We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Naftilos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Naftilos to your Saves list
Hotel Naftilos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We stayed here as a group of 5 friends. We had heard good reports of the hotel and they were right. The staff were all so pleasant , friendly and helpful, especially Athena in the restaurant, Bruno at the pool and the lady chef. The hotel is in a good position for getting around the island by bus or hire car. We did both. The bus ride down to Pythagorion was just 1 euro each way , a taxi was 5 euros coming back and 7 euros with a call out charge going down. The hotel arranged our hire car which was prompt and efficient. They also recommended places to go and see, Millitino , a hill village being one of them, very unspoiled and lovely to wander round with a beautiful square in the middle with tavernas around. The museum at Samos town was excellent with English explanations . The museum of Paleontology at Millitini was also good but needed some English explanations to make our visit even better. The sandy beach nearby, Psilli Annos, is lovely and easy to drive to though there is a daily boat from Pythagorion which you can take, and the return trip is at 16.30. The temple of Hera is well worth going to .
The pool at the hotel was a great place to unwind at the end of a day out and the meals were excellent value. We would comme back again, if only to see all the staff!!

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful sea views. There is no lift so if you have mobility problems you should ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Very nice, clean and quiet hotel. The pool area is very pleasant and the best thing is that there are no yelling children around. Perfect choise for a couple without kids! The only minus was the service at the pool bar: the guy there was very lazy and there was no wine available in several days. However, when we managed to get the service, the food was good for lunch. We would have expected some more sophisticated menu for the dinner but the same snack list was used also in the dining room. So, we decided to eat outside every evening. The hotel is located a couple of kilometers uphill from the city of Pythagorion. It takes 30 minutes to walk to the city via the Marina but the taxi is only 5 €. The hotel has a free Wi-Fi which worked only occasinally, most probably due to the heavy traffinc in the mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Read up on the hotel before we decided to book. Some of the reviews were not very positive which made us a bit unsure of whether to book or not. Happy we decided to!

The staff was great. Helpful and easy to deal with. The rooms were a lot better than we hoped for. A pleasant surprise!

To me the breakfast was excellent, I expected something a lot more frugal. Especially after reading the reviews on here. The lunch we had was also satisfactory.

The location is a bit off but a taxi ride or two per day won't set you back much. 5€ / trip from the city centre to the hotel. That being said, walking is not bad, not at all. The view is very nice and walking down the streets in Pythagorion is something you want to do!

WiFi worked well in the reception. Not that well in the room (it did work though). Perhaps it was a sign time should be spent outside and not inside when in this beatiful place..

Great price/value ratio, a warm recommendation from [cold] Sweden!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfleet
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were greatly impressed with this hotel, lovely views over the sea and overall very quiet. The staff were very friendly and efficient, far removed from the usual, somewhat grumpy attitudes sometimes found in Greece. For a small hotel the breakfast was varied and extensive.
The pool and sunbeds were very clean and comfortable. There is a quick cut down to the nearest beach but the track gets smaller and rougher as you get closer to the beach, my wife could not manage the walk. In the evenings it did not take much to walk down to Pythagorion where every meal was consistently good quality, easy to then get a taxi back up the hotel.
Would gladly return to the Naftilos.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

In the town of Pythagorion there are many places to stay but it's hard to find a regular hotel and one that has a balcony with sea view. We were desperate to improve our room quality in this town so decided to hike up to the Hotel Naftilos based on the reviews I had read. You can hike there via the marina and it takes about a half hour at a leisurely pace. At first the young lady was unable to find availability but she ended up finding us a room for the next 3 nights---it was big (bathroom big, too) and gorgeous. The large balcony looked out over the pretty grounds, pool, and blue Aegean. We spent many hours there and also enjoyed the good buffet breakfast that could be eaten outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at the Hotel Naftilos 5/6/14 to 12/6/14 booked through Thomson. This was our eight visit to the island - all spent in other hotels in the same area - so we were aware of the 2.3km distance from the harbour - a leisurely 25-30 min stroll downhill on the main road or a €7 taxi ride in (includes call out charge) and €5 back up to the Hotel from the Harbour front (it is uphill and when dark I would not recommend walking back). The elevated position (about 500ft above sea level affords wonderful views across the sea to Turkey). In the past Hotels used to offer a limited free or €1 per person minibus service to and from the harbour - this now seems to have ceased across all hotels. You can also catch the Island Bus service outside the Hotel - just ask reception for a timetable.

So what should you expect from tho Hotel Naftilos (a 35 room adult only hotel) bed and breakfast included. - We were the only English couple there and we did not mind this a bit. - every one is there for peace and relaxation.

