We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good news and bad news” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Princessa Riviera Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Princessa Riviera Resort to your Saves list
Princessa Riviera Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good news and bad news”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First the good bits – modern, clean, good pool, great views, 150m from Glicorisa Beach (5 Euros a person) and (mostly) friendly and helpful staff. (The notable staff exception being “You want another pillow? But it’s nearly eleven at night!” “Yes I need the pillow to sleep – and I normally sleep at night.”)

Less good – really terrible, flavourless and textureless food – international bland mush. (Avoid hamburgers and cheese and ham toasties in particular.) Totally lacking atmosphere - absolutely soulless – no one seems to linger during the day or evening. Very tiny shower in small wet room. And two miles from town – where you will probably finish up eating and spending the evening. (But good taxi service.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Management was extremely helpful and friendly. Went above and beyond expectations.

Beds were quite hard to sleep on and the tiny showers lacked hot water a couple nights.

Food at the pool was good with friendly service. They even accommodated an early breakfast for our group.

Beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was our first time at Samos. We found Princessa Riviera Resort on the internet. Pythagorion is the best holiday location in Samos. The hotel is a family business.

Pros:
It is a 3 minute drive from the center of Pythagorion. It is a very nice hotel with perfect view and perfect position, 2 minute walk distance from Glycoriza beach and beach bar, which has been proven the best beach we could find on the island BY FAR. It is also a very clean hotel and the owners and staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Cons:
It would be nicer if the pool was not 2.5 – 2.8 meters deep all over the pool area as some people are not such good swimmers. It would also be nicer if they did not add a €2 / day charge on the beach towels or they could at least mention it during check-in. Breakfast could be a bit richer for a 4* hotel. I am sure that the cons are not so imporant for most people so someone could just ignore them.

Overall:
This is a HIGLY RECOMMENDED hotel. It will be our first choice next time we will be in Samos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently took advantage of the new Sigacik to Samos catamaran service for a short break to this beautiful island. It is available through Turkish Groupon at special promotional prices at the moment.We chose the Princessa Riviera resort because of the previous good reviews, its quiet location but convenience for Pythagorion and the good vaue of the room price. It would be possible to stay here without a car and use taxis or the bus service but to really see the island and get the most out of Samos I would recommend hiring a car. We had arranged one in advance from Pegasus car hire which is located immediately in front of the port and received excellent service from Stelios and Kostas but the hotel can also arrange car hire from a local supplier. The Princessa Riviera is in a beautiful location on the hillside overlooking the sea across to Turkey and above a very nice beach club. It has a lovely swimming pool and pool bar which are great to sit at in the daytime or to listen to the lowkey music at night. This is the place to come if you enjoy total peace and quiet to sleep but enjoy the convenience of being near to a lovely tourist town with excellent restaurants,bars and shops. It has recently been renovated to a very high standard and has been in the same family for 22 years. It is obvious that they take a great deal of pride in the family business and seemed to be present at all hours of the day. I found all members of the family and staff extremely helpful and willing to help out with all our weird and wonderful requests and questions.When we stupidly left behind a book and some pictures of the island the owner tracked them down and has promised to post them to us . There is a wide selection for breakfast and a good menu from the pool restaurant. The hotel has seen a lot of recent investment and has been tastefully renovated and modernised. It is the cleanest hotel that I have ever stayed at and the entire place is spotless. It is obvious that the owner and his family set extremely high standards for themselves and their staff and their presence was everywhere at all hours of the day. The owner was to be seen watering the lovely gardens as the sun came up ,supervising the preparation of breakfast,manning reception at all hours of the day and even providing a cuddle and a plaster to his grandson when he took a tumble! I don't know when this guy sleeps! Pythagorion is also where you can take the Flying Dolphin for a day trip across to Patmos. It takes 1 hour and is a lovely trip although I wouldn't recommend it if the sea was rough. We intend going back to Samos and will return to The Princess Riviera to see even more of this beautiful island. Three days just wasn't long enough and we had just started to work our way through the excellent restaurants of Pythagorion which served some of the best food I have had in Greece so far. I would recommend contacting the hotel direct for the best deal and the owner and his family who work there on reception all speak excellent English. Next time I will treat myself to one of the rooms with jacuzzi although the standard rooms were very pleasant with tv,aircon,tv etc. An excellent, well managed hotel in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic sea views and free parking .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were very happy to stay for 7 days at the Princessa Riviera resort.
We really enjoyed the warm attitude to help and assist in everything from hotel receptionists.
The room's balcony is small but overlooks fantastic views.
Hotel location is excellent and easy to reach from anywhere on the island.

Room Tip: We asked for and received premium-sized room and it was good that the standard rooms are very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were absolutely delighted with this family run resort. Just a few minutes cab ride from the centre of town the Princessa has a high south outlook over the Agean sea giving commanding 180 degree views of the surrounding islands and the nearby Turkey coast. The view and serenity make it a place you don't want to leave. Yet you are close enough to Pythagorion for a 5 euro ride to enjoy some of the amazing restuarants in this stunning harbour town.

Room Tip: Check for access and views, and also the rooms with the double jaccuzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princessa Riviera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princessa Riviera Resort

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Princessa Riviera Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Princessa Riviera Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princessa Riviera Resort Hotel Pythagorion
Princessa Riviera Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princessa Riviera Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.