We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUITFUL HOTEL, FOOD and LOVELY STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterranean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala Rakhniou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mediterranean
Save
You added Hotel Mediterranean to your Saves list
Skala Rakhniou 64004, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skala Rakhniou
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEAUITFUL HOTEL, FOOD and LOVELY STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

me and my fiance stayed here for a week in august and i must say one of the best hotels i've been too in the greek islands. Firstly the staff are amazing such friendly, helpful, funny, lovely people, made a good part of staying there, they really did.Espescially the bartenders hilarlious guys we had such a laugh with. The food, well let me just say that the dinners are proper authentic greek cusine and soooo tasty. Breakfast was so good too all you could want and all fresh. Me and my fiance didnt want to leave the hotel all week because the food was that great. Our room was lovely, very clean and spacious, with nice views from the balcony too. The swimmimg pool area very clean and beach nice too. Drinks very cheap and them bartenders make some great cocktails. Overall a great holiday and will for sure, be going back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for a week in August 2011. The hotel is a bit of an undiscovered gem and I was so pleased by how uncrowded it was at the height of the season. The property is backed by a range of mountains still blessed by verdant pine forest, unscorched by the recent spate of forest fires in Greece. There are also four tall, graceful pine trees on the hotel beach itself, which actually fronts the Aegean, not the Med! I think it should be re-named the Aegean Pines as the name Hotel Mediterranean is far too generic, unless it's part of a franchise and can't change.

One of the reasons we chose Skala Rakhoni is because the sea here in August is very warm for an island this far north - about 27c when we were there, (although the ocean's cooler round the east and north of the island, as we discovered on a round-the-island trip).It was hot, but never unbearably so, and the Meltemi that stirs up the more southerly islands doesn't bother Thassos. The Mediterranean's beach is sandy and the ocean calm with plenty of room for swimming and great opportunities for long walks into the forest and along the beach to Skala Prinou. The hotel puts on a decent breakfast with English and Continental options and have a 'bespoke' service at dinner - ask and you shall receive, within reason. The owners speak fluent English and can cope with fussy dietary requests!
We opted for a one bedroom apartment - the upgrade is minimal, even though there were only two of us - and were lucky enough to be allocated the front apartment above the pool, which appears in the brochures. It has two balconies and a clear view over the sea towards the mainland and over the pine trees on the beach. Wonderful to sit and watch the world go by. Highly recommended for August - a very short flight time too.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a one bedroom apartment for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We didn't actually stay in this hotel, we were in the Zafira Apartments just down the road/beach. I have reviewed the resort there so won't repeat myself, but we visited the hotel bar on the beach at this hotel many times during our holiday. It was lovely to sit on the decking and listen to the sea whilst we enjoyed a drink from the bar. Prices were very reasonable for a glass of wine and a soft drink (about 3 euros), and the people working behind the bar were friendly and helpful. Like a previous reviewer I hope the stray dog that hung around on the beach gets fed during the winter, he was a very sweet old dog and would fetch sticks and stuff, and would lay at your feet for ages if you stroked him. If we ever go back to this resort I will certainly revisit our "local". There was also a bookcase full of paperbacks in reception that you could borrow and rather cheekily I did borrow a Paul Theroux book for a couple of days even though we weren't staying there, and returned it when I finished.
The hotel looked nice enough and the beach is lovely.
I hope you find this review helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 via mobile

Try real holidays greece for any days out thanks to Sonny and Jordan they make your holiday

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Dont be put off by some reviews posted about this hotel, as it was by far one of the best hotels we have beeen too. I had worried about the transfer, but there was no need, very well organised and a pleasurable 30 min ferry ride in the sunshine with a cold beer!! what a great start to your holiday.
When arriving at the hotel and looking through to the pool, bar, beach and sea I knew we had made the right chioce for our 2 week summer holiday. The reception was warm and friendly, Karen, Jordan and Sonny were always on hand with any requests and nothing was to much trouble.
The rooms were clean and there are facilites if you need to cook something for yourself, also that all important fridge to keep your wine chilled!!!
The restaurant is a new addition and we couldnt fault the food. Full english breakfast every day and a choice of 3 main courses for you evening meal, with starters and lovely salad.
The pool area was well kept and the pool was lovely.. After walking along the long stretch of beach we felt the area outside the hotel was the cleanest,
Our thomson rep Claire was delightful, again nothing was to much trouble, she even orgainied a birthday cake for one of the guests.
I would definately visit this hotel again and have already recommended this hotel to family and friends,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

we read every review on trip advisor some less appealing than others but we found this hotel to be everything we wanted . our thanks go to Sonny and Jordan for their service over the 2 weeks we stopped .we couldn't want for anything food was good the rooms were great no problems at all we would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in an hotel that cared for its guests .One problem though maybe wifi would be a good idea . We hope the dog will be well fed over the winter

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were really looking forward to this well earned break.Hotel very good , clean and food excellent(half board-recommended).Dont be put off by the ferry trip to Thassos from mainland, it is easy well managed and enjoyable!.Lovely room on second floor, sea view.We were in room 202.We hired a 125 cc bike from Mike's in Scala Prinos and it was great to get around the Island.Also took a boat trip on Eros 2 from Thassos town old harbour 1000hrs to 1830 hrs and it went round the whole Island only 30 euros versus 49(thomsons).

Then our holiday went downhill,we woke up at 0030hrs on morning with a dog barking continually for 1 hour.Then at 0130 hrs it got windy and there was this dreadful noise coming from above-it sounded like a washing machine on the 3rd floor had concrete golf balls in it on a spin!
This went on for 5 hrs and we could not sleep.I rang the emergency number in the hotel book and a greek guy answered at 0200 hrs to say it was probably the umbrella stand rocking on the 3rd floor! He refused to come out because he said he didnt want to wake up his guests on the 3rd floor to remove the brolly.I said what about our sleep and he wasnt interested!This was the worst sleep we had ever had in Greece(in fact anywhere) in 25 years hols-we have visted at least 23 Greek Islands/mainland on our travels, so we are used to a few querky things on hol.
I rang the uk thomsons help line at approx 0230hrs(they give you a card to say dont hesitate to ring for anything-and dont leave it untill you return to the uk).The call centre staff said it was not an emergency,and would have to wait for the next day.I said call out your local rep and they refused as they dont wake reps for non emergencies.I challenged the "manager" Karen at breakfast, she said she was not the manager,"we dont have one here"we work as a team.I said what are you going to do,her first response was, it wasnt forecast to be windy last night,so we didnt remove the brolleys.I said i am not interested in the forecast ,the brolleys should be removed every night.Clare the local rep came to see us to apologise that night(nice girl) but also useless as the best they could do was to remove the brollies tonight.I said are they going to remove the brollies every night-yes.Guess what......the brollies were not removed,but we sleep because of no wind that night.Thomsons and the owner need to get their act together and fix this properly-ongong for 6 yrs!
But it happened again a few days later and no sleep again.
Thomsons and the owner need to get their act together and fix this properly-ongong for 6 yrs!

Also passports and keys left in reception in sight 23.5 hrs per day,reception manned 30 mis per day.The rep has advised Karen to sort this but she refused to do so.

I would recommend a visit to Thassos but would never ever advise stopping at this hotel if you want a decent nights slepp.Also load music at pool bar from approx 1000 am to 1100pm.thats 13 hrs every day-can be heard on your balcony whilst trying to read!

Room Tip: Do not choose any room on the first floor if you wish to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Address: Skala Rakhniou 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Skala Rakhniou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Skala Rakhniou
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterranean Greece/Thasos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterranean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.