We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Swinford Road | Kiltimagh, Kiltimagh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kiltimagh
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel and had a lovely time. Rooms are quite big, most with 2 large beds, clean and quiet, possibly a bit soleless. Wifi is a bit tempramental. Staff just couldn't be more helpful, always attentive, eager to please. I was part of a large group and found the food on the whole good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Margo

Thank you for your lovely review, It was great to welcome you to our hotel. Thankfully the Wifi has been fully restored, and I am sorry for the inconvience to you during your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Claire Mc Dermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    11
    13
    10
See reviews for
40
43
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castlerea, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We would like to thank the park hotel, for a magical experience. We recently got married here in april! And our experience with Claire and her staff was amazing. Every time we rang the hotel Claire was able to relate right back to our last conversation. Which was something that I was very impressed with. I work in hotels myself and I am always watching out for attention to detail.

On the day of our wedding, wow the hotel was amazing, the service in the bar and ballroom was second to none. I always find it very hard to get proper service in hotels for weddings, but my god I was blowed away. Talk about service. The food was dropped out to our guests and NOBODY was left waiting. It was like a miltary operation. There was loads of staff to drop out extra gravy boats and to collect empty glasses, it truely was very very good. The only complaint that I had heard back from our guests was the amount of food firstly given on the plates and then the seconds.

Claire I placed alot of trust in you and I just want to say thank you for the amazing service the delicious food and for making our guests feel welcome.

I certainly would not have any problems recommending this hotel for a wedding.

Thanks again
Aine

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Aine

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to hear of the feedback you recieved from your guests. It was very important to me that You,Dermot and all your family and friends enjoyed your very special day.

We are a relativly new wedding venue, so taking the time to write this feedback means the world to me and our business.

Looking forward to welcoming you and Dermot back to our hotel for many years to come.

Kind Regards

Claire Mc Dermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The lobby is ok and thats about it here. The service is shocking. Was here a few weeks ago with a friend who ordered soup and a coffee. The person serving tried to take the bowl back of my friend while she had the spoon to her mouth.

Service really is bad. Drinks well over priced. Food is also very bad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Lucy loves Patrick

I was disappointed to read your review of our hotel. I am not sure what happened on the occasion of your visit to our hotel. My staff are very attentive but usually wait untill someone has finished there meal before they clear away.

We normally have a great reputation for food and service and maybe it is a bit unfair of you to say our food is awful based on a coffee and Soup .

Our bar prices are exactly the same as the local pubs in Kiltimagh, so I am sorry that you find that unreasonable.

Kind Regards

Claire Mc Dermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and our 2 children stayed overnight with other family members for a little family reunion. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles and friendly faces from excellent staff members such as Marina and Regina. We had a prompt early check in as it happened. Excellent atmosphere in the bar/ bistrot. Our evening meal was delicious and very well priced. The child friendly environment allowed us to relax all evening. I took advantage of the quiet but well equipped gym the following morning followed by a treatment in the spa. Regina tailored a package to suit me; back massage, mini facial and shellac nails. She was really friendly and extremely professional. I was shocked at the excellent value. The spa offer monthly specials; none of which I have been offered in my usual haunts in north Dublin. Big plus for this hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Margaret

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed you stay with us. I am always pleased to hear our team looked after you all.

The Spa is a wonderful facility here in the hotel and I am delighted that you were able to avail of some treatments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Claire Mc Dermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Been here a few times now and it's been great everytime. super nice staff too

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Aisling

Thanks a million for taking the time to write your review. It is really appreciated. Hope you see you again

Kind Regards

Claire Mc Dermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived in Knock we saw a big sign advertising this hotel and as we had already booked a hotel in Knock we were disappointed as we didn't know beforehand!! However, we decided to go for a drive our there the next day.... When u enter Kiltimagh from Knock you have no signposts?? You turn right and will come across a sign post eventually... When enter car park apart from water feature in front there isn't any other excitement... It isn't near anything or any place... The toilets was our 1st stop and they were a disgrace... The smell of urine was unacceptable in a hotel like this... We went to the bar where tea pot was filthy... We saw enough and will boy be returning to stay...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Tipperary Girl

Thank you for your review with us here at the hotel. I was disappointed reading your review of our hotel. Unfortuantly we do have a lack of signage to our hotel as it is difficult to get permission from the County council so we have to pay to put up signs up in local fields instead.

Our hotel is situated in its own private grounds with parking and gardens it is a 5 minute walk from the town of Kiltimagh. 10km from Knock Marian Shrine and 15Km from Ireland West Airport !

I am very suprised that you found our bathrooms in a state, The hotel is only 6 years old and the bathrooms are usually spotless. The are checked every hour to maintain a very high level of cleanliness and the decoration is to a very high standard.

It is a shame that by coming into our hotel, using our facilities and buying a cup of tea that you have decided never to return. We have a good reputation for food and service. We always get lovely compliments on our staff.

Kind Regards

Claire Mc Dermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I had bought a 2 night saver deal months ago and after looking up reviews recently was a bit nervous about what to expect as some of them weren't very flattering. Worried when arrived as think outside could do with a bit of prettifying. But from the moment we went through the door, everything was wonderful. Lovely hotel, public areas look newly decorated to me. Big, airy, comfortable room. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. But the best part was the food. It was delicious. Kiltimagh itself is nothing to write home about but we travelled around a lot which is normal for us when we go anywhere. After eating in the bar Friday night, and having a really tasty breakfast Saturday morning, we headed off but decided to come back to the hotel for lunch as it was so nice. Headed off out in the evening to watch the rugby and came back to the bar for dinner. My other halfs steak was perfect and my chicken maryland was one of the best plates of food I have ever eaten!!! Lovely hotel, no complaints whatsoever and will definitely be back. And think the voucher deal is very clever marketing. Rooms are filled with the reasonable rate and I know in our case and probably many others, there was a lot of money spent on food and drink which mightn't have been spent if we'd had to fork out for dear accommodation. Well done Park Hotel, you delivered well! Petrena x

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire M, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Petrena

Thank you so much for your review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Claire Mc Dermott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Swinford Road | Kiltimagh, Kiltimagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Kiltimagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kiltimagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Kiltimagh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.