It consists of 3 buildings (2 three storey accommodation buildings and a further building housing the reception and bar on the upper level and the restaurant on the lower level). Sea views are amazing whether you a looking from you balcony (and we were in Room 102 on the lowest level) or when you are having a drink or meal in the bar or restaurant.

Rooms - of good size - beds were firm but comfortable with a flat screen tv on the wall adequate lighting and sockets and storage areas. The bathroom consisted of a glass shower cubicle toilet and basin with toiletries provided. A decent fridge was also provided as well as two hair dryers one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. The room safe was also included without additional charge. And finally the view was amazing.

Staff - all excellent from the reception staff , the restaurant staff, the odd job man who was continually working to improve the hotel ( installing curtain rails and billowing curtains in the Bar area) to Bruno the Poolside Bar Man and the cleaners who kept the rooms and public areas spotless. They always willing to help and always with a smile.

Reception / bar Area - Entrance is just off the main road and traffic noise was never a problem. at night candle lit the reception and bar area deserves the Boutique tag. Also free WiFi in public areas

Restaurant - Breakfast - for a small Hotel I found this excellent - buffet style with orange and grapefruit juices a small selection of cereals, greek yoghurt and cold meats and cheese.Additionally there was always a hot choice of frankfurter sausages bacon boiled eggs and a changing selection of cooked eggs scrambled,fried, omelettes and to finish off a selection of cakes biscuits and pastries, toast and jams to have with coffee or tea. Lunch and Dinner - again good quality - some dishes they recommend you pre book your choice.
(We tended to eat around the Harbour as we always do).

Pool and Pool bar built down from the reception area / rooms in an amphitheatre with well tended gardens and a kidney shaped pool and a small jacuzzi pool. Pool Bar has happy hour with 1/2 price drinks from 18:00 to 19:00. You can also get pool/ beach towels.

Area - within 500m there are several other hotels apartments none have a mini market so recommend you pick up from supermarkets on the waterfront before getting a a taxi back. Beaches. Within 500m the Proteas Blu and Glicorisa (our preference) have sand /stoney beaches with sunbeds and parasols both have tavernas and a bar ordering service from a button on the parasol. In previous visits you were charged approximately €7 for 2x sunbeds and a parasol but they are now are free - just order a drink or food! P.S. There is a sign by the Hotel 'to the Beach' This a a shortcut to the Proteas Blu Beach and whilst parts are gentle and wide other parts are steeper and narrow with rocks, and stones underfoot and some spiky undergrowth close to potentially bare legs. We enjoyed the walk down but please be mindful of the potential hazards and wear robust footwear.

This review is written as factually as possible - of course we all have different views of what a holiday/hotel should provide. All I can say is we had no reason to complain and everything met or exceeded OUR expectations.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I really loved that all of the 35 rooms of this nice hotel enjoy a great seaview, also the terrace where breakfast or dinner is served enjoys the same view.
Another remarkable "plus" of Naftilos is the staff, all have been extremely friendly and helpfull, from helping us to rent a car (they arranged everything) to the restaurant advices.
We stayed in room 304, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, we appreciated the glass walled shower and the fridge, even though this was quite noisy and badly affected the overall sleep quality of the room.
Breakfast is served on a graceful terrace overlooking a bay not far from Pythagorion, the quality and quantity of food is very good (beware the voracious sparrows flying around, they are fast :-) ).
The pool is also very nice, with brand new sunbeds and umbrellas, the pool bar serves snacks or salads besides drinks.
Since the hotel is located a couple of miles from Pythagorion, you may use the hotel shuttle bus, 1 euro per person per fare (it leaves only twice a day), but I would strongly suggest to rent a car (or bike) and explore Samos.
The pool bar also provides beach towels and portable sun umbrella in case you want to visit the most secluded beaches of the island.
It's a wonderfull hotel, absolutely recommended, the only remark we have is about the noisy fridge.

Room Tip: seaview from all of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Naftilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Naftilos

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Naftilos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the idyllic landscape of Pythagorean in Samos,Naftilos hotel is reflecting style, taste of the Aegean. With the philosophy of European standards, the facilities and service that are offered by our personnel correspond to all needs of our guests.Sunny rooms, airy, each one directed with view to the sea, beautiful verandas, hospitable spaces of recreation, gardens with the architecture and flowers of island, pal colors, sunlit swimming-pool, all given with the positive energy, grin and the warmth that distinguishes the people.Hotel Rooms: 35. Room Facilities: TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Balcony, Bathroom Amenities, Toilet, Bathroom, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Refrigerator Breakfast: Full English breakfast is included in the room rate. Hotel Facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Non-Smoking Rooms, Luggage Storrage, Air Condition, Outdoor Swimmingpool, Wireless internet is available in public area and free of charge,free parking is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Naftilos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naftilos Hotel Pythagorion
Hotel Naftilos Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Naftilos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.