We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highfield House

Save Saved
You added Highfield House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is my second time to stay. On both occasions for a wedding in Trim town. The B&B is within walking distance of the Castle Arch Hotel and a stones throw from Trim Castle Hotel! The breakfast here is great! I stayed in the front single room which has lovely views of the castle although on my first stay the room was bigger with 2 single beds. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Trim!! I paid €55 for the single room for the night which was a fraction of the cost of the Trim Castle Hotel which is a 3 minute walk up the road

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    40
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
111
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This one was the nicest, friendliest and most beautiful accomodation we've been to on our trip in Ireland. Not that other B&Bs are not friendly, they're friendly everywhere but this Guest-House is unbeatable.
The rooms are very nice, spacy and clean. The garden is just beautiful and the staff is sincere too. Breakfast was also delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, Nc
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Highfield House is ideally located if you want to be fairly close to Dublin Airport or to visit Newgrange. But that is only one attribute of many which include a gracious host, Geraldine, who practically stands on her head to make you feel welcome and to anticipate your needs. The house is old but well renovated; we had a spacious modern bathroom, crispy linens and a view of the river and Yellow Steeple ruin through a window ornamented by cascades of blooming flowers. It was almost like looking through a garden--and down onto the real gardens of the home which are impressive. It is easy to walk to the castle or along the path by the river or into the downtown. Breakfast was delicious. And when we asked about where to buy an electrical adapter (ours didn't work in Ireland), Geraldine gave us one, which I thought was certainly going the extra mile in making our stay memorable.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Three of us had a really lovely stay in Highfield House. Highlights included scones and tea on arrival, super comfortable beds, lovely freshly cooked breakfast, and a walk along the river and castle on the doorstep!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our room and en-suite bathroom were perfect. Both were roomier than most B & Bs we stayed in while traveling in Ireland. The rooms, living room and dining room are beautifully decorated. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by Geraldine and her amazing scones and tea! We enjoyed having such a comfortable and spacious living room to gather in with the other couples we were traveling with. Our breakfast in the morning was superb. Geraldine's brown bread, scones, and fresh fruit were a delicious compliment to the made to order omelet her husband Ed prepared. There were many other delicious options to choose from, but my omelet was perfect! They are both such gracious and fun hosts. I highly recommend staying at Highfield House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Easily the best B&B my wife & I ever stayed in. It was an easy drive from Dublin Airport. Geraldine was extremely helpful and friendly. Found place extremely clean, ample room space, block away from Trim Castle, great walk along River Boyne, and easy drive to Newgrange.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Ireland and certainly won't be our last!! My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of September. Upon our arrival Geraldine met us with a very warm welcome, showed us to our room then invited us downstairs for a pot of tea and cakes - perfect - just what we needed. Geraldine and Eddie were excellent hosts, making us extra drinks after breakfast - nothing was too much trouble and they were always on hand if we needed anything, they both have a wealth of knowledge of Ireland so you won't be stuck for things to do or see! The room we stayed in was lovely, very spacious and very clean - the staff work very hard and it shows! The accommodation and surroundings are lovely, warm and inviting - they have worked really hard to get it to this very high standard! The food was excellent and we would definitely recommend the "full Irish". All in all an excellent stay with excellent hosts, we look forward to going back again very soon!! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.