We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh Cathain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Cathain
Save
You added Tigh Cathain to your Saves list
Longwood Road, Trim, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Collingwood, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

This was probably our favourite place to stay in the 2 weeks we were in Ireland (and we stayed at a different B & B every night). Marie was so welcoming and lovely to chat to. Sunny, the Jack Russell Terrior, was a riot to play with. We got there in the early evening and were able to enjoy the sitting areas outside and bask in the sun and read. It was so peaceful. We enjoyed the lounge in the house once it got a bit too cool outside. We met some other travellers and great conversations with them that evening and in the morning for breakfast. The food was local and fresh and delicious. Love this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    15
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
104
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown,PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This was our first trip to Ireland and what a wonderful way to experience Irish hospitality. When we arrived, Marie greeted us warmly and showed us to our rooms after a short tour of the house. She had even turned on the electric blankets for us so after a long flight our beds were extremely comfortable and cozy. She is a wonderful hostess. Her breakfast was made to order and she had delicious homemade jams from her own garden....MMMM-good! Marie and her husband were wonderful and delightful couple and we would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

From the moment the of our arrival and the warm welcome from Marie. Nothing was too much trouble from Marie and her family. The bedroom were very comfortable, top quality linens and lovely ensuite shower room. Next day we came down to a delicious freshly cooked breakfast, local produce and fresh soda bread the best breakfasts of 2 week stay throughout ireland. We recommend this everyone including families and couples. We can't wait to return!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Tigh Cathain is just what you'd expect when picturing a cozy Irish B&B. Marie's home is two hundred years old and filled with the many things Marie likes to collect. There are beautiful displays of crystal, linens, and figurines throughout the house making it a charming and cozy place to stay. Marie is a warm and welcoming hostess. We were travelling with friends who had never stayed in a B&B before. Tigh Cathain was the perfect introduction to Irish B&B's for them. Marie cooks and serves breakfast herself using the eggs she collects each morning from her very own free range hens. If you are lucky you may even hear her rooster crowing in the backround early one morning.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

I loved, loved my first B&B experience at Tigh! The house was very clean and the rooms were adorable. Marie is a wealth of knowledge on County Meath not just Trim. Breakfast is made to order and fresh. I plan on going back to Ireland and making another stop in Trim and stayin at Tigh! I highly recommend anyone staying there.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

A nice place to stay, this B&B is nicely decorated in an old fashioned way. It was like staying in my grandmother's house again!
Big rooms and bathrooms, you will get a warm feeling straight away.
Friendly hostess.

  • Liked — Spacious and warm
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

My daughter and I rented a car and toured Ireland. Tigh Cathain was our first experience of a B&B. It was a lovely location, clean, wonderful breakfast, close to attractions to visit each day and Marie was a perfect hostess! Marie was very hospitable and helped with tour information. I would highly recommend this B&B and plan to stay again if I get the opportunity to return to Ireland!

  • Liked — Centrally located to see many attractions.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh Cathain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Cathain

Address: Longwood Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tudor style country house ..1km from Trim Castle..location of movie 'Braveheart'...Large luxury ensuite rooms with all amenities.. Free high speed wi/fi internet access, Dublin Airport 40 mins...Secure private parking ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh Cathain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.