We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headfort Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Headfort Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Headfort Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Headfort Place | Kells, Co.Meath, Ireland, Kells, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Castlepollard, Ireland
1 review
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Had our wedding here 14 may staff were very friendly and helpful food was great and our wedding planner joanne was just amazing to any future bride&groom out there i would highly recommend her she just brilliant makes you feel at ease.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Sharon, many thanks for taking the time to review your wedding experience at the Headfort, your feedback is so important to us and it has been shared with all of the team. Wishing you the very best for the future, we hope to see you back with us again soon, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    66
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
46
100
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

On a recommendation from our bus driver we went into the cafe Therese which is located in the hotel. The interior of the hotel is impressive in itself. The food is cafeteria style, yet very home cooked with care and taste. Our hot meal was turkey with dressing, mashed potatoes, mixed veggies, gravy and cranberry sauce. Almost as good as home. Prices are quite reasonable. Our meal less drinks was €20.00. Two small Cokes were €10.00. Very nice bar and lounge. It takes one back to a slower more peaceful time. We loved this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for your review of lunch in Cafe THerese, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience and maybe next time you are in Ireland you might take the opportunity to stay in Kells and discover the Boyne Valley, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a very well run family hotel, situated in the middle of Kells town. Easy access to The Hedford Golf club and all heritage sights. The restaurant in the hotel Vanilla Pod is exelent and the bar next door The Keltic Bar is also very good.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and beds are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback of your stay at the Headfort, we are delighted to know that you found the hotel as a great base to discover the region and also as a golfing base, we hope that you will return on your next visit to Kells, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just back from an enjoyable weekend of golf at Headfort with 10 friends. The hotel staff were friendly and the food was great, as was the service considering the fact that there was a wedding on each of our days and the hotel was very busy.
Would have given a higher rating but for the fact we ended up sharing 3 to room that was only built for two and it was very cramped As it turned out we did not have any golf clothes to dry but if we had I think it would have been very difficult. We were given a small refund which helped to pay for Friday's dinner so not a total loss.The hotel is also noisy even on the third floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear James, Many thanks for your review of your Golfing Weekend in COnjunction with Headfort Golf Club, we are glad to know that you enjoyed both food and hospitality. We apologise that your accommodation was tight, it was one of the busiest weekends of the year and we assure you that if you return that we can allocate you some of our family rooms or twin share only on your request. We did reflect it in your rate on the weekend and with regards to golfing laundry, we luckily have our own in house laundry and are only too happy to help golfers out on request, its part of our golfing service! We do hope to see you back again and if you would consider another golfing break or otherwise, please do contact myself driect and I will look after all of your requirements, Kind Regards,Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Had our wedding there on 4th may in hotel. Was amazing. Couldn't fault one thing from wedding planner to food.
Place is superb, food was amazing. Staff were excellent. Wedding planner joanne was excellent. Would highly recommend

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Stuart, Many thanks for taking the time to review your wedding experience here at the Headfort, it means alot to us that your wedding met all of your expectations and more and that all of your guests felt the same way, wishing you the very best for the future, thank you for choosing the Headfort! Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend in the Hotel with 38 friends from the Erne Vintage Car Club. We had a fantastic stay in the Hotel from the moment we arrived.The staff were excellent ,the food was 5 star ,our rooms were spotlessly clean and the management were more than helpful to make our stay a wonderful weekend. Many thanks to Management and Staff .
Roy, Erne Vintage Car Club Enniskillen.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Roy, Many thanks to you and the Erne Vintage Car Club for reviewing your weekend with us in Kells, it was a pleasure to have you with us and I hope that you will consider us for a return visit in the near future, many thanks for your wonderful feedback, it is greatly appreciated, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I cannot recommend the Headfort Arms highly enough. If I could sum up our experience I'd say; staff were really thoughtful and price was very reasonable and it was excellent value. We had our wedding reception here and the staff really went the extra mile to make it special. In fact they were one step ahead of us on everything and they just had a lovely manner and rapport. No one seemed flustered or stressed, very relaxed, children were safe and not made to feel like a hassle. It was a small wedding meal in the evening and it was everything we hoped it would be, actually it was better. Firstly when we went for a visit and to have a look around the staff were so nice that we booked right away. Edel sorted everything out there and then. We wanted a casual relaxed atmosphere so we used a suite off the main lounge which on the day they had dressed beautifully. We had drinks in the lounge and were able to watch the football then dinner in the suite. The meal was great, flexible and diverse. All the kids ate their meals and vegetarians were catered for. After our meal tables were reserved in the lounge for us and later on the night chips and sausages were brought out to us even though we hadn't requested them. The entertainment in the lounge was perfect for our guests and the atmosphere we wanted. We had both families staying at the hotel. From singles to couples to families with three children. Rooms were comfortable, clean, modern and spacious. Although we just requested a normal room we were given a gorgeous bridal suite with hot tube! And a bottle of champagne was waiting for us! The following morning breakfast was included, really tasty croissants, scones, fruit, full Irish and a cuppa. Again catered for all tastes & diets, everyone including children were looked after. And after all that the price was reasonable, value and quality for your money.
Only minor complaint is that those with rooms over the nightclub had trouble sleeping and parking was tight.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for your great feedback regarding your wedding experience with us here at the Headfort, we really appreciate your positive comments which have been passed to all of the team and especially Edel who looks after couples so personally. We hope to see you back to us in the near future, thank you so much for choosing the Headfort, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Address: Headfort Place | Kells, Co.Meath, Ireland, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headfort Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.