We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more steaks for me in Ireland!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Arch hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Castle Arch hotel
Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Trim
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Barnegat, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No more steaks for me in Ireland!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice warm & cozy bar area. I asked for a rare steak. This was the 3rd steak I was ordering since I arrived & so far none were great. I was told to say bloody & then I was told to order it "blue" I asked for a rare steak that wasn't raw but was rare & bloody. The problem with the steaks are they are so thin they should be used for a steak sandwich & not an 8 oz steak. Cutting the steak so thin it is hard to be able to cook it rare & bloody. Not impressed at all with steak.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“First Irish dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Friendly atmosphere and a fair price for food. Tried our first bacon and cabbage dinner and found it to be very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant Will Do in a Pinch; Bar is better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ate dinner at the Castle Arch Hotel Restaurant. Service was so-so. Waitress failed to write down my dinner salad order with a burger. Chocolate Raspberry cake was dry, but the Irish coffee was tasty. Suggest this place for a drink before dinner; eat elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“friendly meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

dined out with a small group of friends recently. The menu was varied. There was something for everyone. A starter , main meal and dessert came to less than twenty euros each.The service was excellent. Friendly and attentive. Food was good and there was plenty of it.A great place for a family outing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best carvery lunch we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've eaten many carvery lunches over the years, many of them instantly forgettable. So it was a great treat to visit this small Trim hotel recently on a sunny Sunday afternoon. You'd nearly miss the Castle Arch Hotel located as it is off the main street and maybe overshadowed by larger establishments in the neighbourhood. However it's obviously popular with the locals who were there in large numbers. And it easy to see why. The roast beef was absolutely delicious and was accompanied by the tastiest gravy we've ever had and lots of crunchy vegetables and the obligatory Yorkshire pudding. We resisted the temptation to have dessert and enjoyed instead a lovely plate of biscuits with our coffee. A real find in Meath if you're out and about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Arch hotel also viewed

 
Trim, County Meath
 

Been to Castle Arch hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Arch hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.