We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea, Cake and Friendly Conversation at Birchwood B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Birchwood B&B to your Saves list
Birchwood B&B
Balrath, Kells, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Kells B&B and Inns
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tea, Cake and Friendly Conversation at Birchwood B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed with you at Birchwood B&B in Ireland in September. Thank you for
giving us excellent directions so that we found our way easily to Newgrange, and
the Battle of the Boyne. Also for your good suggestions of places to eat in Kells.
I also enjoyed sitting with Marie in your kitchen one evening, for tea, cake and
friendly conversation. We pray that God will bless you and your lovely home
in the year to come.

Thank you again for your hospitality to us.

Carol F
California.

Room Tip: Flat Screen TV's with Irish and Satellite stations, also free hi speed wireless internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Carol.

We were delighted to have yourself and your husband staying. Your
phone booking from Hawaii took us by surprise. We first thought it
was a wrong number, but, thankfully, you rang back.

It’s so nice to meet and talk with friendly people.

We are glad to see you got home safely to California.

Thank you for your compliments, and sending the very nice photo of
Tom and I sitting at the dining room table. It is of such a good quality
that we had it enlarged and framed.

Hopefully we will meet again in the future.

Best Wishes.

Tom & Marie Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This b&b lived up to our expectations. It was spotless, nice and warm, the beds were comfortable and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. If I was in the area I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for your helpful comments.

We look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Kells.

Thank you.

Tom & Marie Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here and I wasn't impressed. The rooms were dirty and the shower didn't work great only a small dribble of water came out. We were made feel uncomfortable for the duration of our stay with odd comments such as on arrival "the two men can stay in this room and the two women stay in here". There were other comments such as "the dog will be well fed this morning" when some food was left over at breakfast. When packing up on leaving we were intruded in on and the staff cleaned the room before we had packed up our stuff. We were attending a wedding in the area and were in need of somewhere to stay for the two nights but if we had a choice we would of ran! Very unhappy customer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hangover problem !

It’s a pity you did not identify yourself. I absolutely refute your critical remarks over room cleanliness, or that anybody suggested who should occupy any room. We get random inspections, and meet the high standards required. Our linen is laundered to a high standard by the same people who supply most hotels in the county. Our showers are thermostatically controlled, provide a perfect flow and our hard water is softened, specially for you.

Now let me put our side.

We had nine guests, two holiday makers, Australians, and seven going to your local wedding.
All were asked on arrival if they would like the full breakfast, all said yes. You went to the wedding, and arrived back on Sunday morning as early as 5.40 am. The Australians had asked for breakfast at 8.00 am. My wife and I got up at 7 am, served the two Australians, and they left about 8.30. At 9.00 am the lady who helps came in to hoover, make all beds, clean showers, etc. She could only access one room. At 10.10 am two persons came for breakfast, and returned to their room. They brought up two glasses of drinking water. Somebody was suffering from thirst. By this stage we had already cooked five more breakfasts, but still no sign of anybody coming down. 11 am passed by, still no sign of movement. The help lady had to sit in the kitchen, and wait. At 12am my wife had to attend church, but still you were in bed. By 1 pm both the help lady and I were still waiting for you to appear. At this stage, we wondered if you were ever going to vacate the rooms. Our help then went and started cleaning for our next visitors. You were lucky that it was not I that went to oust you out, as I might not have been so friendly.

The next wedding you are going to, I suggest you drink a bit less, and you will not have such a hangover. I do hope you managed to drive home safely.

OH! Your breakfasts were partly eaten by some men who work with us, and the rest did last the dog for two days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfanaghy, Donegal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were attending a wedding at Kells, travelling from Donegal. . We were three people and had no problem booking in early. Although we booked one double and one single rooms, we were given two ensuite double rooms, Marie, the hostess, could not do enough for us. We were home in the early hours, and rose early for breakfast. After freshening up with a shower, we went for breakfast where we met other people, from the UK, who were attending the same wedding. We had an excellent breakfast, and enjoyed a long most enjoyable conversation with the other guests. It was mid-day when we left for for journey back to Donegal. All of the guests had praise for Marie, the hostess, and her husband Tom, who who told us of his early summer holidays at the Gaelteach, with the O’Donnell family during his early school holidays.
The entire trip was most enjoyable, and we will be back to Birchwood. B&B
Thank you
Stacy

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.. no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Stacy.

