We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Naftilos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Naftilos to your Saves list
Hotel Naftilos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pythagorion 83103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

In the town of Pythagorion there are many places to stay but it's hard to find a regular hotel and one that has a balcony with sea view. We were desperate to improve our room quality in this town so decided to hike up to the Hotel Naftilos based on the reviews I had read. You can hike there via the marina and it takes about a half hour at a leisurely pace. At first the young lady was unable to find availability but she ended up finding us a room for the next 3 nights---it was big (bathroom big, too) and gorgeous. The large balcony looked out over the pretty grounds, pool, and blue Aegean. We spent many hours there and also enjoyed the good buffet breakfast that could be eaten outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at the Hotel Naftilos 5/6/14 to 12/6/14 booked through Thomson. This was our eight visit to the island - all spent in other hotels in the same area - so we were aware of the 2.3km distance from the harbour - a leisurely 25-30 min stroll downhill on the main road or a €7 taxi ride in (includes call out charge) and €5 back up to the Hotel from the Harbour front (it is uphill and when dark I would not recommend walking back). The elevated position (about 500ft above sea level affords wonderful views across the sea to Turkey). In the past Hotels used to offer a limited free or €1 per person minibus service to and from the harbour - this now seems to have ceased across all hotels. You can also catch the Island Bus service outside the Hotel - just ask reception for a timetable.

So what should you expect from tho Hotel Naftilos (a 35 room adult only hotel) bed and breakfast included. - We were the only English couple there and we did not mind this a bit. - every one is there for peace and relaxation.

It consists of 3 buildings (2 three storey accommodation buildings and a further building housing the reception and bar on the upper level and the restaurant on the lower level). Sea views are amazing whether you a looking from you balcony (and we were in Room 102 on the lowest level) or when you are having a drink or meal in the bar or restaurant.

Rooms - of good size - beds were firm but comfortable with a flat screen tv on the wall adequate lighting and sockets and storage areas. The bathroom consisted of a glass shower cubicle toilet and basin with toiletries provided. A decent fridge was also provided as well as two hair dryers one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. The room safe was also included without additional charge. And finally the view was amazing.

Staff - all excellent from the reception staff , the restaurant staff, the odd job man who was continually working to improve the hotel ( installing curtain rails and billowing curtains in the Bar area) to Bruno the Poolside Bar Man and the cleaners who kept the rooms and public areas spotless. They always willing to help and always with a smile.

Reception / bar Area - Entrance is just off the main road and traffic noise was never a problem. at night candle lit the reception and bar area deserves the Boutique tag. Also free WiFi in public areas

Restaurant - Breakfast - for a small Hotel I found this excellent - buffet style with orange and grapefruit juices a small selection of cereals, greek yoghurt and cold meats and cheese.Additionally there was always a hot choice of frankfurter sausages bacon boiled eggs and a changing selection of cooked eggs scrambled,fried, omelettes and to finish off a selection of cakes biscuits and pastries, toast and jams to have with coffee or tea. Lunch and Dinner - again good quality - some dishes they recommend you pre book your choice.
(We tended to eat around the Harbour as we always do).

Pool and Pool bar built down from the reception area / rooms in an amphitheatre with well tended gardens and a kidney shaped pool and a small jacuzzi pool. Pool Bar has happy hour with 1/2 price drinks from 18:00 to 19:00. You can also get pool/ beach towels.

Area - within 500m there are several other hotels apartments none have a mini market so recommend you pick up from supermarkets on the waterfront before getting a a taxi back. Beaches. Within 500m the Proteas Blu and Glicorisa (our preference) have sand /stoney beaches with sunbeds and parasols both have tavernas and a bar ordering service from a button on the parasol. In previous visits you were charged approximately €7 for 2x sunbeds and a parasol but they are now are free - just order a drink or food! P.S. There is a sign by the Hotel 'to the Beach' This a a shortcut to the Proteas Blu Beach and whilst parts are gentle and wide other parts are steeper and narrow with rocks, and stones underfoot and some spiky undergrowth close to potentially bare legs. We enjoyed the walk down but please be mindful of the potential hazards and wear robust footwear.

This review is written as factually as possible - of course we all have different views of what a holiday/hotel should provide. All I can say is we had no reason to complain and everything met or exceeded OUR expectations.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I really loved that all of the 35 rooms of this nice hotel enjoy a great seaview, also the terrace where breakfast or dinner is served enjoys the same view.
Another remarkable "plus" of Naftilos is the staff, all have been extremely friendly and helpfull, from helping us to rent a car (they arranged everything) to the restaurant advices.
We stayed in room 304, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, we appreciated the glass walled shower and the fridge, even though this was quite noisy and badly affected the overall sleep quality of the room.
Breakfast is served on a graceful terrace overlooking a bay not far from Pythagorion, the quality and quantity of food is very good (beware the voracious sparrows flying around, they are fast :-) ).
The pool is also very nice, with brand new sunbeds and umbrellas, the pool bar serves snacks or salads besides drinks.
Since the hotel is located a couple of miles from Pythagorion, you may use the hotel shuttle bus, 1 euro per person per fare (it leaves only twice a day), but I would strongly suggest to rent a car (or bike) and explore Samos.
The pool bar also provides beach towels and portable sun umbrella in case you want to visit the most secluded beaches of the island.
It's a wonderfull hotel, absolutely recommended, the only remark we have is about the noisy fridge.

