We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great links golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doonbeg Golf Club

Doonbeg Golf Club
Doonbeg, Ireland
011 353 65 9055600
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Doonbeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great links golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Course is beautiful. Tralee has better views, but holes at Doonbeg are lovely. Caddies were great, as was starter. Rental clubs were excellent.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A working visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Doonbeg golf lodges are absolutely beautiful. The food in the golf club house is great. I would love to enjoy a stay in the lodges as they are so nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful round and so beautiful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good course, great golf staff, unbelievable views. A caddie is very helpful, but can be walked easily.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Doonbeg Golf... dont miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My son and I played right off the plane, We had a great time! Were able to shower first, have a quick bite. I have never had an egg and bacon sandwich taste so fresh. Living in NYC, you do not get to experience real fresh eggs. They do taste better. The course was great, only lost 1 ball.
Should not miss this one when you go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Can you find the fairway?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Eeny meany miny mo … can't find the fairway but here I go! Doonbeg starts off lovely then turns completely awful. You better find the fairway … wherever it is off the T because you've only trouble in store on your next few shots. I'll admit my playing partners hired a Caddy, Patrick was his name, and they had a better time of it. He knew the putting lines, the site lines, the club to use (ie the REAL distances) et al So besides paying an arm and a leg to play the course … you need to mortgage your home to pay a Caddy AND a Cart … did I say you might need a lung transplant if you're not fit?

Have you got the idea? Well … there it is … Doonbeg … too much!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doonbeg Golf Club also viewed

Lahinch, County Clare
Ballybunion, County Kerry
 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
Kilkee, County Clare
 

Been to Doonbeg Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doonbeg Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.