Your family were wonderful, friendly people. I find this is general among Donegal
people. We try to get away for a weekend when we can, and will stay at B&B's
anywhere from Donegal town, around to Dunfanaghy. We have never stayed in
a poor one. In any case, we would certainly be happy to see your family again.
I did stay at Rannafast/ Annagry when I was at college. Oddly, our teacher was
a fir gael named Peadar O'Donnel, who passed away just a few years ago. He
was a fluent Irish speaker, and it was his tuition that helped me get good results
in the Irish language at college exams.

agus fuair mé Fáinne Óir

We were delighted to meet you and your family, and would be pleased to meet you again.

Slainte duit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated as if we were family. As we drove up, Marie came out to meet us, showed us around and how everything worked, and answered every question we had about Kells and the area.

Our room was a large en suite room, with king size bed. The bed was exceptionally comfortable with freshly laundered snow white linen.
We had multi channel TV, both Irish and Satellite, and also excellent strength free WiFi, with which I kept in touch with home.
Next morning, a breakfast menu was presented to us, and we chose to have a full breakfast each. That was a mistake - in the morning when we went to the dining, and were presented a 'full' breakfast! Choice of muesli, cereals, juices, large pot of tea, lots of fruits (oranges, bananas, etc) with yoghurts and then the main course, two sausages two eggs, beans, lashings of bacon and toast. And everything extremely well presented and cooked. Because we ate so much we were unable to eat for the rest of the day.
Needless to say we chose to have a lighter breakfast on our second morning there.
I wish all B&B’s were as good.
We HIGHLY recommend BIRCHWOOD B&B
Carol B

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Carol.

Thank you for your kind words. Your tour of the West of Ireland, with visits to
Donegal, Westport in Mayo, Galway and the Burren in Clare, sounded very
interesting.

We were pleased deceided to visit and stop off in Kells. You did very well to get
to see the High Crosses of Kells, St. Columkilles house, and the Book
of Kells, then on to Newgrange and Trim Castle in your few days here.
It was a lot to see in a short time.

I hope you enjoyed your later visit to London and Paris, and had a safe trip home to
Sydney.

Thanks a million.

Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The people that own and run this B&B are honest, kind and caring. They took good care of us and gave us a taste of the legendary Irish hospitality. They were very accommodating, I am a vegan and they even knew what that was, and fed me well! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Cathy.

We pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Once we get advance request, we dont have any
problem providing menu's for special diets. Most people have the standard breakfast, but
if they are towards the end of their vacation, they generally have a light breakfast. Personally,
we seldom eat anything more than a light breakfast, such as oatmeal porridge, and some stewed apple if its available, just to brighten up the taste.

Unfortunatly, this season our trees have yielded a poor apply crop.

We look forward to your next visit to Ireland

I hope your keeping well, and got home safely.

Thank you.

Marie C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at Birchwood in preparation for our flight home from Dublin the next morning. We found it to be particularly suitable for this purpose as the drive into Dublin the next morning was easy, as Birchwood is located just 400 meters from the new M3 motorway.
It took just 40 minutes to get to the Airport.
Marie is an excellent host and made sure we were comfortable and well-prepared to find good restaurants in Kells. We were sad that we could only stay for one night, because the hospitality was tops.

We would definitely recommend this B&B to our friends and family, and will definitely stay here again when we visit Ireland again.

Joan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Good Morning Joan.

Marie and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood. The new M3 motorway is a blessing for us, as the old route, now called the R147, gets terribly congested at towns and villages on route to Dublin. On occasions it used to take up to three hours to get into the city.
The new M3 motorway can get you to the airport in about 40 minutes, and thankfully Birchwood is just 400 meters from the motorway.

We enjoyed your company, and your kind words.

Glad you got home safely. We hope to visit West Springfield, MA. next fall.

Marie & Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood B&B

Address: Balrath, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchwood Bed and Breakfast is a modern farmhouse, at Balrath, Kells, in the heart of county Meath, Ireland. Birchwood has five en-suite rooms, and one standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Birchwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.