We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIRCHWOOD B&B is the BEST !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Birchwood B&B to your Saves list
Birchwood B&B
Balrath, Kells, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Kells B&B and Inns
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BIRCHWOOD B&B is the BEST !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated as if we were family. As we drove up, Marie came out to meet us, showed us around and how everything worked, and answered every question we had about Kells and the area.

Our room was a large en suite room, with king size bed. The bed was exceptionally comfortable with freshly laundered snow white linen.
We had multi channel TV, both Irish and Satellite, and also excellent strength free WiFi, with which I kept in touch with home.
Next morning, a breakfast menu was presented to us, and we chose to have a full breakfast each. That was a mistake - in the morning when we went to the dining, and were presented a 'full' breakfast! Choice of muesli, cereals, juices, large pot of tea, lots of fruits (oranges, bananas, etc) with yoghurts and then the main course, two sausages two eggs, beans, lashings of bacon and toast. And everything extremely well presented and cooked. Because we ate so much we were unable to eat for the rest of the day.
Needless to say we chose to have a lighter breakfast on our second morning there.
I wish all B&B’s were as good.
We HIGHLY recommend BIRCHWOOD B&B
Carol B

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Carol.

Thank you for your kind words. Your tour of the West of Ireland, with visits to
Donegal, Westport in Mayo, Galway and the Burren in Clare, sounded very
interesting.

We were pleased deceided to visit and stop off in Kells. You did very well to get
to see the High Crosses of Kells, St. Columkilles house, and the Book
of Kells, then on to Newgrange and Trim Castle in your few days here.
It was a lot to see in a short time.

I hope you enjoyed your later visit to London and Paris, and had a safe trip home to
Sydney.

Thanks a million.

Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The people that own and run this B&B are honest, kind and caring. They took good care of us and gave us a taste of the legendary Irish hospitality. They were very accommodating, I am a vegan and they even knew what that was, and fed me well! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Cathy.

We pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Once we get advance request, we dont have any
problem providing menu's for special diets. Most people have the standard breakfast, but
if they are towards the end of their vacation, they generally have a light breakfast. Personally,
we seldom eat anything more than a light breakfast, such as oatmeal porridge, and some stewed apple if its available, just to brighten up the taste.

Unfortunatly, this season our trees have yielded a poor apply crop.

We look forward to your next visit to Ireland

I hope your keeping well, and got home safely.

Thank you.

Marie C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at Birchwood in preparation for our flight home from Dublin the next morning. We found it to be particularly suitable for this purpose as the drive into Dublin the next morning was easy, as Birchwood is located just 400 meters from the new M3 motorway.
It took just 40 minutes to get to the Airport.
Marie is an excellent host and made sure we were comfortable and well-prepared to find good restaurants in Kells. We were sad that we could only stay for one night, because the hospitality was tops.

We would definitely recommend this B&B to our friends and family, and will definitely stay here again when we visit Ireland again.

Joan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Good Morning Joan.

Marie and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood. The new M3 motorway is a blessing for us, as the old route, now called the R147, gets terribly congested at towns and villages on route to Dublin. On occasions it used to take up to three hours to get into the city.
The new M3 motorway can get you to the airport in about 40 minutes, and thankfully Birchwood is just 400 meters from the motorway.

We enjoyed your company, and your kind words.

Glad you got home safely. We hope to visit West Springfield, MA. next fall.

Marie & Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I needed to take my mum on a well earnt break and to see other family that live in Ireland. I booked a room for 2 nights at Birchwood B&B. I asked for directions when I booked and was so pleased to get a detail write up. On arrival we were greeted by the lady of the house and also shown around. Room was very clean and spacious with 1 double bed and 1 single. Really enjoyed the cooked breakfast and there was always plenty of tea and coffee.
I decided that I wanted to stay longer and asked if the the room was vacant. Mr Clarke was very helpful and was able to fit us in around the other guests without disrupting any one. I plan to have many more stays at Birchwood B&B. :)
Mrs A Butchers

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Guest Relations Manager at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Good Morning Anita.

Marie & I are pleased both yourself and your mum enjoyed your few days stay, and enjoyed your trip to Glendalough. It's a pity the weather was not better, but we have had a lot of heavy showers this summer.

Best regards to your mum.

Marie & Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our family of four stayed for four nights in authentic Irish hospitality. Our hosts took great care of us and fed us well. We were looking for something that was not a tourist place, but that would still have people who would look out for us and point us to the sights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Good morning Shiela.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, and glad to see you got home safely. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit.

Best wishes to all.

Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Katelijne Waver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had the downstairs room and it was very comfortable with a big badroom. The lady of the house was very friendly and breakfast was fine.
This lady is definitely to old to have a B&B. For instance : we stayed there for 4 nights and not once was our bed made, the litter bin was never emptied and the breakfast table showed signs of breakfasts from days ago !
On top of this the rooms were very expensive : 80 €/Night !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katethehare, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
I wish you had told us at the time so we could have immediately checked and rectified your
complaints during the four days of your stay. We do our best to satisfy. Bedrooms used for
more than one night are made over, and tidied. If there was an oversight emptying a bin, we
apologise.

The dining room table is cleared and cleaned after each breakfast, with my wife or the
lady who helps us, are always going in and out. It was only a matter of mentioning any fault
you noticed.

We charge 70 Euro's for a double room, ensuite, including full breakfast. Your booking
was made through an agency. The agency charged you 40 Euro's for making a guaranteed
booking.

We do advise on our web site, that those wishing to find the best deal telephone Marie,
at 046 9240688

Marie Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood B&B

Address: Balrath, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchwood Bed and Breakfast is a modern farmhouse, at Balrath, Kells, in the heart of county Meath, Ireland. Birchwood has five en-suite rooms, and one standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Birchwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.