 hours of travel and Geraldine and Ed arranged for tea/coffee and fresh scones even though we weren't to check in until 11am. Could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    47
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
75
135
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here three nights here as a base for outings to Dublin, Newgrange, and even the Giant's Causeway way up in Northern Ireland. Trim is a cute little town and this was a good spot to come back to each night. Our room, #6, came with very high ceilings and was a nice size. The soft bed had numerous layers of bedcovers to suit your needs, and the shower had good water pressure. This room in particular also faces the street and we had a great view of the donkeys munching away in the field across the street. The first time we saw them, we did a double-take since they were neither the ubiquitous sheep nor cows. Apparently, they are well-known residents of the town (for part of the year anyway). Breakfast each morning was delicious and served in elegant surroundings. Clearly, the owners take great pride in making their home a showpiece.

Room Tip: We loved our room - #6 faces the street, but we had no issue with traffic noise. Both the bedroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wife and I spent just one night here in April. Prettiest grounds of any B&B on our trip. Bit of a walk to the town, which we noticed since it rained most of the time. Geraldine was a very gracious hostess, and the breakfast was very good. Only criticism was our upstairs room was small but nicely appointed, but being over 6' the bed was too small for us, and had high head-and-footboards so i couldn't hang over the end. Since i rate my stays primarily on comfort, i have to downgrade because of this. Otherwise is a very nice B&B.

Room Tip: If you're over 6', check out the bed before committing to the room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a most excellent B&B. The detail is incredible. It right across the street from the trim castle. Such beautiful grounds and rooms. Perfection. would recommend this property to anyone traveling to Ireland. Carol and Dan Fisher

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Loved staying here! The room was excellent, the breakfast hearty, and the grounds lovely. There is a walking trail nearby next to the river and Trim Castle is near as well.

Trim is convenient to many other attractions, so we found it an excellent starting point to the holiday. Additionally, Geraldine was the perfect host in many different ways.

I highly recommend Highfield House, and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We visited on 19/4/2014 this was our 3rd visit as a family to this B&B but this is no ordinary B&B it is an absolute pleasure staying in this old converted maternity hospital,the staff and owners can not do enough for you,the breakfast is of very high standard as is the accommodation and its gardens.If your looking for an experience this place is well worth a visit ,already looking forward to our next visit .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

beautiful establishment with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. the room and house was breathtaking, and that doesn't even include the amazing view of the castle and abbey. town is a easy walk and attractions are an easy drive for any day trips. Would recommend to anyone looking for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.