We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Country Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Headfort Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Headfort Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Headfort Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Headfort Place | Kells, Co.Meath, Ireland, Kells, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Country Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We went here for our Christmas party. They gave us quiet rooms to avoid the nightclub so noise was not a problem. Staff are really pleasant to deal with. The room was large and very clean with a good bathroom although it was a bit quirky in that it is also used as a meeting room during the day. Chairs in the wardrobe.

We ate in their restuarant, the Vanilla Pod, and everyone was very impressed. We found it good value overall as we were on a deal. Would go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    66
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
46
101
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here over the weekend, food was great altho a little pricey, room was lovely, comfortable and clean, only MAJOR downside was that it was very very noisy, between the traffic, people outside smoking and chatting, the person above us stomping around like a herd of elephants at all hours, and the inconsiderate guests who thought it was hilarious that "its 5am and we,ve to be up at half 9 for breakfast hee hee" the noise was unbelievable and we found it VERY hard to sleep :( but otherwise it was a nice hotel and Tish our waitress was absolutley lovely :D !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Traveled with a group from down the country to Kells for the Wedding of two very good friends! From the minute we walked in the door of the hotel all the staff couldn't be nicer! We arrived before 12noon and as a hotelier I know it is always very difficult to have rooms back for early check ins, however the receptionist was so good in getting a room for us so quickly! The arrivals reception at the wedding was amazing! I want to get the receipe for the glaze on the cocktail sausages!! Yummy! The hotel had a beautiful fire lighting in the main bar which was so welcoming after been out in the cold! The wedding meal and service was fantastic and it is very obivious that it is a family run hotel! The bedrooms were very clean and comfortably! Well deserving of their 2010 Best 3 Star Hotel Award!! Well Done Everyone and keep up the great work!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed here over the bank holiday weekend at the end of October. The Headfort Arms is an attractive and busy country hotel. The rooms are an excellent size and very comfortable.

Breakfast is good, and the attached restaurant the Vanilla Pod serves good meals too - though their prices are a little steep for the area.

The hotel's small beauty spa is also lovely and very peaceful, and the therapist was very skilled and professional.

My only negative would be the noise when trying to sleep. This hotel is a busy one, having two bars and a nightclub on-site. Despite requesting a quiet room, our room on the 2nd floor was directly over the outside smoking area, so I was kept awake by music and revellers for most of the night on both nights. The bass/beat from the nightclub seemed to travel up through the floors/pillows(!) too, so I'm not sure which rooms in the hotel could avoid being impacted by this. Also, on the Saturday some other guests on our floor had a party in their room (with the door open!), so we could hear this all evening, and the noise of the party guests coming and going up and down from the bar - this 'room party' seemed kind of pointless given that their room was small, and the hotel had two decent bars.....

The hotel's nightlclub would also not be most people's cup of tea - the majority of 'clubbers' are the local (very young) teenagers, and the music reflects this.

But asides from the above negatives, the Headfort Arms is a pleasant Meath hotel, with good and friendly service. But probably not suitable for anyone who wants a quiet weekend/or who cannot sleep through noise disturbance.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not near or above the smoking area, the nightclub or the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

28.10.11
Headfort Arms Hotel,
Headfort Place,
Kells,
Co. Meath

For the attention: Manager - Headfort Arms Hotel
Dear Sir / Madam,
On the 15th October 2011, our golf society visited Headfort for our 2011 annual golf trip. We chose Headfort as it was only a short journey from Dublin to Kells and the golf club and hotel were in close proximity to each other.
We arrived early in Headfort as we had an early morning tee-off time at the golf club, after an enjoyable round of golf (the course was in excellent condition & the staff took excellent care of us), we arrived at the hotel to check-in. When we arrived, it was a pleasure to be greeted with a warm welcome by two members of your staff. They were courteous, professional and friendly, as the “face” of the hotel it made a great first impression.
It was a welcome surprise that our rooms were ready for us when we arrived, we were tired from playing golf and did not want to be waiting around the lobby / bar for us to check in. During check-in, we needed to make a change to the time of our dinner reservation as we had booked our meal at a time that was too late in the evening, this was not a problem at all and the reservation was swiftly changed with no hassle or inconvenience at all to us.
We met for dinner at about 6.30pm that evening, we were shown into a private room where all members of the group could sit together in comfort for our meal and enjoy the “crack & banter” that usually occurs on these types of weekends; it set the scene for a great night.
The meal was fantastic – the quality of the food was nothing short of excellent, from the starter to dessert, everyone was really impressed with the food and there was no problem getting additional servings if we needed it.
Every detail was looked after, the smallest of details like making sure that everyone was served their meal at the same time, drink orders were taken at the same time & we were even given control of the music system to play the songs that we wanted – a great touch!
If we needed anything there was always a member of staff close by to deal with our requests but maintained a distance so that we could get on with enjoying our night.
I must make a special mention about one member of staff in particular, as I have said above all of the members of staff we brilliant however I feel that Joanne deserves a special mention for the way that she looked after us.
Without a doubt, Joanne above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that we had a great stay with you, she is such an approachable person, very professional, extremely helpful and was a great laugh too – she could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable and in my opinion you are very lucky to have such a talented person in your team.
As I hope you can tell, we had a very enjoyable time during our stay with you. We enjoyed our trip so much that we are already planning another trip back down to Headfort for April 2012.
Normally, it is unheard of for us to return to the same location so soon after our last trip but everyone in the party was in agreement that we should return as soon as we possible could – it is already the talking point within the society and we are all really looking forward to returning to your hotel next year.
Thank you once again for the great service & for making us feel so welcome at your hotel.

Warmest Regards,
Kinsealy Inn Golf Society

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We attended the hotel on Sat 29th Oct 2011, Greeted by friendly staff, very helpful, nice hotel, warm and nicely decorated - good atmosphere, rooms a good size, spotless.
Food in the hotel very nice.
They also seem to have entertainment on in different parts to suit all ages.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights for a friends wedding and couldn't have been happier. From the front I wasn't sure the hotel would be great it's not very appealing looking but once we got in we realised that looks can be deceiving. It's quite modern and has a nice bar. The food is really nice and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are modern and very clean, you couldn't ask for more really. Would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Address: Headfort Place | Kells, Co.Meath, Ireland, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headfort Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.