We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with spectacular view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portaria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Portaria Hotel to your Saves list
Portaria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Portaria Pelion, Portaria 37011, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Portaria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place with spectacular view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed in Portaria Hotel & Spa btw 27/6 & 1/7/12 in the context of a 4-day training seminar. The training organization was charged so I cannot express an opinion regarding price vs value. The 2-bed room was spacious but needed renovation. It was obviously none of the rooms depicted in photos. Equipment for serving such an event was inadequate, as we had to constantly tranport chairs from one place to another.

Beyond the aforementioned, the service was perfect, reception was quick, hotel personnel was very friendlyt, polite and willing to help in any way. The view of volos and the pagasitikos gulf is spectacular, the pool is very good, the breakfast & meals also of good quality. Portaria center is 5' walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for completing a review of your stay in June 2012 attending a seminar in our conferece center combined with your stay in one of our standard rooms. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed the view to Pagasitikos Gulf and our service from us. You appear to have enjoyed also the quality of meals that been served during the seminars. Regarding the issue with the equipment in seminars rooms we did everything that been asked from the organizer.

I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Portaria Hotel & Spa again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
34
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent a night and the Portaria last week. The hotel facilities were nice, but our room seemed to be a just a little "frayed around the edges". On the other hand, service in the restaurant was very good. If I could give the whole experience three and a half stars, that would be appropriate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your review. The staff and I are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our service in our restaurant. Regarding the room furniture and decor some rooms have classic furniture some others more modern so we can give our guest an option. We like to ensure that all our visitors / guests feel at home in a comfortable environment and allow people to enjoy all that the hotel can offer.
Also i would like to ensure that we will try to do our best in order to improve anything that you mention with our team.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon and thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We found the Hotel via the web ,we book for 3 nights , am working 23 years in santorini we own the mathios village and the akrotiri travel we search for new Hotels for us and for our guest . from the first moment we love this hotel , from outside is like a castel with magic views to the sea . kostantina great staff so sweet lady help us , with Irini another fine girl that works in the Hotel , first surpise the room , we had a suitte 2 bedroom with best views separate bedroom for my children , fireplace nice decorate all with perfect status ! Great pool - spa area i visit from the first day , We had also dinner booked with them and good for us perfect choice , the reserved us a great table from of the fire place with a really greek menou and good wine
Breakfast very fine with beata every morning with smile to help all the guest , variety of all and fresh every day , cleaning and gardens all well organaise from all the staff
we will be back , reccomend for pelion stay in portaria book with dinner and stay 3-4 if you have time week , rent a car see chania , zagora , agios ioannis , makrinitsa , tsagarada , see volos try the fish restaurants ( tzipouradika ) noon time they are uniqe all over greece
thats greece sun - smile - history - greek wine and greek kithen
THANK YOU
kostas papalexis
agent and hotelier

Room Tip: superior and the suites are best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administration d, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your short and brief review of your recent stay with us. We have working hard and try always to meet every ones satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have spent New Year's (2012) holidays in a Superior Suite in Portaria Hotel. The room was too big but with smart use of space, nice fireplace, therefore comfortable even for 4 persons. There was a nice village view. Breakfast was very good, served in hotel’s main restaurant of the resort. In specific days more variety would be welcomed. We have tried once the restaurant of the hotel for dinner and despite some delay in serving the orders (for which we received apologies) everything was tasteful. There is a SPA at the basement which offer plenty of therapies and there is a nice heated pool for hydrotherapy. I will be loved to be there at summer period also.
The hotel has easy access by car and parking space and is only 5 minutes walking distance form village center.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portaria1, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. The staff and I are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular enjoyed the Spa-Health Club. We like to ensure that all our visitors / guests feel at home in a comfortable environment and allow people to enjoy all that the hotel can offer.
Also i would like to ensure that we will try to do our best in order to improve anything that you mention with our team.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon and thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel is Located at the Portaria village in the Pelion mountain, sitting at wonderful scenery. We stayed there while traveling in Greece this year. We enjoyed the large and beautiful Deluxe Suite with excellent view to Volos, generous facilities, and the friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast served in a nice restaurant with fireplace and nice view. We enjoyed homemade dinner at 1990 Restaurant. Hope to visit again.
I would recommend this hotel to everybody for summer or winter holidays!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portaria1, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Chelsea W

Thank you for completing a review of your stay in October 2011. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You appear to have enjoyed your stay in our Deluxe Suite and took advantage of the hotel's restaurant "1990" for dining

I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Portaria Hotel & Spa again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESKATI GREVENON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Portaria is very famous destination for holidays every season. I stayed at this hotel with my husband due to our anniversary. We choose the Superior Suite. The suite was very comfortable with master bedroom and lounge area with fireplace. Every morning we have breakfast in our room. We did excursions to Makrinitsa and Milies. Pelion has many choices and beautiful nature. The hit of this hotel is the Spa with the heated swimming pool (you have to pay extra) and the plenty of body and face therapies. We did Thai massage and Reflexology. The hotel also has a nice loddy cafe area with perfect view to the sea.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portaria1, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear GEORGIA K

Thank you for completing a review of your stay in November 2011. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You appear to have enjoyed your stay in our Superior Suite and took advantage of the hotel's Spa-Health Club and enjoy an excursion to Pelion.

I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Portaria Hotel & Spa again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Portaria hotel is located in the most famous place in Greece...Pelion Mountain!
The rooms are beautiful in a mixture of traditional and modern architecture with amazing view!
The restaurant has delicious greek traditional food and the staff is very friendly!The Spa is new with all the facilities that you would ask for and just amazing!
The location is perfect...very easy access to all famous beaches and villages at Pelion and very close to Volos town for good nightlife!!!:)
I would highly recommend Portaria Hotel and Spa for summer and winter holidays!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portaria1, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Sharon W,

Thank you for completing a review of your stay in September 2011. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You appear to have enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the hotels great location and appears that you enjoyed the Spa-Health club and our restaurant.

I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Portaria Hotel & Spa again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Portaria Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaria Hotel

Address: Portaria Pelion, Portaria 37011, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portaria Hotel has been built to combine respect for the traditional architecture of Mt. Pelion with all modern comforts. It is located 12 km from Volos, 12 km from the Ski centre of Mt. Pelion and only 40 minutes away from the deep blue beaches of East Pelion: Agios Ioannis, Plaka and Papa Nero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Portaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portaria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.