Room Tip: seaview from all of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koog aan de Zaan, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed from June 7th until June 14th in hotel Naftilos. We booked the hotel ourselves and arrived on Samos via a domestic flight. The hotel staff arranged that we are picked up at the airport by the hotel shuttle. This was our 4th stay in hotel Naftilos and many things are changed. First of all the “old” owner Nikos retired and Georgos is now responsible for the Hotel. He’s very friendly and talks with the guests and is always busy to make your stay a success. The entrance is renewed as well as the reception. Breakfast area (in-and outside) renewed and very nice as well. The rooms have enough space and are very clean. New this year is that you can order food (lunch and dinner) in the hotel. If you order before 18.00h your dinner is served at the hotel (at the nice terrace) at your preferred time. You can make your choice from the menu with delicious (local) dishes and if a dish you like is not on the menu then just ask and the chef is most likely willing to prepare your dish (like I did with gigantes (giant beans). The hotel staff (reception, pool bar, breakfast etc) are very nice and friendly and they do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The pool is very nice and has excellent sunbeds and umbrella’s. The view from the pool and the hotel rooms (with all sea view) is great.

We always rent a scooter at Klikos, next to the hotel and tour the island, so you’re flexible where to go. The location of hotel Naftilos is ideal is you have a scooter and want to go to Vathy (Samos town) or Mykali or Psili Ammos with very nice beaches and good taverna’s like Mirto Studio’s on Mykali beach. Maria (the owner) has her own sunbeds and umbrella’s on the beach and is running a Taverna which is really perfect. Just jump of your sunbed and enjoy a great lunch.

A walk to Pythagorion from the hotel is easy via the Marina harbor so you don’t have to walk the main road but follow the country side.

Next time on Samos Island we stay again in hotel Naftilos which is our preferred location if we stay on Samos Island.

Thank you Georgos, Rania, Debby and Athena (and all other staff) for your efforts to make our stay a success.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a totally different experience than reviewer firbolg. It’s a fact that Hotel Naftilos is miles outside of the town, but you can read this on every website and see it yourself on Google Maps. It was absolutely no problem for us, since we hired a car for a full week at the car rental next to Hotel Naftilos. When going to Hotel Naftilos (and Samos in general) I would always advise to hire a car. It’s the best way to explore the island.

The hotel itself is great. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a great balcony in the sun, overlooking the pool. The pool is a good place to relax and to start or end your day, but one of the best places near Hotel Naftilos is the beach close to the hotel. You have to walk for about ten minutes to get to the beach, which is really close to a luxury resort. There are beach chairs that (we think) are free to use and there is a little restaurant. When we were staying at Hotel Naftilos there was always plenty of space at the beach, which made it a great place to go to. Pythagorion is about five minutes by car and has lots of good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Only stayed here one night but that was more than enough. Firstly, it's very misadvertised since it's miles outside of the town, halfway up a mountain (and in fact is as pretty much near to Vathy as to Pythagorion). Pretty poor all round and seemed more like a transit hotel than anywhere you'd want to stay for very long. Seems to be primarily aimed at the package tour crowd and it was full of coach-trip groups. The "accommodation blocks" are cold and functional. The area around the pool is just for people who want to bake themselves like slabs of meat. The public area and foyer feels a bit like an old-folks home. And they have a weird policy of locking you in/out when reception closes; the desk is NOT 24hr as advertised which can be a problem if you have an early/late arrival/departure. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel rooms were very large and spacious. All of the rooms had a great view of Glycoriza bay as well as the pool. The pool was also very nice and large enough. The reception was very helpfull and kind.

The only problem was.. the 'hotel owner'.... He was a grouchy man who spoke really bad to his employees. His face was always moody and he looked at all clients (us) as if he couldn't wait to get rid of them.

A very bad moment was when I heard him talk very bad to an employee and yield at her as if she was a slave (ps. they were passing client in front of him all this time)- VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!!

And the highlight of our vacations was when I heard him saying to an employee (he didn't know that I spoke Greek) that he couldn't understand what kind of bread the residents wanted for breakfast, and he complained that they had to throw away such an amount of bread. So he ask an employee if they had bread in the freezer (!!!!) and he told her to get it out to serve it to us the next morning!! Of course I never ate any more bread from them...
His stinginess was also very clear in the breakfast. The bread was awful... Coffee was awful... And he always yield when the bacon ended and they had to fill again the serving dishes............!!!!!
The general feeling was that if HE wasn't the owner of that hotel, and he let all employees to do their jobs without NOISE, this hotel would be ideal. But it isn't............

Room Tip: Avoid the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Naftilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Naftilos

Address: Pythagorion 83103, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Naftilos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the idyllic landscape of Pythagorean in Samos,Naftilos hotel is reflecting style, taste of the Aegean. With the philosophy of European standards, the facilities and service that are offered by our personnel correspond to all needs of our guests.Sunny rooms, airy, each one directed with view to the sea, beautiful verandas, hospitable spaces of recreation, gardens with the architecture and flowers of island, pal colors, sunlit swimming-pool, all given with the positive energy, grin and the warmth that distinguishes the people.Hotel Rooms: 35. Room Facilities: TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning, Balcony, Bathroom Amenities, Toilet, Bathroom, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Refrigerator Breakfast: Full English breakfast is included in the room rate. Hotel Facilities: Restaurant, Bar, Non-Smoking Rooms, Luggage Storrage, Air Condition, Outdoor Swimmingpool, Wireless internet is available in public area and free of charge,free parking is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Naftilos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naftilos Hotel Pythagorion
Hotel Naftilos Samos/Pythagorion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Naftilos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.